[Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby sketch » Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:45 pm

Have you (1) selected a segment, and then (2) selected another segment at the same time?

I believe it is only active while the WME Route Speeds sidebar tab is open.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • beta leader • tier one • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6455
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Nouvelle-Orléans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Has thanked: 2077 times
Been thanked: 2562 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Jay91150 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:49 pm

Okay thanks! I get it now.
Jay91150
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:01 pm
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta, Canada
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Olestas » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:20 am

Where does it get 5 routes from?? What is the possibility of such routes in real life?
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
[size=100]
GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6363
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3492 times
Been thanked: 2369 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:38 pm

Olestas wrote:Where does it get 5 routes from??

All routes comes from the Waze RoutingManager service. The same routing service is used by LiveMap, and (I presume) also by the client app. Number of routes is a parameter of the routing request to the service (LiveMap and client asks for 3 alternatives, the script allows to ask for up to 5 of them).

Olestas wrote:What is the possibility of such routes in real life?

Well, each of these alternatives can be suggested by Waze in real life. But, in fact, any other route can also be proposed depending on the actual situation on the roads.
Nevertheless, the routes presented are usually very likely (first one is the most) to become suggested to the user.
The script gives you some measures (like distance, time and average speed) for each route that may somehow indicate the probability of final selection of the routes. But these measures are not the only factors used by Waze routing algorithms. So, don't be surprised when Waze will sometimes propose a bit different routes in real life.
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:12 am

FZ69617 wrote:The same routing service is used by LiveMap, and (I presume) also by the client app.

... in fact, any other route can also be proposed depending on the actual situation on the roads.... So, don't be surprised when Waze will sometimes propose a bit different routes in real life.

Good answers. However, I am not sure we know for sure that the routing service is the same. I would be surprised if it was different. We do know there are region-specific routing services, and multiple actual virtual routing servers which are spun up and down as load dictates. If a routing server has different data regarding live data, for example, it can give very odd/bad routes.

Also, the routing servers, do accept more parameters for routes than livemap. Such as highway/freeway avoidance, dirt roads, fastest/shortest routes, and toll road avoidance which currently are not available from livemap routing requests.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4860 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby Olestas » Wed Dec 10, 2014 8:40 am

Livemap and client are often different. And I really want livemap to have same routing options as client (dirt roads, highways, shortest, fastest).
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
[size=100]
GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6363
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3492 times
Been thanked: 2369 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:52 pm

I am pleased to announce that a new version 1.2.7 of the WME Route Speeds has been released today.

What's new:
  • Added "Avoid toll roads" routing option.
  • Added "Avoid freeways" routing option.
  • Added "Allow dirt roads" routing option.
With this release almost all of the client routing options can be examined in WME, except of the route type option (Fastest, or Shortest) for which I cannot guess a routing request parameter. I believe that the Fastest route type is a default.

Have fun! :)

EDIT:
I'm sorry, but a small error crept into the publication - a bug fix release, I hope correct this time ;) has version 1.2.7.1.
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby voludu2 » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:01 am

I have added information about this script to the wiki page at https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/Community_Pl ... Traffic.29

If this is not desirable, please undo my edit at https://wiki.waze.com/wiki/index.php?ti ... on=history
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
[ img ]
USA Northeast Region Discord Chat
Country Manager - USA and Thailand
Wiki Master, Global Mentor
utilitas, simplicitas, retentionis
voludu2
Map Editor - Level 5
Map Editor - Level 5
 
Posts: 3077
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:33 pm
Location: Chester County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 802 times
Been thanked: 1243 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby tonestertm » Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:41 am

I'm wondering if there is any way that, for a given day, the script could automatically find the slowest or fastest time for a given route?
[ img ]
ARC for SW Region, USA
US Local Champ, US Country Manager
The best editors Read the Wiki and read it often. Learn the proper way to handle URs. Don't draw another Place until you read this!
tonestertm
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:02 pm
Location: City of...um, Angels, CA, USA
Has thanked: 525 times
Been thanked: 898 times

Re: [Script] WME Route Speeds (Traffic)

Postby FZ69617 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:58 pm

New Year's gift to all editors! ;)

WME Route Speeds version 1.2.8 has been released today.

Change log:
  • New: Added "Route type" routing option. Finally. :)
  • New: Added "Try more" alternative routes option. With this experimental option enabled more route alternatives than specified by user will be requested from routing server.
  • Change: Controls' styling.
  • Improvement: Route list sorting.
  • Improvement: Route list selection can now be toggled.
  • Improvement: Better handling of route request errors.
  • Other: Minor code changes.

Hope you will enjoy this new version. :)

Happy New Year to all Wazers! :)
FZ69617
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:29 am
Location: Zielona Góra, Poland
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 237 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abusimbel16