Regarding Railroads

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Dave2084 » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:59 pm

Easy to add to any schema, jut paste in below the roads and above landmarks/places:

If you want the labels for Railroads and Runways to show then remove this line 'Railroads.LabelDeclutter: 1'.

Code: Select all
# Railroads ###########
Railroads.Class: Road
Railroads.Color: #666666
Railroads.Color1: #666666
Railroads.Color2: #666666
Railroads.Declutter: 1500
Railroads.Delta1: -3
Railroads.Delta2: -3
Railroads.Thickness: 1
Railroads.LabelDeclutter: 1


# Runways ###########
Runways.Class: Road
Runways.Color: #cccccc 
Runways.Color1: #cccccc
Runways.Color2: #cccccc
Runways.Declutter: 1500
Runways.Delta1: -3
Runways.Delta2: -3
Runways.Thickness: 2
Runways.LabelDeclutter: 1


I can prepare a full set of standard schema that only have railroads/runways added if that would be helpful with an iOS installation guide. If someone could do an android one that would be helpful too.

Enjoy.
iPhone 6S Plus (Jailed) • iOS 9.2.1 • Waze 4.2
Level 6 Editor • Lincolnshire Area Manager • UK Country Administrator • iOS Beta Tester
UK WikiUK ForumWaze UK on FacebookBecome a UK Area ManagerWaze Status
Dave2084
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 2385
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Lincoln, UK
Has thanked: 372 times
Been thanked: 365 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby sketch » Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:10 pm

Thanks! Would you mind making a mockup with default? I don't have a lot of computer time this week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5652
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1225 times
Been thanked: 1673 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:12 pm

Dave2084 wrote:Easy to add to any schema, jut paste in below the roads and above landmarks/places:
sketch wrote:Thanks! Would you mind making a mockup with default? I don't have a lot of computer time this week.

And if you do, could I suggest that it be posted into the Color Schemes thread and linked here in this thread? Just to keep schemes organized.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby sketch » Mon Jun 23, 2014 12:42 am

I did: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 01#p815801

I borrowed and modified Dave's code to my liking – of course anyone is free to do whatever they like.

On the default scheme, the railroads are largely the same as Dave's, except I like to have the labels on them; my runways are much thicker and I kept the yellow color just for fun (there aren't that many runways out there and they don't usually conflict with roads). I used the default scheme's code in Randy Mac (my custom theme) as well.

On the night scheme, the railroads are still largely the same, albeit with labels, and much darker to match with the scheme in general. I made them grey where most roads are blue, to allow easy differentiation between roads and railroads. Runways are thick like in the default mod but grey for nighttime.

I also added light toothpaste-green city polygons to the default scheme.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5652
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1225 times
Been thanked: 1673 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby cklj » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:43 pm

Hi,

I've got a question regarding railroads, or actually railroad junctions.

Where I live there is a road crossing the railroad, with trains crossing very often.
In peak time you often get to wait for up to 20 min before you can cross.

Many users complain that the route takes so much longer that it would be faster to take a detour.

Now, is there any smart way to, in the editor, do something that makes the client calculate a much longer drive time if it crosses this junction?
cklj
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:58 pm
Location: Lund
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Timbones » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:53 pm

If trains are crossing at the same times each day, then Waze will learn when it gets congested and will suggest an alternative route if it can find one that is quicker.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6405
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 2362 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby kentsmith9 » Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:49 pm

Timbones wrote:If trains are crossing at the same times each day, then Waze will learn when it gets congested and will suggest an alternative route if it can find one that is quicker.

It automagically happens. :mrgreen:
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1230 times
Been thanked: 1466 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby egadgetguy » Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:20 am

I have a railroad question and I don't know where to go. In my town there are many railroad crossing, but I am noticing the railroads are at -5 level and locked to 5. There needs to be some kind of warning that this is a crossing and not a bridge. This is a much more important safety issue than even red lights..
egadgetguy
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Auburn, AL
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:20 am

egadgetguy wrote:I have a railroad question and I don't know where to go. In my town there are many railroad crossing, but I am noticing the railroads are at -5 level and locked to 5. There needs to be some kind of warning that this is a crossing and not a bridge. This is a much more important safety issue than even red lights..

Waze couldn't give any kind warning about a RR crossing. There's no feature for that. RR are set the way they are currently because Waze used to route on them if they were junctioned to a real road, regardless of turn restrictions etc. It was a significant issue.

The guidance on this will be changing soon. There is a thread in the wiki forum on changing this we are discussing right now.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Previous

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abc1357, Bing [Bot], DanelMugur, Sandro2k