Dealing with Railroad Tracks

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Feb 14, 2012 8:34 pm

Within cities, light rail goes right on the city streets themselves, so while I see a possible need to identify them and allow commuters to snap to them, there is zero chance that any GPS device or software made today that will be able to associate you with the correct segment. Only when (if!) Waze has a vehicle type selection would this become even remotely possible.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.1 | Waze v3.7.9.925
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19498
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 654 times
Been thanked: 2260 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:07 pm

Yes, it is mixed, but there's enough to concern me. This scene likely isn't uncommon in other cities:

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=portland, ... 52,,0,9.35
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.1 | Waze v3.7.9.925
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19498
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 654 times
Been thanked: 2260 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby bgodette » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:17 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Yes, it is mixed, but there's enough to concern me. This scene likely isn't uncommon in other cities:

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=portland, ... 52,,0,9.35

Not only common, but the light rail may (I'd say usually) go both directions on a street that's one-way cars, just like in your SV example.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby fvwazing » Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:54 pm

Yes, people will use the Wazeclient when on trains; and not only will they create lots of errors if there is no road to map them to, they can make whole new connections between cities with the bulldozer as well. But... even without bulldozer they will erroneously be mapped to the next dirtroad/street running close to the tracks.

In my area, it is not unusual to find little streets showing average speeds of around 130kmh - if they are close enough to the railroadtracks. That means that everybody routing with Waze close by will be directed over those streets close to the tracks, because Waze guesses that they can make a lot of speed there....

The first step to correct all that is to *document* railroads. Ignoring those tracks will make errors as described leap in your face at some point in time. And ofcourse it would be only VERY nice if the tracks would be shown on the map (++++++++++++++!)
Last edited by fvwazing on Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3585
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 405 times
Been thanked: 373 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby fvwazing » Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:04 pm

unwallflower wrote:I guess I don't see the point in documenting railroads when Waze themselves delete them.


Sigh... sometimes, editing is like trying to bring structure into a world inhabited by ignorants.
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3585
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 405 times
Been thanked: 373 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby gerben » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:31 pm

They were discussed a few weeks ago. Most people want to keep them for reference. To avoid them being used by the routing engine, they should be set to railroads in the edit menu. Intersections with normal roads should be removed.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby jakopriit » Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:28 pm

gerben wrote:Intersections with normal roads should be removed.


Now with this I respectfully disagree.
I have kept and created the intersections because then the traffic engine finds me waiting behind the intersection (which is true) and doesn't fire up a traffic alert which would be erroneous and misleading. The intersections however were created so that the connected sections are to the corresponding type only. two way railroad to railroad and the ones that can be used by cars to those used by cars.
jakopriit
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 9:38 pm
Location: Tallinn
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby jondrush » Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:56 am

How will we be warned of rail crossings when the client doesn't display them? I'm on iphone and I've never seen a railroad anywhere unless it was improperly labeled.

And when did Waze ever delete a railroad? It was on their wish list of things to do, but I have railroads that haven't existed for 20 yeas still showing in Cartouche. I must have deleted a thousand railroad segments today from an abandoned inter-modal facility that were interfering with my road creation. Railroads suck as currently presented in Waze.
Last edited by jondrush on Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Keeping the Waze maps tidy since 2009
Northeast Region Assistant Coordinator
jondrush User Page
ImageImage
jondrush
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2299
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 362 times

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby rlpl » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:22 am

The big reason why the railroads should be displayed is to warn about the possible railroad crossing. Also as another landmark.

EDIT: You might ask a similar question: why to create and display the rivers.
My previous login name was rl_pl.
rlpl
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:20 am
Location: Kraków, Poland
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dealing with Railroad Tracks

Postby sandjaja » Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:34 am

rl_pl wrote:The big reason why the railroads should be displayed is to warn about the possible railroad crossing. Also as another landmark.

EDIT: You might ask a similar question: why to create and display the rivers.

Also agree with this
Bring railroad on the map
iPad 3G user for tracking
Area Manager for Samarinda, Balikpapan, Surabaya and surrounding areas
sandjaja
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:43 am
Location: Samarinda, Indonesia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rdejs