[Confirmed] WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [Confirmed] WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:37 pm

Did this get confirmed to operate the same way with all extensions off?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4862 times

Re: Possible WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:51 pm

DwarfLord wrote:Can anyone reproduce this in Chrome?

Same here on Chrome.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

Re: [Confirmed] WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby CBenson » Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:42 pm

Yes, I turn all extension off to test.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1055 times
Been thanked: 2353 times

[Confirmed] WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby DwarfLord » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:39 pm

The WME "Live Users" layer ends up disabled a LOT without my wanting it, or even being aware of it. I was advised to examine whether permalinks were doing it. It turns out that permalink URLs without the "layers=" field appear to clear selection of the "Live Users" layer. As these are the permalinks sent out with emailed UR notices, using those links will disable "Live Users".

Can anyone reproduce this in Chrome? Try selecting this link for the Statue of Liberty. Note that "layers=2047" will cause all eleven layers to be enabled:

https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-74.04 ... 47&env=usa

Great. Live Users is on, as are all ten other layers. Now, either click on this link, or edit the URL in the browser window to remove the "layers=" field:

https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-74.04 ... =5&env=usa

Check the layers again. All ten other layers remain selected, but "Live Users" is now off.

Maybe I'm using WME incorrectly? At first glance this sure seems buggy to me.
Last edited by DwarfLord on Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DwarfLord
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 2500
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California USA
Has thanked: 1088 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: Possible WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby DwarfLord » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:46 pm

Fredo-p wrote:Just tried, and all layers, including added scripts are on. Second link unchecked Live Users, Junction Angle, and Route Checker scripts. Validator was still checked on.

OK, sounds like the same behavior I see. Again, the second link contains no layer information, the "layers=" field is missing altogether. But WME seems to interpret a missing "layers=" field to mean "turn off Live Users".
DwarfLord
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 2500
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California USA
Has thanked: 1088 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: Possible WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby DwarfLord » Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:33 pm

I doubt they are using bit position 10 as the sign bit; at least, it would be bizarre hardware that supported a sign bit for integers of arbitrary word length. Not only that, but the two's complement (i.e., arithmetic negative) of 1023 would be ...1110000000001 which would not turn on all layers. So it doesn't look like they're using ordinary signed binary handling for the layers number.

More likely there is a sanity check in the code left over from before Live Users that masks off bit 10 (and probably everything above bit 10) if the "layers=" field is omitted.
DwarfLord
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 2500
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California USA
Has thanked: 1088 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: Possible WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby DwarfLord » Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:27 am

Thanks to everyone who confirmed the behavior! Let's consider this "possible bug" thread closed. I will report this as a "confirmed bug" in the latest WME release comment thread.
DwarfLord
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 2500
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California USA
Has thanked: 1088 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: [Confirmed] WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby DwarfLord » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:26 pm

Great reminder! Yes, the behavior is the same with all Chrome extensions off for me as well.
DwarfLord
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 2500
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:01 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California USA
Has thanked: 1088 times
Been thanked: 1475 times

Re: Possible WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby Fredo-p » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:42 pm

Just tried, and all layers, including added scripts are on. Second link unchecked Live Users, Junction Angle, and Route Checker scripts. Validator was still checked on.
[ img ][ img ]
Arizona Wiki | @Waze_Arizona Twitter
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S8+

Fredo-p
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: Everywhere
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Re: Possible WME bug: ephemeral Live Users setting

Postby Fredo-p » Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:04 pm

anthogna wrote:Layers uses an 11-bit binary addition scheme:
Code: Select all
   1 (00000000001) - Satellite
   2 (00000000010) - Cities
   4 (00000000100) - Roads
   8 (00000001000) - GPS
  16 (00000010000) - AMs
  32 (00000100000) - Places
  64 (00001000000) - Speed Cameras
 128 (00010000000) - Map Problems
 256 (00100000000) - Update Requests
 512 (01000000000) - Editable Areas
1024 (10000000000) - Live Users
2047 (11111111111) - All On


So, I'd wager the routing engine expects a 10-digit binary number from user cookies and treats the leading one as the sign. Actually, if you pass -1023 into the URL, you get "all on" as well. :)


To.....much...knowledge.....geek levels..........exceeding....limitations......IQ...dropping....dropping..........Peanut butter...yum :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
[ img ][ img ]
Arizona Wiki | @Waze_Arizona Twitter
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S8+

Fredo-p
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:35 am
Location: Everywhere
Has thanked: 269 times
Been thanked: 643 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users