[Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, JustinS83, Glodenox

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JoeRodriguez12 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:42 pm

JustinS83 wrote:Update released - 0.8.01

Added a Parking lot button option that will display the (P) symbol on Places and aid in the creation of single-business-single-lot PLAs.

When this is clicked, it will start creation mode for a PLA. When the creation is complete the name & address will be copied to the new PLA. The name format will be "Parking - {Place name}" to match the PLA guidance in the wiki for single-business-single-lot PLAs.

Screenshot - 3_27_2017 , 3_19_26 PM.png


That is very helpful with the recent MP surge. Thank you Justin!!
CM: USA
Area Manager: MI, MN & OR
GLR Collaboration Liaison - Waze Socks Guy
iOS Beta Leader / CarPlay Tester / RBS

[ img ][ img ][ img ] [ img ][ img ]
Welcome Page
Illinois Michigan
Illinois Waze Facebook Illinois Waze Twitter
JoeRodriguez12
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2016 6:05 pm
Location: Chicago
Has thanked: 156 times
Been thanked: 232 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby steveinark » Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:04 pm

Agree. The new button, with pre-filled name/address is really an aid with adding PLAs quicker. The entire script is a great help. Thanks.
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 449 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:49 pm

Love the added button, the HN number is populating but the street name and city do not for some reason. Am I missing something?
jm6087
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 503 times
Been thanked: 1202 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby steveinark » Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:03 am

It populates the full name, and full address here, when drawing and saving the PLA. If they exist in the place point.
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 449 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:26 am

steveinark wrote:It populates the full name, and full address here, when drawing and saving the PLA. If they exist in the place point.


I think I figured it out, it is not getting street name and city from the place, it appears to be getting from nearest segment. I tested by selecting just the city in the below screen shot and HN and City only populated.

[ img ]

I have not tested on a place with no street name or city to see if it still populates.
jm6087
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 503 times
Been thanked: 1202 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby steveinark » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:08 am

For a standard, new, independent point place, I agree. (not new PLA).

But since a distinct point place is selected, and the PLA is generated in regards to that place, I thought all data was pulled from the PP. We know that the NAME is pulled from the PP. For ones with a HN/Street/City, that showed up in the new PLA. For ones with no HN, but had the Street and City, that is all that was populated. Obviously, I'm assuming that, LOL!

Might be the data is from the PP, BUT alternatively pulled from closest segment when not available from the PP. ?? I'll do some testing too when I get back home from this trip, unless the author clears it up before then. :D
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 449 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:13 pm

steveinark wrote:For a standard, new, independent point place, I agree. (not new PLA).

But since a distinct point place is selected, and the PLA is generated in regards to that place, I thought all data was pulled from the PP. We know that the NAME is pulled from the PP. For ones with a HN/Street/City, that showed up in the new PLA. For ones with no HN, but had the Street and City, that is all that was populated. Obviously, I'm assuming that, LOL!

Might be the data is from the PP, BUT alternatively pulled from closest segment when not available from the PP. ?? I'll do some testing too when I get back home from this trip, unless the author clears it up before then. :D


Standalone PLAs will use the closest segment setting.

When created from a Place, it will/can only pull the address from the Place that it was generated from.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 2312 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby steveinark » Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:37 pm

Thanks for the confirmation. That answered the questions.
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 449 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:21 am

Thanks for the clarification. I can confirm that these must be checked in order for it to pull the Street Name and City from the Place.

[ img ]

If they are not checked, the Street Name and City are left blank.
jm6087
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 503 times
Been thanked: 1202 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:54 pm

jm6087 wrote:Thanks for the clarification. I can confirm that these must be checked in order for it to pull the Street Name and City from the Place.

[ img ]

If they are not checked, the Street Name and City are left blank.


Had problems reproducing...until I realized I had already fixed this and just forgot to push the update :oops:

Should be fixed now :)
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 2312 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gsansone, whathappened15