Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Post Reply
Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

[Script] WME Stroopwafel

Post by


Welcome to WME Stroopwafel (1.6)

Do you ever find yourself visiting the same spot you just edited?
Do you ever think: I wish there was a more structured way to edit a larger area?
Do you ever wonder during a mapraid: did we get the whole area?
Do you ever want to know if this new feature (hello Lane Guidance!) was applied everywhere?

Stroopwafel can be your solution.What does it do? It places a grid on the map. You fill the grid with data about what you checked or edited.


In the Stroopwafel tab you can tick the aspect(s) you want to view or edit in a cell or cells. This data is stored in a central database. This way you can collaborate in indicating where the map was updated, or work through an area in a more structured way.

Aspects:
Satellite images aligned with GPS tracks
Make sure the satellite images are aligned with the GPS tracks. If necessary, use an aerial shifter like in Fix UI
Roads
Was every road in the cell drawn (according to GPS tracks)?
Streetnames
Were all streetnames applied to the roads in the cell, according to official sources?
Cities
Are the names of the cities applied to all relevant roads?
Speed Limits
Does every road have a speedlimit? If unknown, fill with a relevant speedlimit.
Places
Area places should be drawn because they can be used as reference point.
Nature
Water and Forests are relevant as reference point.
House Numbers
Did every building in the cell get a house number?
Lane Guidance
Did you check every road in the cell to see if it needs LG?
Camera's/RRC
Is the cell complete regarding camera’s and RRC’s?
Road Shields
Did you check every road in the cell to see if it needs a Road Shield?
Exit Signs
Did every mH/MH/FW exit in the cell get an Exit Sign?
Junction Boxes
Have you checked the junctions in the cell to see if it can be improved by using a JB?
Toolbox
Reverse Connections/Dead-End Loops/Unterminated Roads/Unconfirmed Turns/Expired Restrictions
Empty
Only check this aspect if there is none of the above aspects in the cell. With this aspect ticked, none of the other aspects can be used. The cell will turn blank in every view.



Which data is stored? Together with the above aspects we log the name of the last editor, the date and the time.

Because there is a central database, we want to avoid abuse. We have taken a three step approach to achieve this.
1.We authorize every user. After installing the script, you can ask for your unique key. The key will be sent to you in the Waze forum by wmestroopwafel. You can enter that key in every instance of WME you use. We will send your key only once. If you lose your key you will need to contact wmestroopwafel. Do not share your key.
2.The amount of cells you can edit within a certain timeframe will be throttled.
3.This is not a contest. Do not mark cells done if you did not do the work.

What do we have planned?
Tile Alert.
Your own local database with cells you want to monitor. With a click on the button you can check which cells have changed since you saved them.
Cells To Do.
You can mark a cell as To Do if you know it needs work, but you can’t do that right now. Let’s say there is a closure and you know you need to edit that segment once the closure is gone. Or you see some structure that needs editing, but you also have to walk the dog and run for groceries. Just mark it To Do and visit it later. These tiles are also stored in your local database, so these are not shared.

FAQ

Who made this script?
The script was written by mewsa on an idea by GerardterBeke.

What is stroopwafel?
It is the best cookie in existence.

Why the name stroopwafel?
It refers to the Dutch origin of the script, and if you Google a picture of a stroopwafel you can easily see the similarities. Did we already mention it’s just an awesome cookie?

Now you may ask yourself: 'How do I work this'

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/ ... ayms=10000

And finally, what you came here for: DOWNLOAD
Last edited by wmestroopwafel on Mon May 24, 2021 12:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Post by mewsa
—reserved post—
mewsa
Beta tester
Beta tester
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Post by Thalibahn
Very interesting idea :!:

Which levels are there, how do you level up and what changes come with the level?
Currently activated as:

Thalibahn
(level 1)
Thalibahn
Area Manager
Area Manager
Posts: 68
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 29 times
Thalibahn
Area Manager: Southeast Baden-Württemberg [16,900 km²] | Tasmania [168,000 km²] | Central South Australia [40,000 km²]
State Closure Manager: Baden-Württemberg




German Chats: Slack Discord | Australian Chat: Discord

Post by JanKlaaseen
Hi wmestroopwafel,

The script works well. I love it but I have found mistakes.
  1. Words are break
  2. It is not translated into the big languages
  3. Wrong anchor after translate it
=================================================

1. Words are break and 3. Wrong anchor
To solve these problems you only have to replace the source code line in the script:
#WME_Marker_Context_Aspects td:first-child { word-break: normal; width: 200px; }
Instead:
#WME_Marker_Context_Aspects td:first-child { word-break: break-all; width: 160px; }
Word-break:
You use break-all, but the words may be broken at any character. If you use normal, uses default line break rules (according to language)
Width:
After translation, width: 200px to fit window.

