[Script] WME PlaceNames

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:04 pm

Suggest either a different word, or no name at all, for Places which do not have a name. Script currently displays, "NaN" which is technically kind of correct.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 14, 2014 4:30 pm

ragacs wrote:I didn't meet with NaN string yet, so it might be a browser incompatibility. It should display simply nothing for places without a name. What is your configuration?
(Browser type and version, Tampermonkey/Greasemonkey used or not, maybe the OS version.)

Win7, Chrome 38.0.2125.104, Tampermonkey 3.9.

Example: https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... 217.177569

It looks like there is a single space (or other whitespace character) in the Name field.
Attachments
noname_cemetery_NaN.png
(348.63 KiB) Downloaded 6346 times
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:50 pm

ragacs wrote:These are fixed in v0.4. Please update and try it!
Thanks for all your suggestions and support.

Looks good.

Next request: remember the state of the layer on/off between page loads. If I turn Place Names layer off, then reload the browser window, they turn back on. It should load in the same state I left it.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:13 pm

Request: Do not highlight Private/Residential Places as they should have no name.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:33 pm

We really need something to highlight private Places which have no number. Something like venue.attributes.residential && (venue.attributes.houseNumber is empty)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:11 pm

Issue/bug: With landmarks which curve, the Place Name may not be within the landmark bounds itself. I'd like to see this updated. Ex: https://www.waze.com/editor/?env=usa&lo ... 950.563573
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Nov 27, 2014 1:09 am

ragacs wrote:We definitely need an extra option for the labels (or smarter placing)... in the Waze app itself.

Yeah, I understand the difficulty here. Just thinking... Could you do a comparison of the area the actual Place uses compared to the smallest rectangle it fits in, and if it is below a certain threshold, like 50% or something maybe, then put the label at the location of the stop point, otherwise put it at the center as it is now. ?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:56 pm

ragacs wrote:
nzahn1 wrote:Not seeing Place names in WME. Maybe due to the layer menu toggle being hidden.

Fixed, check v0.80.

Took me a moment to realize that the PlaceNames menu item is now under Places. An appropriate place for it, of course, but is different from before. I also didn't bother to read any update details, so probably my own fault. :mrgreen:
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:09 pm

With the proliferation of Places, so many so close, I'd welcome to have the option to hide the actual pins/areas of Places which do not match my filter criteria.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Re: [Script] WME PlaceNames

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:55 pm

I personally would also welcome a case-insensitive filter.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23624
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1112 times
Been thanked: 4869 times

Next

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JustinS83, Mythdraug, n4dog, The_Cre8r