Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:05 pm

This does look like an anomaly possible related to the segments sharing the same endpoint junctions. Though the JSON route data does contain the segment ids, I wonder if the UR route line just uses the junctions, and "picks a segment"?

I was hoping that the street segment shown would have a lower id # than the highway, but that isn't the case here.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.4 | Waze v4a
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23334
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1054 times
Been thanked: 4378 times

Re: Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:19 am

I saw one similar today or yesterday - but the purple line went straight, and there were turn indicators to go through the loop. I had passed one on to the support guys a while ago that Froggy (?) or another name I know had in the Yonkers NY area...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6968
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 1244 times

Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

Postby CBenson » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:29 pm

Editors have noted some recent URs where the purple line between two junctions follows a different segment that connects the same two junctions than the segment the turn instruction icons are shown for.

I've been wondering whether the user is seeing the same route line as is displayed with the UR. I've discovered that the user does not always see the same route line. I submitted this UR to memorialize the right/U route. The route that was marked on my phone did not show the purple line on Braxton Pl as shown in the UR.

I'm wondering whether these errors that show in the URs are errors at all.
loop.png
loop.png (612.14 KiB) Viewed 1217 times
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 747 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

Postby CBenson » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:33 pm

I can also create the right/U on the live map, but not with the detour on Braxton.
LMnoLoop.png
LMnoLoop.png (52.97 KiB) Viewed 1194 times


Currently this route will route right/U for me if requested for 08:00.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 747 times
Been thanked: 1815 times

Re: Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

Postby Timbones » Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:38 pm

I saw this same problem with Livemap/WME routing today. The purple line was straight, but instructions were not. I don't think I had any segments sharing end points though.

I'll try to replicate this later...

via mobile
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5786
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 660 times
Been thanked: 1883 times

Re: Problems with Two Segments Connecting Same Two Junctions

Postby Timbones » Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:25 am

Timbones wrote:I saw this same problem with Livemap/WME routing today.

^ It turns out I was mistaken - the Livemap instructions did actually match plotted route.

Carry on.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5786
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 660 times
Been thanked: 1883 times


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fuchserl