[Script] WME Validator 1.1.7 / 06.03.2015

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderator: Unholy

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 1.1.0 / 29.08.2014

Postby shmupi » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:08 pm

Thanks a lot !!!
Country Manager : Israel , Thailand , Romania
AM : Hong Kong & Macau
Editing expert
Israel Coordinator
UR's : 165K & counting

Nexus 4 - 4.4.4 Waze 3.7.8
Blackberry 9780 OS. 6.0.0.723 - Waze v 2.0.2.3
Samsung Galaxy 3 Mini - Latest Beta
Blackberry Z10 - Waze 3.7.8
shmupi
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:56 am
Has thanked: 775 times
Been thanked: 196 times

WME Validator 1.1.4 / 07.11.2014

Postby SiewMeng98 » Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:39 am

The new version of the Validator when used for checking large areas - it stops and we have to press the report button and the play again to continue. Before this we did not need to. Is there any limitations to the number of segments built in or any zoom level where it would work optimally without having 3 or 4 breaks.
Wong Siew Meng
AM | Kuala Lumpur, Johor & Singapore

ImageImageImageImage

Using IPhone 5 on IOS 8.1
Image Waze in Malaysia;Waze in Singapore
SiewMeng98
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:28 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 42 times

[Script] WME Validator 1.1.4 / 07.11.2014

Postby SiewMeng98 » Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:43 am

In Malaysia most of us is facing the same problem - shows an unneeded node but when we click on the segment it returns to normal.
Wong Siew Meng
AM | Kuala Lumpur, Johor & Singapore

ImageImageImageImage

Using IPhone 5 on IOS 8.1
Image Waze in Malaysia;Waze in Singapore
SiewMeng98
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:28 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 42 times

[Script] WME Validator 1.1.4 / 07.11.2014

Postby SiewMeng98 » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:54 am

Despite having several bugs which can be resolved over time - Let's take this opportunity to thank every one on the team who have given us this magnificent tool to enhance our editing (by showing the errors).

Thanks for all the effort put in by the Great Team behind this - Merry Christmas and a Happry New Year Ahead.
Wong Siew Meng
AM | Kuala Lumpur, Johor & Singapore

ImageImageImageImage

Using IPhone 5 on IOS 8.1
Image Waze in Malaysia;Waze in Singapore
SiewMeng98
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:28 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 42 times

[Script] WME Validator 1.1.6 / 06.01.2015

Postby SiewMeng98 » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:58 am

It is the 15th day of our Chinese New Year and I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Development Team and those behind the scene that have put in so much effort and hard work to conjure up this 'WME Validator" Script for all those out there who are using it.

Do keep up the good work and Kudos to the team.
Wong Siew Meng
AM | Kuala Lumpur, Johor & Singapore

ImageImageImageImage

Using IPhone 5 on IOS 8.1
Image Waze in Malaysia;Waze in Singapore
SiewMeng98
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:28 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.2 (BETA) / 07.07.2014

Postby sketch » Thu Jan 09, 2014 1:05 am

berestovskyy wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
txemt wrote:When I select an interstate segment, it pops up a warning about city name being in the city field. It wants me to remove the city name from the interstate. I didn't think that was set in stone.

I agree. WMEV should not give this guidance.

Ok, the check is disabled for US.

I asked for that check to be enabled because there are some situations where it is useful to know that. I thought it was pretty clear that it was a "note" (blue) and also a "beta" note, and not a yellow or red problem. It is up to the editor to decide whether this is something that requires action. Since freeways should be locked at L5 anyway, I would imagine we can trust the editor to do the right thing with it.

I'd like to hear from Alan and txemt in light of this before turning it back on, though.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1032 times
Been thanked: 1357 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby sketch » Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:25 pm

SuperDave1426 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Railroads should not have a city name applied anywhere. There's other discussion threads about this. Unless they are local light-rail stuff.


Really? That's interesting, I didn't know about that. There's a Union-Pacific Railroad line that runs through Reno, and the person who created that (who's a rank 6) did create it with a city name back in May 2013. I never even really noticed it until this latest update to the Validator, which resulted in it flashing at me and then I found out about it.

Given that it was created last year by a rank 6, is this "no city names for railroads, ever" rule a new one? Just out of curiosity.

Yes. Railroads weren't even supposed to be on the map until a few months ago, when staff announced they would be brought back. The rule is not to put city names on a railroad. There's absolutely no reason why it would be necessary to have a city name on a railroad. They will not (or should not) come up in search, and they may well cause smudges and other problems.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1032 times
Been thanked: 1357 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.6 (BETA) / 12.01.2014

Postby sketch » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:40 pm

So, hang on, no more "fixes"?
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1032 times
Been thanked: 1357 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby sketch » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:18 pm

berestovskyy wrote:12.01.2014 v0.4.6:
- updated "Unneeded node A/B" checks
Now it checks if the total length of the adjacent segments is less than 1km

Probably the limit should be adjusted, any suggestions?

Should be 10 km at the minimum. Rural and even suburban freeway segments can be much, much longer than 1 km.

edit: By the way, the two-way default was not added to the beta editor. Validator and the Beta updated around the same time, so a few beta users thought it was the beta that did it, not Validator.

To that end: the two-way drawing preference should be disabled by default.

edit again: I do miss the flashing, maybe it's just me! :D Could it be optional?
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1032 times
Been thanked: 1357 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby sketch » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:03 pm

Regarding length: This was a while ago, but some time ago staff told us segments longer than 10 km (or 10 mi?) could cause routing problems. That may not be the case anymore, and in fact, I'm relatively certain I've routed over longer segments problem-free. Either way, the check should certainly be longer than 1 km.

--
Regarding the two-way default feature:

What I mean is that the box should be unchecked by default in both editors. Otherwise, users who are not aware of the change when Validator auto-updates may inadvertently start drawing 2-way segments where 1-ways are needed.

A couple beta editors mistakenly thought that the two-way default was a new beta editor feature, rather than a new Validator feature.

It causes confusion. There is no notice when Validator updates. All of a sudden something is behaving differently, unless you read the thread or check in the settings. It wouldn't be such an issue if the script had to be updated manually, but the fact that it silently auto-updates means you can start editing and be none the wiser.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Map Raider
Map Raider
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1032 times
Been thanked: 1357 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users