[Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.0)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby darossi1982 » Wed May 03, 2017 11:36 pm

It's great, tk

Enviado desde mi HUAWEI Y600-U351 mediante Tapatalk
darossi1982
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1043
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:01 am
Location: Mompox, Bol.
Has thanked: 4257 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby iainhouse » Wed May 03, 2017 11:49 pm

Glodenox wrote:
iainhouse wrote:Would it be possible to add some buttons for finer adjustments to the image size when aligning it?

The buttons already allow for finer adjustments the more you are zoomed in :) They basically scale with the zoom level of the map. Only the rotation buttons keep working in multiples of 0.5 degrees at all times. I've tried several small and big images and that always worked well enough. It's not always possible to have a 100% match, but it should be good enough to draw roads or add places.

iainhouse wrote:An opacity slider or control during alignment might be useful too. :mrgreen:

An opacity slider already becomes available in the image overlays tab after you've selected an image to align. Perhaps you moved to another tab and didn't notice it that way? I decided to leave the opacity slider and parent map selector there as they were already present there for later adjustments.


Right on both counts (you I mean, not me!). :mrgreen:

I've already had an opportunity to use it twice "in anger" and it was very helpful. I discovered, as you say, that the size adjustment scales with the map zoom, so that works perfectly. I assumed the opacity slider was only operative for attached images but, now you've told me, I can also see that works perfectly.

I can't think of any way to improve it. Thank you very much. :D
[ img ][ img ][ img ]
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 10035
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 2604 times
Been thanked: 8167 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby kahlcolimon » Wed May 03, 2017 11:50 pm

Great help. This works very well in both (Beta and Prod).
Kahl Colimon
Waze Colombia Coordinator
Waze Local Champ/Country Manager
App Beta Leader/WME Beta Tester

[ img ][ img ]
kahlcolimon
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 2594
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Has thanked: 767 times
Been thanked: 2026 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Twister-UK » Thu May 04, 2017 12:43 pm

Sounds good - I'll have to give it a try and see how much time it saves compared with my usual workflow of screengrabbing the section of WME I'm about to edit, pasting this and the site plan image into GIMP, scaling/rotating/aligning the latter to fit the former, then aligning the GIMP window with the browser window and finally alt-TABbing between the two like an old-school animator flicking between two frames to check one against the other as I start adding in the new roads...

...I suspect the answer will be "quite a lot"!
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork and Chrome Web Store


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 590 times
Been thanked: 3373 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Glodenox » Thu May 04, 2017 12:47 pm

The only thing the script currently doesn't allow is stretching images in a horizontal or vertical way only. But I'm not certain whether I should try to add that as such images generally can't be relied on to accurately draw roads on the map.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 497 times
Been thanked: 1180 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Twister-UK » Thu May 04, 2017 2:54 pm

In that case, if I get some time over the next few days, I'll try replicating the above workflow in some of the recent areas I've used it, to see if the script can do everything I'd need of it, as not being able to alter the aspect ratio of the overlaid image could be a dealbreaker for me.

It's frequently the case that the site plans I work from aren't always provided in the correct ratio for use in WME. Whether this is because they've been derived from a map which used a different projection method to WME, or whether it's because the version made publically available has gone through so many conversion and formatting steps that the ratio has been altered deliberately/coincidentally, I wouldn't like to say, but it does happen.
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork and Chrome Web Store


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 590 times
Been thanked: 3373 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby juanfelipep » Thu May 04, 2017 3:06 pm

Amazing! Thanks Glodenox
Pipe Piedrahita
Waze Global Champ/Partner Coordinator/Mentor/Raid Leader 8-)
Colombia / Ecuador CM
Email: juanfelipep@gmail.com
[ img ] [ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
juanfelipep
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 1:25 pm
Location: Bello
Has thanked: 476 times
Been thanked: 885 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Twister-UK » Thu May 04, 2017 9:41 pm

First real-world test was largely most promising, although I'd echo Iain's request for finer control over the scaling control. Even zooming in further, the scaling steps were a bit too large, so I think halving the step size for each zoom level would be beneficial, or maybe provide a "fine/coarse" toggle control so we can switch between step sizes?


Also, when running WME in UK English, the script localisations are broken - line 172 needs a minor tweak to fix this:

Code: Select all
om_strings['en-GB'] = om_strings['en-US'] = om_strings.en;



Once an image has been attached, would it be possible to allow further editing of it (beyond its name)? Could be useful if we've started the process of getting an image lined up but don't have time to finish the fine-tuning in that edit session and need to come back to finish off later...


I couldn't remember which recent site it was where the plan aspect ratio was screwed up, so I'll keep the request for aspect ratio adjustment in my back pocket for now, but I'm certain it will come up again sooner or later, so just be prepared for it ;)
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork and Chrome Web Store


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 590 times
Been thanked: 3373 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Glodenox » Fri May 05, 2017 8:03 am

Has the English (GB) identifier changed again then? :( At least it's consistent now. I'll get it fixed later today.

I could provide a sensitivity slider below the controls, though I've always seen those controls as a temporary solution anyway. My current train of thought is to add handles to the image that allow you to resize/rotate/transform it, but make the buttons show up in a corner of the map whenever you've zoomed in on the image so much that you can't use those handles any more to adjust the image. I know that it's possible to implement this and mostly know how to do it. I just need to check how practical it would be to use.

I had thought about adjusting the image after it has been attached, but I couldn't find any often occurring use case that warrants the changes in the work flow that would be needed. Allowing adjustments later on would also make it slightly harder for me to implement an alternative way of aligning the image to the map, but I'd rather not talk about that yet before I've actually tried it out.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1031
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 497 times
Been thanked: 1180 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby AquaZR1 » Fri May 05, 2017 2:42 pm

This is an awesome script. Was able to use it to set up a new subdivision easily. Thank you for doing this!

Cheers!
[ img ][ img ]
Steve
AM - Southern Central Valley, CA
AM - Kauai, HI
AquaZR1
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Has thanked: 144 times
Been thanked: 54 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron