Loss of elevation data

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:03 pm

SuperDave1426 wrote:Upon further examination, I find that it happens a lot even without using Q to fix a junction. I've done nothing more than select a segment and change the name of the road and then had the elevation show up as blank after the save. Toolbox map refresh does return the elevation to "ground."

Make sure you are testing with and without extensions. To see if a specific extension is causing an issue, you'd need to make changes/save with that extension, but then refresh the map (maybe in another no-extension browser) to see if the extension actually caused a problem. You can't properly test the effects in a browser with Toolbox or JNF, etc. installed.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23310
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1052 times
Been thanked: 4340 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:41 pm

SuperDave1426 wrote:Why would one of those extensions affect the way the elevation is displayed when you select a road segment, but only after having saved a change? Just out of curiosity....

What I'm thinking is that one or more extensions may be "masking" the incorrect display of elevation. (Display effect only; data is correct in the database.) Or possibly, one or more extensions is creating a problem on save and saving bad data. (Data is incorrect in the database.) An extension could, possibly (unlikely? I don't know) be causing a save problem and also masking the display of that problem at the same time.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23310
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1052 times
Been thanked: 4340 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby atomicdecay » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:41 pm

I know it's moot since null elevations have been disabled in the latest release, but FWIW I was seeing the issue with or without JNF enabled. I didn't try every kind of edit, but with JUST Validator installed it had the same null elevation issue if I renamed a segment (changing turn restrictions didn't trigger it though).
I also agree that I think it was just a cosmetic display issue. Like SuperDave I could refresh the map data and all the elevation values were correct. I had to take it a further step because even though I knew the values were correct, the segments were still highlighted. The highlighting would go away after I selected/deselected the segment or did a full chrome page refresh. Minor annoyance, but nothing critical. :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image
Tampa / St. Petersburg
atomicdecay
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 9:25 pm
Location: Tampa, FL. USA
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby BellHouse » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:11 am

Just to be sure: have you double-checked that the elevation data is really lost in the database, or is it just not being displayed? So, if you reload the WME page, is the elevation still blank?

Otherwize, is might "just" be this bug: https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 42#p694942

EDIT: With WME Validator 0.9.2, nearly all segments I touch (with QW) report a missing elevation. However, all cases I have seen today were "false alarms", so reloading the page brings the elevations back.
Image
Global Champ / DACH Champ / CM Germany / Self-Management-Team Germany
BellHouse
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Cologne / Germany
Has thanked: 438 times
Been thanked: 1149 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby BellHouse » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:05 am

I did some more tests on the loss of elevation data phenomenon, enabling and disabling different combinations of scripts.

My conclusion is, that this is triggered by the Junction Node Fixer (JNF) script, and by this one alone. If I disable JNF, the elevations always stay (so WME Validator does not report missing elevations). If I enable JNF, the issue returns. I have sent JNF's author a message.

WME Toolbox does not seem to be the cause. If I have this one enabled (without JNF), the elevation data (and display) is ok.

So WME as such has nothing to do with the loss of display of elevation data.
Image
Global Champ / DACH Champ / CM Germany / Self-Management-Team Germany
BellHouse
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Cologne / Germany
Has thanked: 438 times
Been thanked: 1149 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby BellHouse » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:05 am

If someone finds a case where the elevation data of a segment is lost (null), also after a refresh of WME, please leave it that way and post a permalink. It would be interesting to see of this happens preferably on US or INTL servers, for instance. I have never seen such a case on the INTL server (but I believe you that they do exist, of course ;)).
Image
Global Champ / DACH Champ / CM Germany / Self-Management-Team Germany
BellHouse
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Cologne / Germany
Has thanked: 438 times
Been thanked: 1149 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby berestovskyy » Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:01 pm

Is it OK if I temporarily disable reporting of null elevations in the next Validator release until we resolve the issue?
berestovskyy
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 235 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby bgodette » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:31 pm

This is still yet another "problem" that's masked by JNF most of the time, and is mentioned multiple times in JNF's thread. This issue has been around for at least 2 years, probably since Papyrus, and definitely since the recent new infrastructure. This is an issue with Features and "eventual consistency" as a result of it being a distributed system. When everything on the backend is running smoothly, the delay between two data loads is enough for your saves to have converged.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3259
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 406 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby davielde » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:53 pm

BellHouse wrote:Just to be sure: have you double-checked that the elevation data is really lost in the database, or is it just not being displayed? So, if you reload the WME page, is the elevation still blank?


From everything that I have seen, reloading WME is restoring the elevation, and Validator is no longer highlighting an out of range elevation.
Image
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 749 times

Re: Loss of elevation data

Postby freade » Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:47 pm

Same thing happening here.
Image
freade
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users