[Script] WME Validator 1.1.20 / 03.11.2016

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:32 pm

sketch wrote:What I mean is that the box should be unchecked by default in both editors. Otherwise, users who are not aware of the change when Validator auto-updates may inadvertently start drawing 2-way segments where 1-ways are needed.


I see what you're saying in the rest of the message; however, given the ratio of two-way to one-way streets (and the fact that WME runs opposite of that, requiring you to have to remember to go change the direction after you draw a road), I'm not sure that's a problem.

Someone who's used to it will click on it, see the direction is already two-way, and move on after wondering about it for a minute or two.

I admit that I certainly don't know about where you live, but here on the west coast the vast majority of roads are two-way, not one-way. It seems to me to make a lot more sense to have the editor default to "two-way." (I'm constantly having to deal with roads that should have been two-way, but the person who created them didn't bother to change the direction from the default "one-way" setting.) Failing that, having it be a feature of an extension is nice.

People have their preferences, though. I wouldn't mind it being a clickable option, so long as it's one of the options that will "stick" so that you don't have to keep going back to change it to what you want, if you happen to want the opposite of the default setting.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:50 pm

sketch wrote:
berestovskyy wrote:12.01.2014 v0.4.6:
- updated "Unneeded node A/B" checks
Now it checks if the total length of the adjacent segments is less than 1km

Probably the limit should be adjusted, any suggestions?

Should be 10 km at the minimum. Rural and even suburban freeway segments can be much, much longer than 1 km.


Ok, so color me confused here. Why is length a factor? If there are two segments connected by a junction node (with no other roads coming into that node) and they're exactly the same on both sides, why would you want to leave the node there?

I've always been told that you should get rid of extraneous extra unneeded junction nodes since they can complicate the navigation features. Why should it matter how long the segments are as to whether or not they get highlighted? :?:

I'm failing to see why you would want an unneeded junction node in a road, let alone a bunch of them making short segments out of a longer stretch of road....

edit: By the way, the two-way default was not added to the beta editor. Validator and the Beta updated around the same time, so a few beta users thought it was the beta that did it, not Validator.

To that end: the two-way drawing preference should be disabled by default.


You're talking about having it disabled in the beta editor only, right? (Just want to be sure I understand what you're advocating :) ).
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:02 pm

Possible bug: Any reason why this segment isn't being flagged as having an unnecessary junction node? Everything is exactly the same on both sides of the node, yet I'm not seeing it flagging it with highlights.

Other things seem to be showing up fine so far.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:52 pm

berestovskyy wrote:- NO MORE TWINKLING: new highlighting system (please report bugs/suggestions)


I read that, and thought, "Hmm, ok, let's see what he did." So I went to Chrome settings and forced a extension update. Went back to the map editor tab, refreshed the screen....

First words out of my mouth: "Good GOD!" :lol: Well, you certainly can't miss those markings. :mrgreen:

I like it. :D BIG improvement over the strobe/twinkle. Thanks for that!
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.7 (BETA) / 14.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:02 pm

I've been running into that, too. It seems that if you refresh the page (click on permalink probably works, and that will bring you right back where you were editing) then the warning about the city name being wrong seems to go away. (This has been happening when I've added a city name to a street that didn't have one.) Odd....
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.7 (BETA) / 14.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:54 pm

bedo2991 wrote:
SuperDave1426 wrote:Does that not work (for the turning off part)?

It depends on how good is the map you're currently editing. In Italy we have some places that are still untouched since the basemap.


Ah, ok, but I was asking about the request to turn off the blink. His notes said that clicking on the name/logo was supposed to turn off the highlighting altogether (which would turn off the blinking).

Or were you looking for a way to have it highlight segments and leave the color on rather than blinking a few times and then going away? If that's the case, then sorry I misunderstood!
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.7 (BETA) / 14.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:11 pm

berestovskyy wrote:- enabled "No lock on Freeway" for US
- disabled 'Incorrect Freeway lock level' for US
- fixed 'Unneeded node' (state comparison)


Thank you! :mrgreen:
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.7 (BETA) / 14.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:03 pm

bedo2991 wrote:Just a request, is it possible to make thinks blink slower (or not at all?). I think that I'll get an epilepsy attack one of those days...


I'm not him, but...

berestovskyy wrote:There are too many flashing segments!
Apply more filters. For instance, to concentrate just on warnings and errors, switch on "Exclude notes" filter options.
To completely switch the highlighting off just click the main view title "Validator".


Does that not work (for the turning off part)?
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.6 (BETA) / 12.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:45 pm

CBenson wrote:I suppose that's why people submit URs when it happens.


No doubt. :-)

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
SuperDave1426 wrote:That's a good trick - how can it route you the wrong way through a roundabout, when a roundabout is a group of one-way segments?

Going the wrong way on a 1-way is just another penalty to the Waze routing model. It happens much less often now, but it can happen.


Or really? Wow, that's bizarre. Even with that, you'd think that there'd be less of a penalty for going down the permitted way, and thus that would be the way it would route you.

Strange stuff, this Waze Routing system.... :-)
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.6 (BETA) / 12.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:20 pm

CBenson wrote:
SuperDave1426 wrote:Also, one of the examples I provided was for a roundabout. A roundabout only has the same number of nodes as there are roads connected to it. When you've got two roads involved (like in my example), you're only going to have two nodes. The "add roundabout" function in the WME isn't going to create an extra blank junction node. The Toolbox "redo roundabout" function is also does not create an extra node because it's not necessary (no segment is actually connecting back to "the same node").

I've seen routing issue, like routing the wrong way on roundabouts with only two roads that connect to them. I do think they are a problem.


That's a good trick - how can it route you the wrong way through a roundabout, when a roundabout is a group of one-way segments? :?: :o (I'm not saying that you're making it up, I'm just having a hard time picturing the circumstances that could lead to that happening....)
Last edited by SuperDave1426 on Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 263 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dfortney