Regarding Railroads

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dknight212 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:47 am

petervdveen wrote:As soon as it will happen, we will ask for a complete removal of all railroads.
Or we ask for a rule in the validator and remove them manualy in a few hours ;-)


How hard can it be to remove these notes?
dknight212
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby petervdveen » Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:18 am

Not that hard. That's why we wait till the last moment. As soon as they get displayed, one day later there gone. Now we can still use it if it's really needed.

Btw, it's not like there are hunderts of railroads laying across the benelux now ;-)
We don't advertise to use it, but sometimes it's just needed.
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9734
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 475 times
Been thanked: 1331 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Caradellino » Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:50 am

Basically you can "store" all you identified in a permalink and kill it with just one click...;)
Greets...and keep on wazing
Caradellino, CM for:
Image
AT-Wiki | Team Austria | Wie Waze Routen kalkuliert
Australian Wiki
Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Caradellino
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2413
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Austria
Has thanked: 444 times
Been thanked: 1151 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby dknight212 » Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:11 am

Surely better to get rid of them now and have one less excuse for Waze procrastination...

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
dknight212
 
Posts: 4964
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Dev0 » Thu May 22, 2014 2:23 am

Anything new regarding this? I'm kinda missing the possibility to make notes in the editor...
Image
| APP Beta-Tester | Coordinator for Danish Translators | WME Beta-tester |
Area Manager: Denmark

WazeDanmark
| Facebook | Twitter | Google+ |
Dev0
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Marstal, Denmark
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby kentsmith9 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:22 am

I raised hell with Waze management that we used railroads to manage communications with other editors. They stopped the display of railroads UNTIL they provided another method to display information between editors. I told them without an alternate solution for editors to leave messages visible on the editing map they could not make railroads live.

They agreed with that message. I don't see the new method to leave messages in the editing maps, so I do not plan to remove the notes currently residing in Railroads stopping people from editing roads they should not because they don't know why they were edited that way.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5051
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1277 times
Been thanked: 1496 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby Timbones » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:24 am

URs work really well for editor notes, and won't appear on the client. Not perfect, I know, but using them won't hold up rendering of railroads.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6553
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 892 times
Been thanked: 2472 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby kentsmith9 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 11:10 am

I believe URs can be closed by anyone at any time and if you don't have the UR layer on you never see them.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5051
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1277 times
Been thanked: 1496 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby gordonski » Sat Jun 07, 2014 11:24 am

But when you have the UR layer on, you can now also choose to see closed URs...
(BTW: Thanks Waze for adding that feature!)
ImageNo stop signs, speed limitImageNobody's gonna slow me down!Image
Country Manager for Germany, Area Manager in DN/BM/AC (NRW)
Wiki | Liste aller Gemeinden/Städte
gordonski
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Elsdorf, NW, Germany
Has thanked: 274 times
Been thanked: 324 times

Re: Regarding Railroads

Postby kentsmith9 » Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:20 pm

IF you have the UR layer even on, URs have to be clicked to see their content. If you have hundreds of closed URs in an area because someone keeps changing the map to match the visual, how does the next editor know which one has the editor notes vs user problem?
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5051
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1277 times
Been thanked: 1496 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MatiBajaj