[Script] WME Toolbox

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Mon Mar 10, 2014 4:18 am

dbraughlr wrote:
iainhouse wrote:... the scripts can only perform actions that can already be performed by editors.


I believe that some scripts to perform functions which are not possible with the WME user interface but are possible with the Waze object model. The functions for manipulating roundabouts are such functions. This amazing ability to modify a property which should be read-only could be a pair of ordinary bugs.


I've now looked at the code that deals with these loops. It deletes the existing loop and replaces it with new segments. It does not change the creator for the existing loop.

I can't categorically state that this isn't possible to change the creator on an existing segment. But I am confident that this script isn't doing so.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sun Mar 09, 2014 11:57 pm

I can't speak with direct experience as to what the API allows - geniuses like the author of this script could answer definitively. However I have picked up a little about the way the scripts work and I like to think I know a bit about computing in general. ;)

I would be, frankly, amazed if the WME API allows you to change the creator. The API is there to allow WME to work - and creating segments under another editor identity is simply not something that WME does. If it was possible, the potential for mischief would be high. I have no doubt that creator is not an attribute that can be specified when creating a segment - it will be set by the server based on the logged in user asking for the segment to be created.

AFAIK the scripts only have access to objects and attributes that are available in the editor anyway. For example, note how average segment speed has recently become unavailable because it's been removed as an available segment attribute. In the same way, the scripts can only perform actions that can already be performed by editors. Although some scripts may seem to perform incredibly complex actions, they're just doing what computers are supposed to be good at doing - automating things that take too much time to do ourselves. :)
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sun Mar 09, 2014 12:40 pm

It's not a bug and the script isn't changing the creator. As you've probably experienced in the past, you can't simply add a node to these loops - WME throws an error. The script simply takes the simpler route of deleting and re-drawing them. If you check segment IDs, you'll see they change.

There was a bug some time ago that caused the loops to be locked at your level. I was questioned as to why I had locked some residential loops at 6! :lol:
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:33 pm

OyyoDams wrote:Can you reload the editor and tell me if it's better ?


Excellent - Map panning now working as normal! :D
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [Script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:38 pm

sketch wrote:now it does the weird fast panning all the time


Well spotted! I was about to start disabling scripts one at a time to find out if one of them was causing it.

Toolbox is enabling auto-scroll behaviour. Normally, if you click & drag on the map, the map pans in the direction and by the amount you drag. With Toolbox enabled, the map now pans continuously in the direction you drag the mouse and at a speed proportional to the distance you drag.

So if you click & drag a few pixels to the right, the map will start panning slowly in that direction and keep doing so until you release the mouse button. If you drag the mouse half a screen to pan the map half a screen, it will race off in that direction at high speed and you'll be completely lost before you can let go of the button! :lol:

I don't know if this auto-scroll behaviour is intentional. Personally I've never got on with it. In my job I've probably set up 200-odd PCs in the last 10 years and disabled it on every one - and never had anyone complain. However, I accept that some people might want this behaviour and it could be a useful addition to Toolbox.

If it's deliberate, I suggest that it's off by default and there should be a user-accessible checkbox to turn it on/off.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:39 am

@tonestertm

That is not an edit count - it's a count of undoable changes. If you select a node and hold down Q you will see the same effect. When you hit Save, you will be credited with one edit for each change in the map since your last save. If you've changed to same item 500 times, you'll get 1 edit - and then only if the net results of your actions has changed it since the last save.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sat Nov 09, 2013 4:05 pm

OyyoDams wrote:I have to rewrite the whole redo-roundabout function. I'm working on it.


Sorry to possibly add to your work. :(

The UK has different rules on roundabout road types from the general Junction Style Guide.

FWIW, the JNF roundabout fixing function seems to work correctly for the UK.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:25 pm

Connecting to https://www.wazeteam.com:

Unable to make a secure connection to the server. This may be a problem with the server or it may be requiring a client authentication certificate that you don't have.
Error code: ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR

Plus errors in the console suggesting it can't get components from the wazeteam server.

Nothing we can do about it now - but I'm sure Oyyodams will sort it as soon as he can. :)
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:08 pm

I'm still seeing the bug with the popups. Exact steps to reproduce:

  • Select a roundabout segment whilst popups are active - pop up appears
  • Open Toolbox Configuration Panel and de-select Activate Popups. The visible popup remains on screen - selecting other segments does not affect it.
  • Re-selecting Activate Popups will clear the stranded popup unless the original segment is still selected
With reference to WME-Addons, I have no problem with the loss of the "Remove Nodes" function. I found it to cause more problems than it solved - removing nodes it shouldn't and selecting nodes outside the area you thought you were looking at. I would however like to request a couple of features that I did frequently use WME-Addons for:

  • Adjust snap distance
  • "Large" select in landmark option
  • Open in Livemap - mainly because the livemap link is always hidden by "F" fullscreen option
These may already be on your to-do list - and if not, they're not massively important. :)
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

Re: [script] WME Toolbox

Postby iainhouse » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:26 pm

Minor bug report.

If you de-select "Activate popups" whilst a popup is currently being shown, that popup gets left behind on the screen.
ImageImageImage
UK AdminsUK WikiWaze FAQWMEFU Script :ugeek:
I want to go to a commune in Vermont and deal with no unit of time shorter than a season
iainhouse
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 8810
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: on the road from London to insanity, with Waze HQ in the driving seat
Has thanked: 1874 times
Been thanked: 6453 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fjsawicki, MapOMatic