Loss of elevation data

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:49 pm

I don't think bad data is going to the database - if it were, wouldn't a refresh of the map still show an empty elevation drop-down, rather than resetting it to "ground?"

But I'll try again without any extensions when I get a chance. No more time for today. :-)
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:25 pm

I'll look into that once I get a chance, thanks.

Why would one of those extensions affect the way the elevation is displayed when you select a road segment, but only after having saved a change? Just out of curiosity....
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 4:59 pm

Upon further examination, I find that it happens a lot even without using Q to fix a junction. I've done nothing more than select a segment and change the name of the road and then had the elevation show up as blank after the save. Toolbox map refresh does return the elevation to "ground."
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:50 pm

It's happening to me, too. I had reported it in another message that I can't locate right now, but was basically told it was a display bug and to just use the Toolbox function to refresh the screen.

To be sure, doing that does seem to return the segments to show "ground" instead of a blank entry. I haven't yet tried this out where I had a road with an elevation different from "ground." (I'm not saying that it hasn't happened - I just haven't been dealing with a road with a different elevation level.)

It became way more obvious that it's happening (exactly as you describe) since the Validator now highlights roads with an invalid elevation setting.

Display or other type of bug notwithstanding, it's a real pain to have to deal with resetting the elevation (either road-by-road or with a Toolbox map refresh) whenever you edit a segment...
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby qwaletee » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:15 pm

It sounds like we have consensus so far that change is OK, but with an addition to the lost elevation warning, that if it still is blank after waiting a minute and refreshing, then there is a more serious problem that should be reported to a country manager or state manager for analysis and correction.

Agreed?
US Champ / Country Manager | State Manager NY, NJ, PA, CT, MA, RI, VT, ME, NH | Northeast ARC | Mentor | Responding to Map Issues
qwaletee
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:42 am
Location: NYC Metro - Active throughout NE^2 (Northeast & New England)
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 1128 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby qwaletee » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:07 pm

US Champ / Country Manager | State Manager NY, NJ, PA, CT, MA, RI, VT, ME, NH | Northeast ARC | Mentor | Responding to Map Issues
qwaletee
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:42 am
Location: NYC Metro - Active throughout NE^2 (Northeast & New England)
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 1128 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby qwaletee » Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:31 pm

It is definitely a bug, but at the same time, once that seems chronic, and in need of guidance to map editors. I vote adding content. I'll work some text up and post here.
US Champ / Country Manager | State Manager NY, NJ, PA, CT, MA, RI, VT, ME, NH | Northeast ARC | Mentor | Responding to Map Issues
qwaletee
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:42 am
Location: NYC Metro - Active throughout NE^2 (Northeast & New England)
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 1128 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby qwaletee » Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:54 am

Edit: Updated list of affected users.

More investigation reveals a fairly repeatable scenario:

  • find a junction with reverse connectivity or soft turns
  • select it
  • hit Q to fix (uses JNF or toolbox)
  • if any segments change, they lose elevation

Note that this only occurs if Q changes a segment (road changes to orange).
US Champ / Country Manager | State Manager NY, NJ, PA, CT, MA, RI, VT, ME, NH | Northeast ARC | Mentor | Responding to Map Issues
qwaletee
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:42 am
Location: NYC Metro - Active throughout NE^2 (Northeast & New England)
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 1128 times

Loss of elevation data

Postby qwaletee » Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:45 am

It seems that a number of editors are finding that they sometimes have elevation level nulled out after saving, on segments that had previously been saved with valid elevation data. Not only is it affecting segments that have been edited, it is affecting multiple segments off the same junction.

See start of discussion here and here

Editors reporting the phenomenon so far: ctpoole, atomicdecay, qwaletee, rgatland, orbitc.

Several other editors cannot reproduce the problem.

My detailed summary of the actions I took that produced the error:
Changing a junction, or maybe the elevation of one segment attached to the junction, seems to drop elevation from all the segments in the junction. This appears to be true even if I select the unexpectedly modified segments -- the standard WME segment properties show blank elevation.

If I have a segment that has directional or reverse connection issues and fix it, after I save, it gets highlighted for elevation out of range, but it wasn't highlighted for that before. (I.e., when I select the segment, it only shows the reverse connection problem, it does not also show an elevation note.) This may simply be a symptom of the above -- until I changed the junction to eliminate the reverse connection, perhaps the segment had a properly assigned elevation, so there was no reason to show an elevation note. Once I saved, and the elevation was lost, then there was a reason to display the issue.

So I'm going to vote for there being a problem with WME killing elevation values right now, or a problem with JNF/toolbox doing it.
US Champ / Country Manager | State Manager NY, NJ, PA, CT, MA, RI, VT, ME, NH | Northeast ARC | Mentor | Responding to Map Issues
qwaletee
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:42 am
Location: NYC Metro - Active throughout NE^2 (Northeast & New England)
Has thanked: 231 times
Been thanked: 1128 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby pjlasl » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:51 pm

I'm also seeing this effect.
pjlasl
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:41 pm
Location: Weatherford, TX
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lolanubislol, steveinark