[Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.33 Sept 2020

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.1 Nov 2015

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:30 pm

Timbones wrote:
Twister-UK wrote:With both the latest versions of WMECH and WMERC installed (with no other add-ons running), the Routes tab doesn't show up when two segments are selected. Problem exists both in FF and Chrome.

Do you have the latest version of WMERC - v1.18? Routes has it's own tab now.


Yes - the copy in FF updated itself and I didn't have it installed in Chrome so that was a fresh install straight from the web store. WMECH was also checked to be running at the latest version in both browsers too. If I disable WMECH then the routes tab appears alongside the General/Closures tabs as expected for the 1.18 update, it's only when both scripts are running together that the tab fails to appear.
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3768
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 3593 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.1 Nov 2015

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Nov 08, 2015 2:45 pm

And now it's working just fine in both browsers... *sigh*, unpredictable code behaviour like this makes me pleased I'm not a script writ... oh, wait ;)

Haven't looked into the inner workings of WMERC recently, could this have been caused by some glitch on the Waze servers, or does it only start to access those once you click on the tab to generate the routes?
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3768
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 3593 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.1 Nov 2015

Postby Twister-UK » Mon Nov 09, 2015 1:28 am

Timbones wrote:
Olestas wrote:When I open editor with places turned on, this thing happens after I click on any place.

I fixed an issue that was occurring on Firefox (v2.2). Let me know if that fixes it.


Just in case the issue you're referring to is something else, then FYI this fix also resolves the WMECH-WMERC interaction problem I mentioned earlier - it reappeared a short while ago and I realised it was due to the order in which the two scripts were being initialised. If WMECH got initialised first, it added its selectionManager event handler to the listeners list before WMERC added its handler, and when the WMECH handler then failed due to the undeclared lastSelection variable, it prevented the WMERC handler from being called.
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3768
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 3593 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.5 Nov 2015

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:26 pm

Seems to be an initialisation issue - I'm seeing a "WME Highlights: not logged in - will initialise later" message in the debug console maybe half the times I load a WME session (with or without any other scripts loaded), after which WMECH doesn't then appear to attempt its initialisation later on. Reloading WME until this message doesn't appear then allows WMECH to initialise OK and appear as normal in the sidebar.
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3768
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 3593 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.5 Nov 2015

Postby Twister-UK » Tue Feb 09, 2016 12:47 am

It's now failing the majority of the time, but only when using Firefox, with or without other scripts being enabled.

In FF, the first run of initialiseHighlights() always seems to fail on the test for window.Waze.map, but always then succeeds on the second attempt. Once past this point, there then appears to be a 50:50 chance that the "not logged in" test further down the function will then cause the function to exit early. On the same PC, Chrome never seems to need to retry this function, nor does it ever seem to get caught by the login test - WME setup times in Chrome seem to be sufficiently fast compared with Firefox that it manages to stay one step ahead of WMECH ;)

If WMECH trips over the login test, the problem is then that the login event handler added to Waze.loginManager isn't firing when WME gets around to logging me in, and so initialiseHighlights never gets called again...
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3768
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 619 times
Been thanked: 3593 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 1.98 Dec 2014

Postby uscwaller » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:25 am

For the 'Filter By Editor' option, it would be nice if they were sorted by either rank or alphabetically
uscwaller
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:00 pm
Location: Aiken, SC
Has thanked: 101 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 1.98 Dec 2014

Postby uscwaller » Wed May 13, 2015 10:54 pm

Another thought. Highlight Places > Locked Places (Red), would be nice to have the option to select the lock level to highlight, from either a pull down, or radio button, i.e. highlight lvl 3 and up, or 3 and lower, or just have level buttons to select like in ToolBox layer highlights.
uscwaller
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:00 pm
Location: Aiken, SC
Has thanked: 101 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 2.0 Sep 2015

Postby vaindil » Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:30 pm

Hey Timbones, thanks for this awesome addon. Any chance a highlight will be added for tunnels now that they've been pushed to prod?
vaindil
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:15 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 86 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights - 1.81 Mar 2014

Postby vince1612 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:06 am

Hey all,

A suggestion which -I think- was not talked about before -sorry in advance if I'm wrong-, I did look through the pages of this thread and didn't find anything.

Currently I use the "Recently Edited (Green)" highlight function a lot and the fact that you can filter by editors is great too !

My question/suggestion is would it be possible to have the option to highlight everyone's edits except your own by filtering them out.
AND/OR to highlight by editor rank (only highlight edits from lvl 1 users, or 1 and 2)


This would be useful to me for two reasons:

1. You could always leave the feature ON even when you work/edit the map as it would not highlight roads you need to see without the green highlight blocking your view of street names, currently I have to turn it off when it bothers me and not forget to turn it back on after I'm done.

2. As an AM who may want to review edits in my area to check for potential mistakes by new editors I would be able to quickly notice edits who were not made by me and not risk zooming on my own edits to check the zone.
  • -> If filter "everyone except me" the only problem might be that edits from higher ranked editors would also be highlighted, but not a big issue, would already be great.
  • -> If filter "by editor rank" it would be simply perfect to review recent edits by lower ranked users and be able to spot possible mistakes quicker. Then I can message the user to guide him to the Wiki's or help myself etc...

Currently without that option I can also sort of use this to check recent edits but I edit so much that often I zoom on places that were edited by me and loose some time.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8587
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5376 times
Been thanked: 5578 times

Re: [Script] WME Color Highlights (2.4)

Postby vince1612 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:09 pm

I think you should post this in the main thread about the script:
https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=819&t=40705

Script authors already have a lot to read and to code, so I'm sure they would appreciate not having to read multiple threads too ;)
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8587
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5376 times
Been thanked: 5578 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jm6087, Majestic-12 [Bot], n4dog