[Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby davielde » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:01 pm

Version 0.5.2 has been released to GreasyFork:
https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/5138- ... ts-overlay

This version includes a small tweak to account for changes in road closures. Closures that have been added via a method that differs from the previous way that Waze handled closures provide the actual start time of the closure instead of refreshing every few minutes. Exciting, no?

As a result, the new version of LMAO removes the gradual, fading transparency for closures as they age (but still maintains it for other report types). It also now displays the duration in minutes, hours, or days as appropriate.

[ img ][ img ]
[ img ]
CM: USA
SM: Michigan, Vermont
AM: Ann Arbor, MI & Thunder Bay, ON
WME Michigan
davielde
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 2:01 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 461 times
Been thanked: 759 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby Glodenox » Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:24 pm

Hey, I just wanted to mention that this script no longer works on the current version of Firefox. The reason for this is the code in the bootstrap function. None of that code still does something nowadays and since the latest release of Firefox the Components object is no longer available. Simply removing the bootstrap function and setting the time-out to the initializeLiveMapAlerts function makes the script work fine again.

I'm kind of surprised to see that this script still works so well after a year and a half of no updates :)
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 499 times
Been thanked: 1180 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby steveinark » Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:19 pm

Not real familiar with editing scripts. I can edit (blindly), text, etc. But have little background on what I'm doing, LOL.

I have the script on Chrome and its works fine. But I use FF primarily ... loaded up with the better scripts, as my main editing browser. So I'd like to get this working with FF:

- I left the the bootstrap heading, but removed all the code from the bootstrap function. Except the
initializeLiveMapAlerts function within that block area. It has a setting of "999" for the time.

Could you "detail" the changes needed, just a little more ... .dumbing it down to my level, LOL! :D

Steve
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby Glodenox » Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:32 pm

Haha, no problem :)

The only changes I've made to make it work again is change the bootstrapLiveMapAlerts() function to:
Code: Select all
function bootstrapLiveMapAlerts()
{   
    setTimeout(initializeLiveMapAlerts, 999);
}


That is the only thing I needed to do to make the script work on Firefox.
I also added something myself to prevent the script from constantly retrieving the livemap information even if the map layer with that information is hidden. I added this bit of code after the line that says "function getLiveMapAlerts(){":
Code: Select all
    if (!LiveMapAlerts_Layer.getVisibility()) {
        return;
    }
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 499 times
Been thanked: 1180 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby steveinark » Wed Apr 27, 2016 8:22 pm

Thanks. That got it working. Picture worth a thousand words, LOL!

Steve
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 469 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby Timbones » Mon May 09, 2016 9:54 pm

Could this script maybe also show comments and thumbs up from users?
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Global Wiki Moderator • Routing Expert
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6921
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 1028 times
Been thanked: 2900 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby Glodenox » Tue May 10, 2016 7:50 am

I'll reply because I don't think the script author is still active on the forums: it could, but I fear that the pop-up window will become too small rather quickly. The information retrieved from the server contains that data already, but just isn't displayed.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 499 times
Been thanked: 1180 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby MatthewStarbuck » Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:23 am

Well sadly I think that it has died for me on Chrome which honestly frustrates me. I really enjoyed having this as it prevented me having to load additional windows when narrowing down closures especially while at work.


Can you maybe check out what changed Glodenox?

:/ Sigh.
- Matthew
R3: USA
Commonwealth of Virginia
MatthewStarbuck
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:05 am
Location: James City County, Virginia, United States
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby Glodenox » Fri Jul 08, 2016 11:17 pm

Hey there, I was off to Berlin for a holiday and therefore didn't find any time to look into this any sooner. The issue is that the location of the map problem information has changed. The following changes should fix this:

Around line 50:
Code: Select all
    switch(server){
        case 'usa':
           var routingURL = '//www.waze.com/rtserver/web/TGeoRSS';
             break;
        case 'row':
           var routingURL = '//www.waze.com/row-rtserver/web/TGeoRSS';
            break;
        case 'il':
             var routingURL = '//www.waze.com/il-rtserver/web/TGeoRSS';
            break;
        default:
            var routingURL = '//www.waze.com/rtserver/web/TGeoRSS';
    };

4 times GeoRSS -> TGeoRSS

Around line 82:
Code: Select all
    var data = {
      left: alertBounds.left,
      right: alertBounds.right,
      bottom: alertBounds.top,
      top: alertBounds.bottom
    };

We don't need the format or data types any more now, apparently.

I've made some other changes myself, but those shouldn't have an impact here.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 499 times
Been thanked: 1180 times

Re: [Script] WME LiveMap Alerts Overlay

Postby iainhouse » Mon Jul 11, 2016 10:56 pm

AdreNalinGuY wrote:Like there isn't enough junk on the map already. I need to bring in this alerts that are irellevant to map editing. Sorry, just my opinion.

Your opinion might, perhaps, be better expressed by simply not installing this script. Plainly others do not feel the same, since over 600 people have installed this script.

If you have some constructive ideas as to how the script might be improved, I'm sure that would be welcome. Otherwise, comments like yours are not very nice for a script author to read when they have donated their time and effort to produce something to help other editors. Please be nice to the script authors.
[ img ][ img ][ img ]
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 10045
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 2606 times
Been thanked: 8172 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot]