[Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby e-sarge » Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:03 pm

I could use some help to debug a UR I'm working on in Pickering, ON, Canada. Here's the forum thread.

This is my first time using WME Route Speeds, but I think I'm using it correctly, but yet the results are baffling...

The UR is about why Waze is recommending a longer route when common sense and experience say the normal/shorter route is fastest. I have isolated the problem to a route that is less than 2 KM long.

I understand that Waze often finds other routes which are indeed faster even though they wouldn't seem that way. However, in this case WME Route Speeds segment speeds and times both seem to support the shorter route, but the total trip time is way off. Curiously, the trip times are off by the same amount (in my specific example the shorter route is 63 seconds longer than the sum of the segments, and the longer route is exactly 63 seconds shorter).

Stated another way, the segment times from WME Route Speed don't add up to the total trip time from A to B, and by a significant amount. How is a difference of this magnitude possible?

Please take a look at the thread link above and see if you don't agree with me.

Thanks for your help!
Roy.
[ img ][ img ]
Area Manager: Ontario, primary area: Durham Region
Editing Resources: Waze Map Editor | Editing Best Practice | Editing in Canada
e-sarge
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:32 pm
Location: Oshawa, ON
Has thanked: 242 times
Been thanked: 58 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby ehcool68 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:07 am

I really appreciate Route Speeds! Lately I'm seeing HTTP 403 errors. Not sure if this is the cause, however in the URL the "Avoid Long Trails" option seems to be present all the time unless I check "Dirt(Unpaved)"
Capture.PNG
(7.01 KiB) Downloaded 237 times
:
ehcool68
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:41 am
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby fjsawicki » Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:20 pm

It's a little dated but we put together a video a couple of years ago to get our guys up to speed on using route speeds.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4DDvenkqVI
fjsawicki
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:28 am
Location: Tampa Bay
Has thanked: 187 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby foxitrot » Fri Jul 03, 2015 6:32 am

taco909 wrote:
Olestas wrote:Why some of segments started appearing with Question mark instead of speed rating?

Looks like it's always the 2nd to the last segment that the "B" node is placed on.

I've seen them as well.
Why?

Sent from a touch display, which took care of perfectly scrambling my thoughts.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7259
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2686 times
Been thanked: 1172 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby foxitrot » Fri Nov 27, 2015 9:19 pm

Olestas wrote:This script does not work in WME Beta. Can this be fixed? Probably it tries to access beta links or something in routes. Should be just moved to non beta links. Thanks.

This is not a new issue. IIRC from the far past, it was not able to access "www.waze.com/livemap" from a different server "editor-beta.waze.com/editor"

Sent from a touch display, which took care of perfectly scrambling my thoughts.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7259
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2686 times
Been thanked: 1172 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby foxitrot » Thu Jan 21, 2016 8:10 pm

Maybe I've just forgot it over the time, but I fail to see any way to stop the script displaying the routes, except the Disable script checkbox.

Could the Calculate route button turn into Hide routes, until any of the settings will change (what anyway results into the button flashing orange and the routes being recalculated & redisplayed)?

Sent from a touch display, which took care of perfectly scrambling my thoughts.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7259
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2686 times
Been thanked: 1172 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 7:09 pm

dummyd2 wrote:He's back with a new username (on greasyfork):
https://greasyfork.org/users/5745-fz69617

Thanks for sharing this!

I'm not the original author of the scripts, but I'll try to keep all of them up to date on Greasy Fork.

The author of all these scripts is wlodek76 who just gave me a permission to publish, and maintain further his left work.

As already pointed out, the WME Route Speed is working with latest version of WME thanks to tkr85.

All other wlodek76's scripts shall also work now.
In case of any problems just let me know. Thanks.
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:38 pm

Olestas wrote:Where does it get 5 routes from??

All routes comes from the Waze RoutingManager service. The same routing service is used by LiveMap, and (I presume) also by the client app. Number of routes is a parameter of the routing request to the service (LiveMap and client asks for 3 alternatives, the script allows to ask for up to 5 of them).

Olestas wrote:What is the possibility of such routes in real life?

Well, each of these alternatives can be suggested by Waze in real life. But, in fact, any other route can also be proposed depending on the actual situation on the roads.
Nevertheless, the routes presented are usually very likely (first one is the most) to become suggested to the user.
The script gives you some measures (like distance, time and average speed) for each route that may somehow indicate the probability of final selection of the routes. But these measures are not the only factors used by Waze routing algorithms. So, don't be surprised when Waze will sometimes propose a bit different routes in real life.
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:52 pm

I am pleased to announce that a new version 1.2.7 of the WME Route Speeds has been released today.

What's new:
  • Added "Avoid toll roads" routing option.
  • Added "Avoid freeways" routing option.
  • Added "Allow dirt roads" routing option.
With this release almost all of the client routing options can be examined in WME, except of the route type option (Fastest, or Shortest) for which I cannot guess a routing request parameter. I believe that the Fastest route type is a default.

Have fun! :)

EDIT:
I'm sorry, but a small error crept into the publication - a bug fix release, I hope correct this time ;) has version 1.2.7.1.
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:58 pm

New Year's gift to all editors! ;)

WME Route Speeds version 1.2.8 has been released today.

Change log:
  • New: Added "Route type" routing option. Finally. :)
  • New: Added "Try more" alternative routes option. With this experimental option enabled more route alternatives than specified by user will be requested from routing server.
  • Change: Controls' styling.
  • Improvement: Route list sorting.
  • Improvement: Route list selection can now be toggled.
  • Improvement: Better handling of route request errors.
  • Other: Minor code changes.

Hope you will enjoy this new version. :)

Happy New Year to all Wazers! :)
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jm6087, Mapman44, Mythdraug, n4dog