Get a sneak peek at whats next for Permanent Hazards on our April 7th Office Hours!
The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Odd issue with road

Post by twentw
I'm new to the Waze editor, so maybe someone can help. There's a section of Memorial Dr. in Houston roughly between Terrace and Malone where I am unable to plot any route eastbound. I see no obvious issues when I look at it in the editor. Can someone check this and let me know what needs to be done?
twentw

POSTER_ID:14425961

Send a message

Post by AlanOfTheBerg
ottonomy wrote:... do you know about the Shift-Z keyboard shortcut... It's a good quick way to spot some of the problems that get in the way of logical routing.
It's also a way for careless editors to go "fix" all the red arrows thinking that anything red needs fixing. Just because it is red doesn't mean it needs fixing. Shift+z does not show which segment the turn is restricted from, and that's really extremely important. You have to turn off Shift+z and select the segments connected to the junction a red arrow is pointing from to find out if the restriction is valid or if it needs to be allowed.
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
Send a message
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Ex-Global Champ Editor | iPhone13Pro - VZ

Post by AlanOfTheBerg
ottonomy wrote:I thought I had explained that in my post, except for the careless editor "fixing" things part, but I guess not clearly enough. Thanks for bolstering my point and adding the caveat.
You did. I like to get out my sledgehammer sometimes.
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
Send a message
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Ex-Global Champ Editor | iPhone13Pro - VZ

Post by ottonomy