[Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby PesachZ » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:22 pm


That would be a crying shame, I truly appreciated this script, I hope it can be maintained.
And the author was very responsive, kept updating and adding features.

Sent using Tapatalk for Android 4.4.2
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4511
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC}
Has thanked: 1998 times
Been thanked: 2361 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby dBsooner » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:36 pm

I took a look at the script itself. Doesn't look too difficult to update. But he didn't disclose the license type in his script. So I don't know if it would be safe for someone to take it and continue editing or not. I am a decent programmer, but don't really know the Waze backend well enough to deal with a change like this. Maybe one of the other developers could assist?? :)

This script is amazing and would be a really big loss if it is not updated.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
• AM: Eastern Oklahoma, DFW, Southern Florida
• Wiki: WME | Editing Manual | Best Practices | FAQ | Places
• AT&T | iPhone XS Max | iOS 12 | Waze Latest Beta
dBsooner
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:53 pm
Location: Tulsa / Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, US
Has thanked: 362 times
Been thanked: 330 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby voludu2 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:49 am

I think the easiest way to get license to distribute and edit is to grab one of the open-development licenses like BSD 3-part or Mozilla, fill in the blanks, and ask the author for permission to insert this into his fileset appropriately (with explanation of what this would mean). Even include a sample copy of what the files look like with this new license statement included.

If he just withdrew the file because he is finding it too time-consuming to maintain, then he will probably agree. If he withdrew it because he is angry at waze or the waze community, then he will probably not agree.

With a license agreement in the file, it is safe to release it into the wild. If you put it on github or other collaborative open development site, many developers can submit code changes, which you can then approve.

Right now, I don't have any information because the author has deleted his posts and I have deleted my copy of the extension. I believe the author is polish.

[ img ]
USA Northeast Region Discord Chat
State Manager - Pennsylvania
Country Manager - USA and Thailand
Wiki Master, Global Mentor
utilitas, simplicitas, retentionis
voludu2
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 3057
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Chester County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 794 times
Been thanked: 1239 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Poncewattle » Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:02 pm

There's a lot of other reasons it could have been withdrawn. It appears to use a live map API interface which does not appear to be officially published by Waze that I can find. The only sanctioned API stuff I can find is just passing some address searching or routing queries from mobile apps to Waze and Waze is launched to handle it.
Poncewattle
State Manager: Delaware
Area Manager: Luray, VA : Bronx, NY
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
Poncewattle
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:00 am
Location: Virginia/Delaware, USA
Has thanked: 304 times
Been thanked: 185 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Olestas » Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:00 pm

We need this script back... If it was against some rules, Waze could have told this. I don't think they deleted user for this :D
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]

GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Country manager (Full coverage): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia/Ukraine
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6358
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3482 times
Been thanked: 2364 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby doctorkb » Wed Oct 01, 2014 4:36 pm

I've written to our Community Manager to find out if there is any Waze-oriented reason for this disappearance.

As for the license -- I wouldn't worry about it. Without anything in the code or documentation, I would say it's fair to assume it was public domain (or at least inasmuch as you don't profit directly from it). The worst case scenario is that he comes back and asks for you to cease and desist -- which you then do.

I've been trying to update it to get it to work, but haven't gotten as far as I'd like.
Waze Global Champ
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
doctorkb
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4249
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 639 times
Been thanked: 1671 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby dummyd2 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 4:44 pm

He's back with a new username (on greasyfork):
https://greasyfork.org/users/5745-fz69617
Dummyd2 AKA D2.
Retired - retraité de Waze
dummyd2
Experts
Experts
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:01 pm
Location: Mentoring Bordeaux + CUB, Lot-et-Garonne
Has thanked: 329 times
Been thanked: 1124 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby PesachZ » Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:17 pm

dummyd2 wrote:He's back with a new username (on greasyfork):
https://greasyfork.org/users/5745-fz69617

Does the script there work?

Sent using Tapatalk for Android 4.4.2
PesachZ
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 4511
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:51 am
Location: NY, USA (also NJ sometimes) {GC}
Has thanked: 1998 times
Been thanked: 2361 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby doctorkb » Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:35 pm

Not sure it's the same person. This has been added:
Code: Select all
/* Fix for new WME by tkr85 */


I've tested it and it appears to work. You may need to click the "disable" checkbox, then unclick it (I did).
Waze Global Champ
Country Manager: Canada
Area Manager: Edmonton, AB; Prince George, BC; Maui, HI; Georgetown, KY and various places in between
doctorkb
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4249
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:17 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 639 times
Been thanked: 1671 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Olestas » Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:24 pm

Omg, it works.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]

GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Country manager (Full coverage): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia/Ukraine
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6358
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3482 times
Been thanked: 2364 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users