WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby ohad-ron » Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:03 pm

Hey Guys,

Today we release a new version of the editor.
Main changes:

  • A new splash screen! a nicer welcome and login screen for all the members of our community.
  • Many Chat improvements and bugfixes
  • Some internal changes to make the editor faster. These changes could break some of the extensions you've been using - if you are still stuck with fixing them, contact me and we'll see what we can do to help.

Let us know if you have any feedback!

Happy editing :D :D :D

Update with a few details
  • Benelux now has a united room, fixes to room switch issues, improved more reliable server, and username on hovers
  • Chat loads significantly faster/sooner; doesn't require panning the map around to finish loading
  • User location tracked better; no need to switch Invisible/Visible to ensure your current location is correct
  • Fixed - zoom bar and layer switcher are sometimes hidden by UR/MP panels
  • New permalink layer param format
  • Allow closing dialog boxes with the Esc button
  • Fixed - house number loading animation not always showing
  • Fixed - 'Show all disallowed turns' mode doesn't refresh automatically
  • Back-end changes to continue to improve overall stability and performance
Last edited by AlanOfTheBerg on Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Users were asking for a few more details for this release
ohad-ron
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1672 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - UR presentation

Postby dbraughlr » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:45 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:We'd rather they just put out the timestamp.

Yes, actual date and time.

The promptness of posting a UR varies from nearly instant to never.
dbraughlr
 
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:24 am
Has thanked: 164 times
Been thanked: 98 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby bz2012 » Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:59 pm

I have not seen the # in recent permalinks and I have made no changes.

Today, the WME chat seems to be missing!
I tried restarting my browser (chrome) with no change.

EDIT: chat seems to be back!
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1153 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby Timbones » Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:55 pm

bz2012 wrote:The question is then, "Why is WME sticking '#' in the permalinks?"

This may be caused by a bug in WME, or in any of the scripts you have installed.

Technical explanation: when <a href="#"> has a onClick handler, then it should always return false.
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6678
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 973 times
Been thanked: 2608 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby paulkok_my » Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:19 pm

enhket wrote:Usually mac users..
Windows users also.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
paulkok_my
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:34 am
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Has thanked: 251 times
Been thanked: 219 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby enhket » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:26 pm

Usually mac users..
enhket
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3714
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 1016 times
Been thanked: 2107 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby petervdveen » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:11 pm

It sometimes does for some users.
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9924
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 545 times
Been thanked: 1404 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby bz2012 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:37 pm

Timbones wrote:
bz2012 wrote:To my shock and surprise, I found that, in neither case, was the 'selected segment' still selected when I opened the new permalink.

A # in the URL will probably break the segment selection.
Zoom can also be a factor.

Removing the # does seem to fix the permalink.
Thanks!

The question is then, "Why is WME sticking '#' in the permalinks?"
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1153 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby Timbones » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:06 pm

bz2012 wrote:To my shock and surprise, I found that, in neither case, was the 'selected segment' still selected when I opened the new permalink.

A # in the URL will probably break the segment selection.
Zoom can also be a factor.
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6678
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 973 times
Been thanked: 2608 times

Re: WME v1.5 Release - Official Feedback Thread

Postby bz2012 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:04 pm

I was about to post the following when I decided to 'check' and make sure the segment selection was correct.

To my shock and surprise, I found that, in neither case, was the 'selected segment' still selected when I opened the new permalink.

Ok. I think, maybe an extension is messing things up. Disabled all extensions. Same results!
Google Chrome Version 33.0.1750.117 m, Win7 enterprise, up to date.

After I post this, I will restart my browser and test.... computer and test and will edit this if results change.

Additional information: rebooting did nothing to fix the problem.
'trimming down' the URL so it contained ONLY the 'segments=....' did nothing to fix the problem.
Tried from another computer. Same results.

Strange length before 'save'.
I had just created this segment https://www.waze.com/editor/#?%23%3F=&zoom=8&lat=29.74488&lon=-95.46679&layers=1925&segments=78348880&env=usa
by fixing the fact that this segment https://www.waze.com/editor/#?zoom=8&lat=29.74488&lon=-95.46679&layers=1925&segments=78348776&env=usa
was not connected.
I noticed that the 'length' of the newly created segment was ~130 meters.
"Impossible!" I thought to my self.
After 'save', the length was more reasonable.
bz2012
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:32 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Has thanked: 1153 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users