[Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, JustinS83, Glodenox

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:42 pm

JustinS83 wrote:Had problems reproducing...until I realized I had already fixed this and just forgot to push the update

Should be fixed now


Thanks, I was beginning to think it was just me
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 509 times
Been thanked: 1224 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:50 am

Request: When making a new PLA, is it possible to have the Primary Lot Type set to "Restricted"?

IMO this should be the Waze default setting, as the massive majority of parking lots are privately owned and provided for access to certain businesses. True public lots are not very common, but if you leave this option unselected, those PLAs display in the app as public (blue "P").
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 470 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:11 am

SeveriorumPatrem wrote:Request: When making a new PLA, is it possible to have the Primary Lot Type set to "Restricted"?

IMO this should be the Waze default setting, as the massive majority of parking lots are privately owned and provided for access to certain businesses. True public lots are not very common, but if you leave this option unselected, those PLAs display in the app as public (blue "P").


Additional requests: When making a PLA for a new PLA that is for a single business, it would be nice to copy the URL, Phone Number and Hours from the existing place if they exist.
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 509 times
Been thanked: 1224 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:26 pm

Update released - 0.8.03

New PLAs will copy the phone number & url from the selected Place. The parking type will be set to Restricted by default.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1293
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 329 times
Been thanked: 2318 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JoshJMM » Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:32 pm

I like it, no more having to tab over and select it... thanks.
JoshJMM
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:22 pm

Outstanding!! Thank you!!
Last edited by SeveriorumPatrem on Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 470 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:27 pm

JustinS83 wrote:Update released - 0.8.03

New PLAs will copy the phone number & url from the selected Place. The parking type will be set to Restricted by default.


Outstanding, this will make working the PLAs that much easier :D

Maybe you can have it also draw the PLA around the correct parking lot while you are at it :lol: One can dream
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 509 times
Been thanked: 1224 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:37 pm

Just curious if copying the hours across is under consideration or is it even possible.
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 509 times
Been thanked: 1224 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby sketch » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:59 pm

jm6087 wrote:Just curious if copying the hours across is under consideration or is it even possible.

I had a conversation somewhere, sometime, about whether or not we actually want to do this. If someone navigates to a store before they open, perhaps someone who works there or someone who wants to get there when doors open, we don't want the parking lot to not show up just because it's marked as "closed". If access to the parking lot is not physically blocked when the store is closed, then it should not be "closed" IMO.

Also, I'm really not sure copying the phone number and URL are necessary or even desirable. It's another set of data to maintain, and data that if you need you'll get from the Place itself.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • usa country manager • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6404
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Nouvelle-Orléans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Has thanked: 1987 times
Been thanked: 2491 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:17 pm

sketch wrote:Also, I'm really not sure copying the phone number and URL are necessary or even desirable. It's another set of data to maintain, and data that if you need you'll get from the Place itself.


I am quickly changing my opinion on phone/URL and hours from PP. I am still on the fence for the hours since these are dedicated PLAs for a single business and you make a valid point.
The phone/URL now actually makes no sense to me to include based off of conversations I have followed and I would not be disappointed if they stopped copying over.
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 509 times
Been thanked: 1224 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mvan231, reuvenirony