An Important Change in the Client Display

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby redviper26 » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:12 am

Hey everyone,

We wanted to update you about a change in the display of certain road types in the client, that may affect the way you use the editor.

One of the upcoming changes to the map will cause all road types to be presented in the client. Up until now some roads - railroads for example - were not shown in the client. Some of you used those roads to mark certain issues on the map.

After enabling those road types in the client, this will of course no longer be possible, as any segment with any text in it’s name will be presented to all app users.

To enable the change, we need you to remove such road segments from the map, and make sure new ones are not added to it - Otherwise they’ll appear in the client and confuse users.

Thanks for your help,

Noam
redviper26
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 2176
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 1917 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby twist3r » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:52 am

Can you tell us when this change in display will happen ?
Country Manager Romania
Waze 3.9 - Android 5.0.2 OnePlusOne
Logo Waze România
Harta Waze România - Neoficial
ImageImage
https://www.facebook.com/TMTrafic
twist3r
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Timișoara, România
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 126 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby glomp » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:02 am

redviper26 wrote:One of the upcoming changes to the map will cause all road types to be presented in the client. Up until now some roads - railroads for example - were not shown in the client. Some of you used those roads to mark certain issues on the map.

After enabling those road types in the client, this will of course no longer be possible, as any segment with any text in it’s name will be presented to all app users.


What happens in the case of railroads without any text, will they be shown in the client?
ImageImage
Austraila Wiki | CA: Australia
glomp
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1563
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Western Australia
Has thanked: 357 times
Been thanked: 731 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby redviper26 » Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:09 am

The rule of thumb is to assume all road types will be visible in the client.
redviper26
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 2176
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 416 times
Been thanked: 1917 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby twist3r » Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:06 pm

Still ... can we know when this change will happen ? Because if it will starting to work on actual client version in the next few days, yes, we can start deleting those segments right now, but if the change will be visible only starting the next version of the client, then that might take a while and no necessity to start deleting those segments.
Country Manager Romania
Waze 3.9 - Android 5.0.2 OnePlusOne
Logo Waze România
Harta Waze România - Neoficial
ImageImage
https://www.facebook.com/TMTrafic
twist3r
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Timișoara, România
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 126 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby Timbones » Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:17 pm

Sounds good to me, as we've only ever used Railroads for Railways here.

Will you also take care of the data pollution issues with Railroads?
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6572
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 898 times
Been thanked: 2489 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby davipt » Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:03 pm

My feeling is that the railroads will be pushed again by the server and thus no new client will be required, so "soon" can be anything from "now" to "only on the next client drop" to "soon"
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 30, 2014 8:25 pm

davipt wrote:My feeling is that the railroads will be pushed again by the server and thus no new client will be required, so "soon" can be anything from "now" to "only on the next client drop" to "soon"

But the current version of the app, in the schemes, doesn't have a road type settings for railroad or parkinglot, etc. Unless it is just the file which doesn't have that, and they could push updates to that file in the background, a new app version would need to be released. If they make no app change, then it would have to render RR and PLot just like street.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4606 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby slandrum » Thu Jan 30, 2014 8:58 pm

Well, parking lot is already rendered in the app. Which I thought was among the reasons that it wasn't desirable to completely fill out parking lots, just put in enough to fix routing issues, and boundaries near roads to suppress traffic jam generation.
Orange County, CA, USA, Samsung Galaxy S3, Android 4.3 Image
slandrum
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:01 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: An Important Change in the Client Display

Postby davipt » Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:53 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
davipt wrote:My feeling is that the railroads will be pushed again by the server and thus no new client will be required, so "soon" can be anything from "now" to "only on the next client drop" to "soon"

But the current version of the app, in the schemes, doesn't have a road type settings for railroad or parkinglot, etc. Unless it is just the file which doesn't have that, and they could push updates to that file in the background, a new app version would need to be released. If they make no app change, then it would have to render RR and PLot just like street.


There used to be RR on the client when I joined. It was the same as street, but with the dotdotdot in the middle, like the editor. I'm pretty sure it's something hardcoded on the client. Either way my point was simple, I understood the message as "it will happen independently of a new client".
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: becove