[Script] Snapshot Mode

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby aBshield » Mon May 30, 2016 8:33 pm

Is the issue with the script or WME snapshot mode itself?

The script seems to work fine for me in that it enters snapshot mode, or so the WME banner says like in the past. Trouble is, there aren't any changes present, and it just seems to show the current map.

If that's the case, and this script merely exposes a slightly hidden feature of WME, I'm thinking it may be better to report the issue against WME itself, if that hasn't already been done.
aBshield
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:28 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby aBshield » Fri Jul 08, 2016 12:59 pm

Besides my personal stake in losing access to the feature, I really can't think of a single reason why access for all would be a dangerous prospect for Waze. I would echo the same reasons that have been brought up already.

I found this feature incredible useful when...
  • ...coming on the scene where partial fixes had been attempted and the current editor requesting help has got them-self into a jam.
  • ...helping myself out of a jam.
  • ...determining if all the latest changes have been incorporated into the map. If I'm testing a certain setup, this was also useful to ensure alt names etc (that do not show up on Livemap) are incorporated before proceeding with test.
  • ...determining if URs or other issues are the result of a delayed tile updates.
I'm aware that one can just check the tile update status dates for some of these, but it's not always that simple. Changes in WME are not logged by time of day, so often it's necessary to wait and ensure there's at least one full calendar day difference between the current tile update status and the "last modified" attribute. There's also time zone changes to consider etc. and you really couldn't beat a quick click of snapshot mode telling you instantly what the last tile update has on record, all right in WME.
aBshield
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:28 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby aBshield » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:06 pm

Challenger3802 wrote:Looks like this feature has now been rolled out to all users, negating the need to install it as a script.

Ian.

Can you be more specific on how to activate? I don't see anything with or without the script enabled at this point. Disabled all add-ons and scripts; same deal.
aBshield
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:28 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby aBshield » Wed Aug 31, 2016 8:38 pm

Okay, thanks. I've followed the L4+ debate until this point and made my personal case earlier in this thread and elsewhere. I was just a little too literal (hopeful) with Challenger3802's usage of "all users." :cry:
aBshield
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:28 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:00 pm

Maybe Snapshot mode is broken in WME, but after I add new segments, then enable snapshot mode from the bookmarklet, all I get is the message at the top center of the map window about Snapshot mode enabled, but the map looks exactly the same, with the segments I just added.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23615
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1128 times
Been thanked: 4828 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby caltedde » Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:02 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Maybe Snapshot mode is broken in WME, but after I add new segments, then enable snapshot mode from the bookmarklet, all I get is the message at the top center of the map window about Snapshot mode enabled, but the map looks exactly the same, with the segments I just added.


+1
caltedde
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2507
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:18 pm
Has thanked: 1987 times
Been thanked: 2410 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby Challenger3802 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:37 am

Looks like this feature has now been rolled out to all users, negating the need to install it as a script.

Ian.
Challenger3802
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 7:41 pm
Location: Gillingham, Kent
Has thanked: 410 times
Been thanked: 122 times

[Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby CoolCanuck » Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:30 am

Hi all,

I would like to share something I came across. This script will show a link titled "Enable Snapshot Mode" in the top left corner beside the country selection menu on the editor page.

I'm not certain what Snapshot mode does, but it looks like it allows you to view what the map looks like in-client/before the next map tile update. For segments, not places. This tool could be used to help revert vandalism, or to recover from a bad edit (etc).

Waze staff says this is OK-to-share. (Thanks for the communication, PesachZ!)

Any feedback/comments are appreciated :)

Important: You MUST have your WME top bar enabled (where it says Live map, your username, country etc).

There are currently two versions available:
Bookmarklet Page - do not drag this, click for page to add bookmark. Bookmarklet is a toggle. There will be no option in the top right added, it's just an on/off button itself.
Userscript (Grease/Tampermonkey)


PesachZ's description:
Code: Select all
Allows you to preview a section of the map showing it in the state it was when the tiles were last built. This allows you to see how WME looked at the time of the last tile build, and hides any edits made after that point. The code when used puts a link in the top right of WME to "Enter Snapshot Mode", and when used, it reloads the roads as they were at the time of the last tile build. I'm attaching two screenshots to demonstrate (showing an interchange which was edited significantly since the last build but the UR has traces from the old configuration).
It is a tool that could be very helpful when diagnosing routing and user reported issues especially in areas where the map has since been updated. It could even be used to repair damage to the map if we catch it before the tile build by giving us a reference to how it was before.
Last edited by CoolCanuck on Sat Aug 27, 2016 2:25 pm, edited 8 times in total.
CoolCanuck
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:16 pm
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby CoolCanuck » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:01 pm

vince1612 wrote:I see, then that's awesome, thanks ;)

Do they keep just one copy ? It would be great to be able to go back in time a few updates back.


Sadly yes :(. Oh well :)
CoolCanuck
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:16 pm
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby CoolCanuck » Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:51 am

For the time being, you can use the bookmarklet. Tested & works in beta.

I will think of something.. but in my opinion, a tab would be an overkill for a simple feature (we already have so many tabs..)

I am probably going to make a camera icon and put it in the bottom right corner near the permalink :)
CoolCanuck
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 10:16 pm
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Has thanked: 200 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Next

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher