Page 61 of 77

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:25 am
by RolandDeschain79
dbcm wrote:Hi Roland, the segments have a little difference of their positioning and when Magic calculates if they intersect, they do.


If you move a little the node (you can put it back after) WME will recalculate the new positions and the problem will go away.

I'm not sure if it's a thing or Magic should ignore this scenario... will think about it.


Ok that makes sense. My confusion was that every time I have seen the issue the segment is already attached to a common node / junction. Moving the junction does resolve the Magic highlighting as I assume that updates the point on point segments to be the same.

Maybe Magic is already doing this (or maybe it's not possible w/ the API WME exposes) but can you tell that the segments are attached via a common node / junction?

Although maybe the difference in positions is a valid problem...

Either way Magic is awesome so keep up the excellent work :mrgreen:

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2020 5:22 pm
by ropaswan
AndyLaode wrote:to author: is there any plan to indicate which junction that has problem for magic indication geometry node too close and no connection in the coming future?


I didn't see any reply, so just wanted to add my own opinion... MAGIC is the #1 script that I use and I greatly appreciate all the work that has been done. There are lots of ''geometry node too close'' highlights in well covered areas as well as basemaps, some of the segments are very long with hundreds of geo nodes. Since the script knows where the offending nodes are, it would save hours of work if it could highlight the offending nodes (in an obvious color) in addition to highlighting the segment.

Thanks for the consideration!!

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:36 pm
by rschalie
I think I still need some help. I've installed the script (see attached screen capture), but I don't see anything happening. Is there something extra I should do? The forum posts tells me how to install, but not how to use.

T.i.a.

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:02 pm
by rschalie
I'd love to, but I do not see how to get to the configuration. Probably obvious once you know it, but not self-explanatory!

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:11 pm
by rschalie
Thanks. But you'll have to agree that to the uninitiated that's not really obvious.

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:48 pm
by rschalie
Another thing, more content: A lot of notifications on missing names are referring to bits of water or lines of trees. All those bits of water (ponds, ditches) and trees simply don't have names, so would it be possible to relax this requirement a bit?

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:57 pm
by russblau
Justin,

One thing that Validator did pretty well but Magic doesn't (yet) was to find segments that looked like they intersect but actually don't (for example, where a newbie has created a new segment but couldn't attach it to the locked street nearby, so just left the node sitting as close as possible to the locked segment). Is there any chance this feature could be added at some point?

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:54 pm
by russblau
Is there any way to "whitelist" a particular road name so that the "Normalize roads" warning isn't triggered? WME Magic wants me to "normalize" the name of Old Route 22 to "Old NY-22"; but that is not correct. The actual name of the street is "Old Route 22"; it is a local street, not a state highway.

Plus, I don't understand why "Normalize roads" is a red "CRITICAL" item anyway; to me, it is a low priority issue (unless it is causing incorrect navigation instructions to users).

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:29 pm
by RussPA
When you click on the Magic tab, you'll see check boxes along the left side that you can enable/disable various items. If you have none checked, you can click the "All" on each colored header to check the boxes, then you should see something.

Re: [Script] WMEMagic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:00 pm
by RussPA
Be8el0ve wrote:Ever since updating to version 1.0.126 a few days ago, Magic has stopped working for me in the United States. You now get a ton of errors in the console. Please fix! I love your script. Thanks!

The post 3 posts above yours has the link to the solution until Magic is fixed by the author.