Get a sneak peek at whats next for Permanent Hazards on our April 7th Office Hours!
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Post Reply
Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

[Script] WME Street View Availability (1.0.1)

Post by
WME userscript that shows where you can expect to find Street View imagery. The information provided is quite basic, but this is all that is readily available to show.
Additionally, this script shows the month on which this Street View imagery was acquired.

How to use
https://tomputtemans.com/waze-scripts/i ... w-drag.jpg

Whenever you drag the Street View marker in the map editor, blue lines indicating where Street View imagery is available will appear. It is also possible to bring up these lines with the keyboard shortcut Shift+T.

If you wish to modify how transparent the lines are, you can use this bookmarklet with version 0.3 to change your preference (default: 100% visible):

Code: Select all

javascript:localStorage.WME_StreetViewAvailability=JSON.stringify({opacity:prompt('Give a percentage between 0 and
100',100)/100});W.map.getLayersByName('Street View')[0].setOpacity(JSON.parse(localStorage.WME_StreetViewAvailability).opacity);
Installation instructions
> TL;DR: install as most other WME userscripts from Greasy Fork: INSTALL USERSCRIPT

Userscripts are snippets of code that are executed after the loading of certain webpages. This script does this after the loading of the Waze Map Editor. In order to run userscripts in your browser, you are adviced to use Firefox or Google Chrome.

You will need to install an add-on that manages userscripts for this to work. There's TamperMonkey for Firefox and Chrome.

These add-ons will be visible in the browser with an additional button that is visible to the right of the address bar. Through this button it will be possible to maintain any userscripts you install.

For WME Street View Availability, you should be able to install the script at Greasy Fork. There will be a big green install button which you will have to press to install the script.
When installing userscripts always pay attention to the site(s) on which the script runs. This script only runs on Waze.com, so other sites will not be affected in any way.

After installing a userscript, you will be able to find it working on the site(s) specified. Do note that if you had the page open before installing the userscript, you will first need to refresh the page.

TamperMonkey will occasionally check for new versions of these scripts. You will get a notification when a new version has been found and installed.

Feedback and suggestions
Any issues found can be reported in this forum or directly on the GitHub project page.
 
 

POSTER_ID:17118915

1

Send a message
Last edited by Glodenox on Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:18 pm, edited 19 times in total.

Post by Inactive user -1687853372-
Glodenox wrote:I've tried to get Shift+T working again, but I seem to be overlooking something at the moment. I'll have a stab at this again later on.
Hello Glodenox, great script,

have you tried to get shift+T working ? It will be very useful
Inactive user -1687853372-
Posts: 328
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Send a message

Post by altabad
Wow .. just it works.

It's a great script thank you very much, it helps a lot in the time to look SV available.
altabad
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
Posts: 131
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 62 times
Send a message

Post by AndyLaode
it is a very good script

i wonder if it too much to ask.

is it possible to check street view availability without having street view window open?


currently my work around is to right click the street view button on chrome, click inspect,

and change this one

Code: Select all

<div class="street-view-control" data-original-title="" title="" style="display: block;"></div>
and set the display to none..

by doing that i am able to browse the map with this script on without having the street view window open.
AndyLaode
Posts: 808
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 242 times
Send a message
andylaode (andylaode@outlook.com)
okay, mate, see you on the road and on the map too, cheers

Post by AndyLaode
Glodenox wrote:An alternative solution would be this bookmarklet that toggles the visibility of the layer:

Code: Select all

javascript:(function(){var l = Waze.map.getLayersByName('Street View Availability')[0]; l.setVisibility(!l.getVisibility());})();
As a more permanent solution I could make it so that the layer gets shown in the list of layers in the dropdown menu in the top right, but then I'll need to think about what should happen when the street view window is closed. Do I hide the layer again? Do I keep it open because it was opened manually in the layers box? I'll also need to make sure the layer is visible again when you refresh the window.
But all that isn't that difficult any more. I've done that in other scripts before.

gees, Tom...

you are the best

thank you for the bookmarklet. it works like a charm
AndyLaode
Posts: 808
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 242 times
Send a message
andylaode (andylaode@outlook.com)
okay, mate, see you on the road and on the map too, cheers

Post by AndyLaode
hi glodenox

pls visit this permalink

1. Assuming you already have WME SVA, then please Open the street view
2. go to the node B and then go the south east by following the street view picture
3. after node B, you will see that the blue line is not there but the street view continue giving the picture....

what is that?

haven't check from google yet

best,
andy
AndyLaode
Posts: 808
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 242 times
Send a message
andylaode (andylaode@outlook.com)
okay, mate, see you on the road and on the map too, cheers

Post by AndyLaode
I see.. so the blue line actually comes from google and the same issue also appears in google maps?

thanks for explanation
AndyLaode
Posts: 808
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 242 times
Send a message
andylaode (andylaode@outlook.com)
okay, mate, see you on the road and on the map too, cheers

Post by bedo2991
It seems to be broken again @Glodenox
bedo2991
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
Posts: 2379
Answers: 2
Has thanked: 235 times
Been thanked: 625 times
Send a message

Post by brujofav
Hello everyone,

Does anyone have information if they have found a solution to the TB problem? It does not work to select whole street, multiple selector (M), and many more. This is causing many inconveniences. :?

Not only the problem is in the WME, other scripts are presenting problems or have stopped working
brujofav
Posts: 703
Has thanked: 199 times
Been thanked: 295 times
Send a message

Post by dinohoo
Glodenox wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 12:10 pm Coming straight to you from the EMEA meetup in Lisbon, Portugal: a new version of the script that detects Street View mode in a different way. Basically, whenever the Street View button is active ( = blue), the layer should activate automatically. I think I've covered all cases with this, but I didn't get to do a very thorough testing here.

The issue you've encountered was caused by Waze removing and re-adding the control buttons on the right. Whenever that happened, the script assumed that the button was being dragged and that it had to display the Street View lines.

 
Is it just me, or the issue returned after a few days of updating? On v1.0.1 and my hack is to turn on and off the script in the Layers menu. 
 
dinohoo
Area Manager
Area Manager
Posts: 76
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Send a message
dinohoo 🇲🇾
Volunteer Map Editor

State Manager:
Malaysia
Pulau Pinang
Johor

Malaysia Editing guidelines


Area Manager:
New Zealand
Christchurch Area, Canterbury


Beta Tester - RBS, WME, iOS & Android
Waze Product Expert

Waze Malaysia SocMed|Waze NZ Facebook|Telegram
https://s.waze.tools/c4.png
https://s.waze.tools/sm.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/mntr.png
https://s.waze.tools/betc.png
https://s.waze.tools/beta.png
https://s.waze.tools/s0050.png
https://s.waze.tools/p0050.png

Post by dinohoo
Glodenox wrote: Sun Mar 10, 2024 9:20 am I personally haven't run into the bug again yet. It should now only trigger when the Street View button turns blue. So any issues should only happen if that button turns blue without Street View active.

If you can tell me how you're able to trigger this issue, I'd love to investigate it further.
 

 
Just the same as before, happens after a save when GSV is on. Able to reproduce every time. Apologies, should've included this info in my initial post.
dinohoo
Area Manager
Area Manager
Posts: 76
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Send a message
dinohoo 🇲🇾
Volunteer Map Editor

State Manager:
Malaysia
Pulau Pinang
Johor

Malaysia Editing guidelines


Area Manager:
New Zealand
Christchurch Area, Canterbury


Beta Tester - RBS, WME, iOS & Android
Waze Product Expert

Waze Malaysia SocMed|Waze NZ Facebook|Telegram
https://s.waze.tools/c4.png
https://s.waze.tools/sm.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/mntr.png
https://s.waze.tools/betc.png
https://s.waze.tools/beta.png
https://s.waze.tools/s0050.png
https://s.waze.tools/p0050.png