[Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, JustinS83, Glodenox

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:29 pm

jm6087 wrote:
sketch wrote:Also, I'm really not sure copying the phone number and URL are necessary or even desirable. It's another set of data to maintain, and data that if you need you'll get from the Place itself.


I am quickly changing my opinion on phone/URL and hours from PP. I am still on the fence for the hours since these are dedicated PLAs for a single business and you make a valid point.
The phone/URL now actually makes no sense to me to include based off of conversations I have followed and I would not be disappointed if they stopped copying over.


After talking about it some, I am going to disable copying of the phone and url.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 2313 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:18 pm

jm6087 wrote:After talking about it some, I am going to disable copying of the phone and url.


Sounds good, thanks for giving it a try and seeing how it would work out.
jm6087
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3029
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 1212 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:41 pm

Update released - 0.8.04

Removed copying the phone and URL to PLAs when using the PLA button.

Per request - added the ability to create the suggested PLA from missing PLA MPs. Carefully review the suggested size/geometry before using! This will not be appropriate for some/many PLAs but will hopefully make it easier for some.

The Create Suggested PLA button will only appear for missing PLA MPs, and only if you click on the MP - sorry, not sure how to detect one being selected when using the next button.

Only MP type 71 is supported - the one with the description: "If there's a parking lot around these parking-lot-road segments, create one on the map. Entry point should be marked at the lot entrance."

MP type 70 is also a Missing Parking Lot Place MP, but its description is as follows and merely copies the geometry of the Place it is associated with, which in 100% of the cases I checked, was very, very wrong: "Drivers tend to park around this location. If there's a parking lot here, create one on the map. Entry point should be marked at the lot entrance."


Screenshot - 4_5_2017 , 11_33_07 AM.jpg
(71.42 KiB) Downloaded 393 times
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 2313 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:06 pm

To cool, thanks for the enhancement to your script
jm6087
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3029
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 1212 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:00 pm

Update released - 0.9.00

Added the ability to display Place names - configurable to display point, area and the lock level.

To prevent overloading the screen and causing excess lag, names will not be display below zoom 5 (default zoom where Places start showing).

Using the same styling as the Place Name script since that seems to be acceptable to everyone thus far.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 2313 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JoshJMM » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:07 pm

JoshJMM
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby jm6087 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:25 pm

JustinS83 wrote:Update released - 0.9.00

Added the ability to display Place names - configurable to display point, area and the lock level.

To prevent overloading the screen and causing excess lag, names will not be display below zoom 5 (default zoom where Places start showing).

Using the same styling as the Place Name script since that seems to be acceptable to everyone thus far.


Looks good, the font can be difficult to read at times but I think it would be tough to figure out a font color since to much variety in Sat View colors.
jm6087
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3029
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 1212 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby RussPA » Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:52 pm

The place display is nice, thanks for that! Is it possible to have area place names display at a higher zoom level? I can scan an area for shopping centers, parks, and larger places like that at zoom 2 or 3. Having to zoom in to 5 can be tough. If lag time is an issue, maybe limit to zoom 3. Thanks.
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ] [ img ]
Assistant Regional Coordinator - NOR
Local Champ - US
WME Beta Community Coordinator
RussPA
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 331 times
Been thanked: 977 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:39 pm

Update released - 0.9.02

Area places will display the name down to zoom 3

RPPs will now display the HN. If the RPP happens to have a name set, that will be displayed after the HN.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 2313 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby RussPA » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:50 pm

Thank you, this is great!
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ] [ img ]
Assistant Regional Coordinator - NOR
Local Champ - US
WME Beta Community Coordinator
RussPA
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2498
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 331 times
Been thanked: 977 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users