Below is a sample of the ploblem and results you will get:

Wrong width and word-break
Wrong word-break (applied width: 200px)
Solved (applied two options)

2. Spanish translation
You can translate your file into spanish language? on the contrary, I provide you the code of the spanish file and Just upload the code with a new script what might be called WME Stroopwafel ES, for example.
I could upload it, but you are the author and I would be glad if you were to do so.
Spanish code file

See you
JanKlaaseen
Map Raider
Map Raider
Posts: 298
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Post by sketch
This is definitely the most delicious script I have ever heard of! Well, unless you prefer PIE... :lol:
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
Posts: 6606
Has thanked: 1072 times
Been thanked: 1630 times
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • beta leader • tier one • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]

Post by JanKlaaseen
Hi stroopwafel,

First, I have opted for release a Spanish version, I'll try to keep up with releases to maintain functionality.
WME Stroopwafel Español

Second, while I was updating it to v1.6, I found a little visual errors.
  • Advanced settings > The input checkbox isn't inline with the text.
  • Advanced settings > The input checkbox and the input text are near.
  • Advanced settings > The input-text seems disorganized
==============================================================

To solve this issues you only need to change two parts of the code:
  1. We separated the paragraphs with <p> command
  2. We assigned a value of 100% to the input-text
  3. We changed the Advanced-Settings input display from block to inline-block
Below is a sample of the ploblem and results you will get:
Wrong input-text and block
Wrong input-text width
Solved (applied three options and a gift shading)

I provide you the code of the whole line "const HTML_MODAL_ADVANCED_SETTINGS" to make it easier to update. (in the original language)

Code: Select all

const HTML_MODAL_ADVANCED_SETTINGS = "<div id=\"Advanced-Settings\">    <h1>Advanced Settings</h1>    <p>Do not modify these settings if you are not a developer. Wrong settings could break the script.</p>    <p><label for=\"server-url\">Server URL</label>    <input type=\"text\" placeholder=\"https://example.com/api\" id=\"server-url\" /></p>    <p><label for=\"verbose-logs\">Verbose logs</label>    <input type=\"checkbox\" id=\"verbose-logs\" /></p>    <button id=\"reset-settings-button\">Reset all settings</button>    <button id=\"deactivate-button\">Deactivate (logout)</button>    <button id=\"copy-logs-button\">Copy logs</button></div><style>    #Advanced-Settings input {        display: inline-block;    }    #Advanced-Settings input#server-url {        width:100%;        ;border: 1px solid #999;        padding: 3px;        -webkit-border-radius: 10px;        -moz-border-radius: 10px;        border-radius: 10px;    }    #Advanced-Settings input#server-url:focus {        background: rgba(0,0,0,.1);        -webkit-border-radius: 10px;        -moz-border-radius: 10px;        border-radius: 10px;        outline      : none;    }    #Advanced-Settings button {        background: #fff;        color: #000;        border: 2px solid #ff0000;        -webkit-border-radius: 10px;        -moz-border-radius: 10px;        border-radius: 10px;        display: block;        margin: 10px 5%;        width: 90%;        text-align: center;    }    #Advanced-Settings button:hover {        background: #bbb;    }</style>";
JanKlaaseen
Map Raider
Map Raider
Posts: 298
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 205 times
Last edited by JanKlaaseen on Wed May 26, 2021 1:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post by RichardPyne
It appears that the Send Activation Key is not working. It says it is sent, but never shows up in my Inbox.
RichardPyne  
Area Manager
Area Manager
Posts: 312
Has thanked: 237 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Post by GerardterBeke
Hi RichardPyne,

Can you please try again? The issue should be fixed.
GerardterBeke
State Manager
State Manager
Posts: 113
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Country Manager Oman & the Netherlands
WME Stroopwafel Staff

https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... Badge2.png

Post by JanKlaaseen
Hi wmestroopwafel,

Ctrl is the principal key to use the script. to select multiple objects we use the same key.
JanKlaaseen
Map Raider
Map Raider
Posts: 298
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 205 times
Last edited by JanKlaaseen on Wed May 26, 2021 9:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post by JanKlaaseen
Hi wmestroopwafel,

I think that you added a button to display the user manual.
JanKlaaseen
Map Raider
Map Raider
Posts: 298
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 205 times
Last edited by JanKlaaseen on Wed May 26, 2021 9:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post by GerardterBeke
JanKlaaseen wrote:Hi wmestroopwafel,

Ctrl is the principal key to use the script. to select multiple objects we use the same key.
I have updated the Spanish script to use the Atl key instead of the Ctrl key.
Hello JanKlaaseen,

We will gladly make changes to support other languages. What you are doing here is changing basic functionality of the script. I would kindly ask you not to do this and revert your change.

If you think your solution is better, please discuss and we will look into it. Unilaterally changing it will confuse users because there will be differences in functionality between the official version and your version.
I have added a button to display the user manual.
We will not support this. The manual is an installation manual. It makes no sense to display it after succesful installation. Please revert your change.

In general: translating our script into another language is fine. Making unauthorized changes is not. If you would like to have things changed, discuss and do not change them until they are in the official version.
GerardterBeke
State Manager
State Manager
Posts: 113
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Country Manager Oman & the Netherlands
WME Stroopwafel Staff

https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... Badge2.png