[Script] WME HN NavPoints

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:16 am

russblau wrote:
MajkiiTelini wrote:Define overlap.

Two (or more) HNs at precisely the same coordinates.


This condition occurs by design virtually all the time in cul-de-sacs, so there will be a significant number of false positives.
Capture.JPG
(51.96 KiB) Downloaded 115 times


Is it not enough to visually notice when a bunch of attachment lines converge on a single point where they shouldn't?
Capture1.JPG
(41.47 KiB) Downloaded 119 times
Capture2.JPG
(75.56 KiB) Downloaded 118 times


And as for the original request prompting this discussion - closely-spaced HNs that aren't precisely stacked on top of each other - that can also exist by design when there are a bunch of street-facing units piled close together in real life, so even if some level of logic was developed to detect close-spaced HNs, there might be more false positives where nothing is wrong.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 491 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby JustinS83 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:38 am

dchary2418 wrote:Can it be possible to detect HN overlaps as is found here? There are several in this case

hnoverlap.JPG

hnoverlap2.JPG


I added this in the (now defunct) HN Tool script and it is quite resource intensive.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 335 times
Been thanked: 2332 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby Olestas » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:15 am

When we will be able to see house numbers themselves? Please?
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]

GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Country manager (Full coverage): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia/Ukraine
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6327
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3464 times
Been thanked: 2354 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby russblau » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:59 pm

SeveriorumPatrem wrote:
russblau wrote:
MajkiiTelini wrote:Define overlap.

Two (or more) HNs at precisely the same coordinates.


This condition occurs by design virtually all the time in cul-de-sacs, so there will be a significant number of false positives.
Capture.JPG


No, what you have identified is multiple stop points at the same coordinates, not multiple HNs. Two different issues.

And to MajkiiTelini's earlier point about houses on corners, I should have said "multiple HNs on the same segment at precisely the same coordinates."

However, if identifying these overlaps is going to slow down the script, I fully understand, and can live without it.
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ]
MAR MSM; State Manager: District of Columbia
AM Sussex County, DE/Westchester/Putnam/Rockland Counties, NY
russblau
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:36 pm
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 632 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:41 pm

russblau wrote:No, what you have identified is multiple stop points at the same coordinates, not multiple HNs. Two different issues.


Ah yes, I understand the difference now, thanks for the clarification!
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 491 times
Been thanked: 300 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby MajkiiTelini » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:21 pm

Olestas wrote:When we will be able to see house numbers themselves? Please?


There is only one correct answer this question :D

But you are lucky. Today's soon is today ;)

New version 0.6 with separate layer for numbers is out!
[ img ][ img ][ img ]
LC Czech Republic
MajkiiTelini
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:45 pm
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 221 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby jm6087 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:28 pm

MajkiiTelini wrote:
Olestas wrote:When we will be able to see house numbers themselves? Please?


There is only one correct answer this question :D

But you are lucky. Today's soon is today ;)

New version 0.6 with separate layer for numbers is out!


That is way cool. One possible issue. The script stays on all the time (both nav points and HNs), the layers option does nothing. (that I can tell)
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 561 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby MajkiiTelini » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:29 pm

Yes, I realized. You can download hotfixed 0.6.1.
[ img ][ img ][ img ]
LC Czech Republic
MajkiiTelini
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:45 pm
Location: CZ
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 221 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby jm6087 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:31 pm

Thanks, that update made the script that much better :D
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 561 times
Been thanked: 1352 times

Re: [Script] WME HN NavPoints

Postby ldriveskier » Fri Jan 25, 2019 4:03 am

Having the numbers available is fabulous, thank you!

However, they are really hard for me to read and I'm sure I won't be the only one with old eyes that will complain about it. Configurable would be great, but at the least maybe make the numbers a darker black (they look like dark gray now) and bold? Or try a different font that might be clearer?

Thank you for all of your hard work on this script! :)
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
USA CM, MAR MSM, WV SM, NE OH LAM (resident of Ohio)
ldriveskier
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:05 pm
Location: Northeast Ohio, United States
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 898 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jmbox