[Script] WME Validator 1.1.16 / 29.01.2016

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, Unholy

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.3 (BETA) / 08.01.2014

Postby BellHouse » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:56 am

I just tried this tool for the first time, looks promising! ;)

However, the "clear report and segment cache" button does not seem to work for me. I run an analysis and then want to get rid of the flashing segments. So I click this button and the flashing segments go away. But, as soon as I pan the map, they reappear instantly. Am I doing something wrong?

I am running validator 0.4.3 on Chrome 31.0.1650 via Tampermonkey.
Image
Global Champ / DACH Champ / CM Germany / Self-Management-Team Germany
BellHouse
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Cologne / Germany
Has thanked: 563 times
Been thanked: 1503 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby berestovskyy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:47 pm

Hi!
Validator v0.4.4 just published. I tried to address all of the reported issues/suggestions:
- New filter options: "Exclude Streets and Service Roads" and "Exclude Other drivable and Non-drivable".
- Ghost highlighting of turns and Toolbox fixed.
- All filter options are saved across sessions, but the settings - just "Enable sounds" and "Highlight issues".
- Validator still reports, but does not highlight WCH highlighted segments anymore.
- Since I guess nobody is using "Exclude highways", the option has been removed.
berestovskyy
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 683 times

WME Validator Localization Packages

Postby berestovskyy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:08 pm

Validator Localization Packages

What is localization package?
Localization package is a script that tunes Validator up for your country. The script can enable/disable checks, set params and exceptions, translate user interface and messages.

There are two types of localization packages:
1. Built-in or default packages (come bundled with Validator).

2. External or user packages (the subject of this document):
a) user packages with params and translations
b) user packages just with params

User packages have higher priority, so they can override default options.


How to create a localization package?
1. Position WME over your country.

2. Switch WME to your language to get options and translations
or switch WME to "English" to get a package just with options.

3. Make sure any previous version of your script is ENABLED.

4. Prepare your country ISO Alpha-2 country code: list of codes (example: ES)

5. In Validator click Settings->About->(magic wand) and answer the questions if any.

6. The generated package is a Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey script ready for installation.
Copy and paste it into a new .user.js file or directly paste into the Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey.
Example filename: Validator-Spain.user.js


How to tune up/translate the package?
1. Open the .user.js file in a text editor. You can create a Google document and share the file among few editors/translators.

2. Search (Ctrl+F) for string "TODO:" and translate/check the marked strings. Please also remove the "TODO" marker. Example:
Code: Select all
"report.link.forum": "TODO: forum", -> "report.link.forum": "foro",


3. To enable a check, add/change the following line:
Code: Select all
"101.enabled": true,

To disable the check:
Code: Select all
"101.enabled": false,


4. For some checks you can also set params. Have a look at the complete list of validations for the list of params and their description: forum link

For example, to create a custom check 'Street name with a dot (excluding Ramps)', add the following lines:
Code: Select all
"130.enabled": true,
"130.severity": "warning",
"130.params": {
    "titleEN": "Street name with a dot",
    "problemEN": "There is a dot in the street name (excluding Ramps)",
    "solutionEN": "Expand the abbreviation or remove the dot",
    "template": "${type}:${street}",
    "regexp": "D/^[^4][0-9]?:.*\\./",
},

*Note: use D at the beginning of RegExp to enable debugging on JS console.
*Note: do not forget to escape backslashes in strings, i.e. use "\\" instead of "\".


How to install the package?
The Wizard generates Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey script ready for installation.
You can copy and paste it directly into the Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey.

To add the script in Chrome/Tampermonkey:
Install Tampermonkey for Chrome: Web Store
a) copy your script to the clipboard (Ctrl+C)
b) click Tampermonkey icon in Chrome
c) from the drop-down menu select "Add a new script"
d) in the script editor select all (Ctrl+A) and paste your script instead (Ctrl+V)
e) click "Save" (not "Save to disc")

To add the script in Firefox/Greasemonkey:
Install Greasemonkey for Firefox: Add-Ons
a) copy your script to the clipboard (Ctrl+C)
b) click Greasemonkey icon in Firefox
c) from the drop-down menu select "New user script"
d) click "Use script from clipboard" button
e) click "Save"

Reload the page, click Tampermonkey/Greasemonkey icon and make sure your script is there.


How to distribute the package?
The generated package is a Greasemonkey/Tampermonkey script ready for installation. There are two ways to distribute your localization package:

1. Your local community maintain/distribute the package. Let me know when your package is ready, so I put a link to your package on the Validator main page.
So you need two scripts installed: "Validator" and "Validator for your country".

2. Alternatively, on your request I can import the whole package back into the Validator. So your package becomes a default built-in package bundled with Validator.


How to update the package?
1. It is OK if Validator version does not match your localization pack version. In case your localization package miss a string or an option, Validator will use english strings/default options instead.

2. Make sure the previous version of your script is installed and enabled, so you see your translations.

3. In Validator click Settings->About->Wizard, answer the questions if any and generate updated localization pack.

Note that all your translations will be preserved in this updated script and all new/changed strings will be marked with "TODO".

