WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby ohad-ron » Wed May 14, 2014 12:59 pm

Hey guys,

This Sunday (18.5) we are expected to start the process of moving the ROW environment to the new Places feature. This means we will start by freezing all additions and changes to landmarks. Trying to save a new or edited landmark will result in an error.

UPDATE - 27.5 - The freeze is over, and the new version is in production. Details here:
https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=93966

After about two days we'll be able to launch the new system along with the new WME in the beta environment, and after a few more days it will be publicly available. We'll keep you updated.

Thanks for being patience up until now, we are almost there :D

Happy editing!
Waze
Ohad R.

Image
Waze Product Team
ohad-ron
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1666 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby Watt25 » Thu May 15, 2014 6:19 am

Do not forget to update the translation too! (I've translated all the strings in Transifex months ago, but they're still not appeared in WME.)
Samsung Galaxy SIII LTE - Android 4.4
Area Manager: Érd - Martonvásár - Dunaújváros háromszögben
Ford Mondeo MK2 Tournier
Watt25
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1470
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Location: Hungary - Érd
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby petervdveen » Thu May 15, 2014 11:47 am

ohad-ron wrote:and after a few more days it will be publicly available.

What about making that some weeks?
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9715
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 1319 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby Dev0 » Thu May 15, 2014 7:14 pm

Superb.. Looking forward to the feature...
Image
| APP Beta-Tester | Coordinator for Danish Translators | WME Beta-tester |
Area Manager: Denmark

WazeDanmark
| Facebook | Twitter | Google+ |
Dev0
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Marstal, Denmark
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby omba_de » Fri May 16, 2014 5:10 pm

Has anybody an idea, what's happening in between the beta- and the public release? I mean... What's going on with landmarks in the meanwhile? Will it be possible to add and change Landmarks in the public editor until places will be released in there?
Probleme mit i-Gerät und Waze? Bitte melden. Als iOS-expert kann ich dir vielleicht weiter helfen!
Image


AT-Wiki
Wie Waze Routen Kalkuliert
omba_de
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 6531
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Austria / Germany
Has thanked: 1389 times
Been thanked: 1826 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri May 16, 2014 8:12 pm

omba_de wrote:Will it be possible to add and change Landmarks in the public editor until places will be released in there?

No, they will remain frozen until the beta cycle is complete and the editor released to the public.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4554 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby omba_de » Fri May 16, 2014 8:29 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
omba_de wrote:Will it be possible to add and change Landmarks in the public editor until places will be released in there?

No, they will remain frozen until the beta cycle is complete and the editor released to the public.

That's interesting news. I didn't expect that...
Thank you Alan.
Probleme mit i-Gerät und Waze? Bitte melden. Als iOS-expert kann ich dir vielleicht weiter helfen!
Image


AT-Wiki
Wie Waze Routen Kalkuliert
omba_de
Global Champs Localizers
Global Champs Localizers
 
Posts: 6531
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:08 pm
Location: Austria / Germany
Has thanked: 1389 times
Been thanked: 1826 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri May 16, 2014 9:34 pm

omba_de wrote:That's interesting news. I didn't expect that...
Thank you Alan.

I'm basing my post on what happened with the NA freeze period. Started March 2, released on March 26.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4554 times

Re: WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby Fredo-p » Sat May 17, 2014 1:19 am

What is the ROW environment?

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
Fredo-p
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: AZ, NJ, NY, ND, CA
Has thanked: 270 times
Been thanked: 623 times

WME landmark freezing in ROW server!

Postby davielde » Sat May 17, 2014 1:35 am

Fredo-p wrote:What is the ROW environment?

"Rest of World" as opposed to the NA/North American server
Image
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 754 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher

cron