Page 27 of 30

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:41 am
by tonestertm
I'm wondering if there is any way that, for a given day, the script could automatically find the slowest or fastest time for a given route?

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:24 pm
by tonestertm
Would be nifty to have a button which ranked the routes in the same order as Livemap. This wouid help a lot while investigating BDP issues.

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:31 am
by tonestertm
Nope. The only thing Try More does is increase the number of routes requested internally to 10 times the number shown in the selector box, then filter the best of the returned results out and display them according to the Route Type setting. I don't think I've ever seen this script do Livemap ranking, except maybe when it was first under development.
82 to 5 detour Livemap route ranking.jpg
Livemap ranks routes incorporating BDP considerations
(63.9 KiB) Downloaded 905 times

82 to 5 detour Route Speeds Try More.jpg
Route Speeds ranks routes according to Route Type option only
(57.8 KiB) Downloaded 901 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:24 am
by tonestertm
Just to clarify, you understand that I'm talking about the order in which they're listed, not which routes are listed? As I said, I've never seen it do that, and the sort routine in the script doesn't seem to have any accommodation for presenting them in "Livemap order".

I'd make the modification myself, but I'm not quite that code-savvy yet. (Not gonna stop me from trying, though :) )

So, for completion, here's the same thing without Try More checked.
82 to 5 detour Route Speeds Plain.jpg
(60.89 KiB) Downloaded 895 times



EDIT: I did manage to hack another checkbox in, which allows display in Livemap order. :)

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:24 pm
by tonestertm
The speed for those segments will be returned if the route takes those segments.

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:38 pm
by tonestertm
Ramblinwreck -
Given that Waze recently removed Shortest as an option in the app, I'd first wonder if it's even still supported in the routing server. I can't seem to watch that video where I am, at the moment, can you re-test and see if it's maybe selecting for time, rather than distance? I'll do some checking when I'm back at a PC.

Edit- Shortest IS still working... still testing for that anomaly.

voludu -
Avoid Ferries *should* be do-able. I'll look in to getting that added.


Disclaimer: I'm not really a dev, I just play one on TV ;)

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:06 pm
by tonestertm
voludu - HOV routing is in development. (shortly!)

Cefin - a few of us have successfully tested Route Speeds in Puerto Rico. Are you sure you're up to date with the latest version (2017.11.15.001)? If you are, please DM me: I'd like to try an experiment if you're still stuck.

WazingArch - RouteSpeeds depends on the same engine that finds routes in the app and in Livemap. If a turn is defined as a U-turn in the routing algorithm, it will be avoided or allowed by the setting of the switch. BUT, be aware that setting a prompt is not necessarily the same as setting a U-turn in routing. If Waze defines the JB U-turn as a U-turn in the routing algorithm, then it should be usable or avoidable by Route Speeds, but the script does not do any U-turn detection of its own.

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 3:22 am
by tonestertm
An upcoming version of the script will remove the "Shortest" option, as the router no longer supports this method of routing.

Additionally, Vehicle Types will be added. Just need to handle some "clerical" work. Thanks for your patience!

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:29 pm
by tonestertm
jchiarav wrote:Hi. Sorry the question. What mean "Use Routing Order"?


Hi, Julio,
Sorry, I forgot to include the tooltip when this was released. It's there in an upcoming release. :)

When Use Routing Order is NOT checked, the list of routes is displayed from fastest to slowest.

When Use Routing Order is checked, the list of routes is displayed in the same order as you would see it in the app or in livemap (not always fastest to slowest!).

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 2:13 am
by tonestertm
Fastest (no history) is a statistically averaged segment speed Waze apparently uses in some sorts of testing. (Don't ask how the averaging is done, it's quite proprietary, and we don't know). For the most part, speeds are consistent throughout each day - no timeslices.

So, there is still some, averaged, dependency on the actual speeds driven on a segment, but it's not time-dependent.

BTW, that name will be changing in the next major release, to something like Fastest - Avg Segment Speed and there might even be a tooltip with a brief description, but since we don't know that much about it, maybe not.

Shortest route was removed as an option from the routing server shortly after it was removed from the app.