See "How to create a localization package?" section above for more details.
Last edited by berestovskyy on Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:57 pm, edited 8 times in total.
berestovskyy
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 683 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:11 pm

BellHouse wrote:However, the "clear report and segment cache" button does not seem to work for me. I run an analysis and then want to get rid of the flashing segments. So I click this button and the flashing segments go away. But, as soon as I pan the map, they reappear instantly. Am I doing something wrong?

The "highlight segments" option and "report" feature are separate. You don't need to run the report to highlight/flash the segments live as you work. The report feature scans the map across a wider area than the highlighting can work (due to zoom at which objects are selectable) and gives you a nice long summary page.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.2.1 | Waze v4.2b
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23422
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 4513 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby BellHouse » Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:35 pm

Ah, I see. So the only way to mute the Validator without disabling the script is to uncheck the "Highlight issues on the map" in the options?

If so, I would suggest to move that checkbox to the front page of the Validator. In basemap areas the flashing segments can be quite annoying. ;)
Image
Global Champ / DACH Champ / CM Germany / Self-Management-Team Germany
BellHouse
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Cologne / Germany
Has thanked: 563 times
Been thanked: 1503 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:00 pm

berestovskyy wrote:City name on Freeway
What is the problem? City name on the Freeway may cause a city smudge.


I'd like to request an option to turn that off. Where I live, it's not uncommon to have a freeway have the city name (along with on/off ramps) within the city and go back to no city name outside of the city. I, myself, would prefer to not have it flashing freeway segments at me because of that. :-)

An additional note, not related to the above: I've got some interchanges that look like this:

Image

Now, that's a standard SPUI configuration; in fact, my RC asked me to configure these various interchanges this way. However, the Validator is flashing those crossed onramp/offramps as having "too many connections."

Any chance and adjustment can be made to make it a bit more tolerant of these kinds of configuration? :-)
ImageImageImageImage
Country Manager: USA (mostly oriented around NV & CA)
Editor Guide Best Editing Practices Editor Quick-start
Places Guidelines Nevada Wiki
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 758
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 209 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby berestovskyy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:12 pm

BellHouse wrote:If so, I would suggest to move that checkbox to the front page of the Validator. In basemap areas the flashing segments can be quite annoying. ;)

Done, will be available in the next release.

SuperDave1426 wrote:I'd like to request an option to turn that off.

It's disabled for US.

SuperDave1426 wrote:An additional note, not related to the above: I've got some interchanges that look like this:

It's a beta check, just ignore it at the moment.
berestovskyy
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 683 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Thu Jan 09, 2014 7:46 pm

berestovskyy wrote:
SuperDave1426 wrote:I'd like to request an option to turn that off.

It's disabled for US.


Ah, ok. :-)

City name on Railroad
What is the problem? City name on the Railroad may cause a city smudge.


Can that be turned off in the US, too? :D

SuperDave1426 wrote:An additional note, not related to the above: I've got some interchanges that look like this:

It's a beta check, just ignore it at the moment.


Ok, will do. Just wanted to make you aware of it.

As a side note, kind-of along those lines, it would be nice if the "flash/alert a freeway segment locked at least than Rank X" thing were configurable. Yes, I realize that typically freeways, at least within cities, get locked at rank 5. However, there are times when the lock level is less, legitimately. It would be nice if there were an option under settings that was something along the lines of

[ ] Report freeway segments locked under rank ____

Where you can check the option in the beginning, and put the numeric value you want to know about at the end of the line like that. Or something similar. :-)

I figured no harm in asking. :D
ImageImageImageImage
Country Manager: USA (mostly oriented around NV & CA)
Editor Guide Best Editing Practices Editor Quick-start
Places Guidelines Nevada Wiki
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 758
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 71 times
Been thanked: 209 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby no1ne » Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:39 pm

there is a typo in the report
Filter: duplicate segments, non-drivables and streets, non-editable segments and mjnor issues are excluded from this report.
Imageaka Arbaot
AM Lorient et Vannes, N24=>Rennes et 76 Ouest , CM France
Perperam eventurum est quicquid perperam evenire potest
no1ne
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4173
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:15 pm
Location: An Oriant, Breizh , France
Has thanked: 406 times
Been thanked: 410 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.4 (BETA) / 09.01.2014

Postby berestovskyy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:45 pm

SuperDave1426 wrote:It would be nice if there were an option under settings that was something along the lines of

[ ] Report freeway segments locked under rank ____

Where you can check the option in the beginning, and put the numeric value you want to know about at the end of the line like that. Or something similar. :-)

An option just for one of dozens of checks is too much for the user interface :lol:

But I got your idea, so instead I propose a global "Strict mode" switch. It will simply switch on/off some checks. For instance, there are already two very similar checks:
1. "Incorrect lock level/The Freeway segment is not locked to Lvl 5"
2. "No lock on Freeway/The Freeway is not locked"

So the first check might be active for US in a strict mode, while the latter might be activated in non-strict mode, like this:

1. "Incorrect lock level/The Freeway segment is not locked to Lvl 5"
Countries (strict mode): US, AU, BE...
Countries (non-strict mode): AU, BE... (no US here)

2. "No lock on Freeway/The Freeway is not locked"
Countries (strict mode): BN, MY, SG
Countries (non-strict mode): US, BN, MY, SG... (US is here)
berestovskyy
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 683 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NorbertTthPeaceful4