[Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby Fedelosa » Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:45 pm

Liurai wrote:Is there some WME House Number for Dummies?

I can use the app, but i don't know how to save that information on live map.

And I don't need a 3 steps tutorial. I need a 30 step tutorial. :lol:


Did you install the Google Chrome addon?

Enviado desde mi SM-G900M mediante Tapatalk
Fedelosa
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: Uruguay
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby foxitrot » Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:06 am

bedo2991 wrote:
  • Wait for the GPS fix and be sure to have at least a 15m precision (otherwise you won't be able to save the HN).
  • Insert all the requested information (some of them are required just once and you can set them from the menu) and press the big button "Store HN".

Regardless of whether the precision of my position is green 6.0m, 8.0m or 12.0m, or red 16+m, the StoreHN button is just very briefly flashing in a 1 second rhythm. Simultaneously, the phone's GPS symbol in the upper Android notification area is disappearing, appearing, disappearing... Switching to any other GPS app causes the symbols to be displayed constantly, after a switch back to HNH the symbol goes back to dance.

Both City and Street seems to be filled in correctly.

When trying hard and fast to repeatedly press the StoreHN button, I've possibly succeeded twice to press it, the button changed its color to blue. But no HN got stored. On one such attempt the app crashed.

Could the 15m requirement be loosened to 20m? Or a user preference for it? I can imagine being unable to get a good position precision on some places with e.g. dense and tall buildings, or with suboptimal constellations of satellites.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7197
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2543 times
Been thanked: 1151 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby foxitrot » Fri Dec 27, 2013 12:47 am

foxitrot wrote:Regardless of whether the precision of my position is green 6.0m, 8.0m or 12.0m, or red 16+m, the StoreHN button is just very briefly flashing in a 1 second rhythm. Simultaneously, the phone's GPS symbol in the upper Android notification area is disappearing, appearing, disappearing... Switching to any other GPS app causes the symbols to be displayed constantly, after a switch back to HNH the symbol goes back to dance.
[...]
When trying hard and fast to repeatedly press the StoreHN button, I've possibly succeeded twice to press it, the button changed its color to blue. But no HN got stored. On one such attempt the app crashed.

After updating my phone from GingerBread to Jelly Bean, the GPS fix part is now working for me, I am able to store HNs.

You should possibly test the app on some more GingerBread devices?
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7197
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2543 times
Been thanked: 1151 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby franckentien » Sun Nov 10, 2013 5:33 pm

it's fun it's a good option i try this better tomorrow
thaks for this app i send many house number now
franckentien
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 10:42 am
Location: montpellier
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby fred-porto » Sun Jan 05, 2014 1:29 am

It still does not work with me... I did not installed it using tampermonkey, just moved to extension dialog box... is that the problem? I don't have tampermonkey, although I use many scripts with no errors until now.

My monitor has full hd resolution, but I also tried 1600x900 with no luck.

any ideas?

Fred

UPDATE:
FIXED. It only works with tampermonkey installed.
fred-porto
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:04 am
Has thanked: 353 times
Been thanked: 796 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby Glodenox » Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:12 pm

As of Firefox version 44 (currently in beta) it is not allowed to assign a value to unsafeWindow (as it is an undefined constant for some reason). I'm currently checking some of the scripts in the forum to make sure they won't break once Firefox 44 goes live (January 26). I've checked your userscript and it uses unsafeWindow quite a bit, so you may run into problems. Either way, the code below won't do anything useful any more as this way of retrieving the unsafeWindow has been removed. I've seen other scripts just using unsafeWindow without that check and they seem to run fine, so that might be worth a try.

Code: Select all
       var bGreasemonkeyServiceDefined     = false;

   try
   {
      if (typeof Components.interfaces.gmIGreasemonkeyService === "object")
      {
         bGreasemonkeyServiceDefined = true;
      }
   }
   catch (err)
   {
      //Ignore.
   }
   if ( typeof unsafeWindow === "undefined"  ||  ! bGreasemonkeyServiceDefined)
   {
      unsafeWindow    = ( function ()
      {
         var dummyElem   = document.createElement('p');
         dummyElem.setAttribute ('onclick', 'return window;');
         return dummyElem.onclick ();
      } ) ();
   }
Glodenox
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 569 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby kentsmith9 » Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:07 pm

Is the "Memo Layer" new and I missed the memo saying how it works? Maybe I did not have the Memo Layer on to see about the new layer? It appears on my Layer drop down list only when this script is enabled.

Maybe this script is enabling a future Memo layer feature built into the editor?
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5552
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:16 am

bedo2991 wrote:No, it's not a future WME's feature. From the application now you can choose to add a text memo on your current position (the function is in the menu), then it will be (horribly) displayed on WME when you'll load the string.

1. I don't see any text memo field under any menu in the Client App. Is it only in the beta?
2. Somehow the "menu layer" option is only displayed when I enable this extension. Is it only me with this result?
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5552
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:23 am

Ah. Now I follow. The Memo layer IS part of the House Number Extension in WME, but only loaded through the House Number App.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5552
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1485 times
Been thanked: 1691 times

Re: [Script & App] WME House Number Helper (Eng. v.)

Postby leocylau » Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:18 pm

bedo2991 wrote:What does the app do?
It allows you to (I hope easily) register the position of the house numbers while you are walking.

Walking? Will it pollute the avg. speed? hm... :roll: ...should be OK, right? We won't use it everyday on the same street. Just occasionally :mrgreen:
leocylau
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3832
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:21 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 775 times
Been thanked: 525 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dspille, Google Feedfetcher, JustinS83, MapOMatic