[Script] WME Junction Angle Info

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 5:18 pm

This was working for me yesterday (or the day before), and today it's not. It actually disappeared from my Tampermonkey listing. userscripts.org only shows the old version and not the new one that someone (I forget the username now) provided as a fix. I tried copy-and-pasting from the version on the Wiki page listing extensions, but that's not working, either.

Anyone have any ideas what's going on regarding this extension?
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:01 pm

Yes, I looked. :-) The layer wasn't even present to select from; it was completely gone.

tkr85, thanks, that seems to have fixed it. Side note: When I click on it and Tampermonkey installs it, it lists the extension as version 1.5.7.5 (not .3 as listed in your posting). Just FYI.

For now. :D
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:44 pm

Thanks. And be ready to update it again soon, possibly. There's rumored to be a new version of WME that's supposed to be released "soon." :-) When it comes out, it could break the script/extension again....
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Sun Jun 29, 2014 12:00 am

It seems to be working fine for me as well, though I'm using the Tampermonkey version of the script. I don't know if that's what's making the difference or not.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 3:35 pm

brandonrossl wrote:
MGODLEW wrote:I have a feature request for this script. Where the color of the number in the script will change to reflect the prompt given based upon angle & road types. So lets say the numbers will turn Purple anytime a prompt would be "Turn Right/Left" or the number would turn Green for "Exit to Right/Left" for Freeway to Ramp & Blue for "Stay/keep to Right/Left" for Freeway to Freeway


Someone take over and add this to toolbox!

It doesn't need to be in Toolbox, it needs to be here in Junction Angle Info. ;)

And I agree it would be an awesome feature!
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:05 pm

I understand what you're going for there, but part of me kind-of cringes in terms of my "fair play" button being pushed.

"Hey, buddy! Your addon is really popular, and so is ours, so we're just going to absorb all of your code (or otherwise duplicate your functions) and add it to ours so that it gets even more popular and way less people are now using yours."

Mind you, I'm not using that as an argument against doing what you suggest; I'm a human too and human nature would be to need to load less addons to cover the jobs in question. :) It's just that I find the concept to be a bit cringe-worthy. I know that if I had a popular, handy plugin for WME that I was actively maintaining, it would bother me a lot of someone else came along and did something along those lines. Like I said, it just kind-of offends my sense of "fair play." If something that's widely used isn't really being supported or the author wants to give up on it, that's a different matter.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:15 pm

"Fair play" isn't exclusively for things which make money. ;) There's a certain sense of pride (which can give a lot of emotional satisfaction) when you've worked to create a useful tool that people are using. The "pay," per se', is in knowing that people are using what you've created and are happy with it in the case of something like this.

Different philosophical outlooks, I suppose. :-)

Glad to hear you'd be approaching the other plugin author in a case such as that and giving them an opportunity such as you described.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:10 pm

Just out of curiosity, is this going to be deemed "stable" enough for the Chrome store anytime soon? :D
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 6:19 am

Unfortunately, the native Chrome version of 1.6 doesn't seem to work. I can put in any number of decimal places, and it still just gives me a whole (integer) number when showing an angle. It also seems to ignore the size feature if I turn that on. Yes, I hit "apply." :-) And when I refresh the page and check again, everything I selected under the JAI settings resets back to default values.

The one you linked to that runs under Tampermonkey that you link to here seems to run fine and remember my settings.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

Re: [script] WME Junction Angle Info

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Feb 03, 2015 5:14 pm

milkboy wrote:Hmm.. Works fine for me (both Chrome+Tampermonkey and Firefox+Greasemonkey). Just make sure you have a "recent" (1.6.1+) version of the script, with the correct update URL: https://github.com/milkboy/WME-ja/raw/m ... le.user.js

Previously the update url was pointing to userscripts.org, which has not been working for quite some time.

(Side question: How automatic does using github make the update process when using it as your source for Greasemonkey/Tempermonkey? When you update the script there, will Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey know to update the script automatically?)

Something you might want to consider is to put it on greasyfork.org. A lot of script authors who used to use userscripts.org are using that now, and a lot of people who are just going straight to a source to look for user scripts who used to use userscripts.org are now searching greasyfork.org for those scripts. There are quite a few WME scripts already there.

Just a thought, anyway. :-)
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 282 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jm6087, Mapman44, mudge42