Search finds wrong street

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Search finds wrong street

Postby ChumpCar_Rcr » Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:26 pm

Does not list Carson Ln, Atlanta, GA when you try to find it - shows same street name in Smyrna, GA

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=7&lat ... s=67366833
ChumpCar_Rcr
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:36 am
Location: Outside Atlanta
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Search finds wrong street

Postby iahim » Thu Aug 16, 2012 8:50 pm

I'm not sure if the search works instantly or only after the live map gets updated. I've noticed that you edited the road recently, so wait until the next map update and then search it again.
iahim
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Search finds wrong street

Postby AndyPoms » Thu Aug 16, 2012 8:57 pm

Does Bing find the address properly? In certain base mapped countries (i.e. they got the map from the government or other licensed source) they use external providers for address look-up (typically Bing or Google). In the US, they use Bing to translate addresses into GPS coordinates and then route to the road closest to those GPS coordinates.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7122
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1296 times

Re: Search finds wrong street

Postby ChumpCar_Rcr » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:11 am

AndyPoms wrote:Does Bing find the address properly? In certain base mapped countries (i.e. they got the map from the government or other licensed source) they use external providers for address look-up (typically Bing or Google). In the US, they use Bing to translate addresses into GPS coordinates and then route to the road closest to those GPS coordinates.


Bing has the same problem. Shows Smyrna, GA. Anyone to contact to fix this - or notify bing of the error?

Actually - Bing shows it as the wrong street name - Mathieson Dr.
ChumpCar_Rcr
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:36 am
Location: Outside Atlanta
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Search finds wrong street

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:38 am

porsche996turbo wrote:Bing has the same problem. Shows Smyrna, GA. Anyone to contact to fix this - or notify bing of the error?

Actually - Bing shows it as the wrong street name - Mathieson Dr.


Bottom left of the Bing page... Click "Feedback"... Fill out that form with as much detail as possible...

Unfortunately, there is no way to control when or if Bing actually makes the change.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7122
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1296 times

Re: Search finds wrong street

Postby AndreaDFC » Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:32 pm

AndyPoms wrote:Unfortunately, there is no way to control when or if Bing actually makes the change.

In fact I do still not understand why Waze does not also use its internal database, but only Bing's database which is often wrong (for example in Italy).
Samsung Galaxy Nexus, Cyanogenmod 13.0, Android 6.0.1
Italy Country Manager
ImageImage Docs Waze Italia
AndreaDFC
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 2378
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:11 pm
Location: Dueville (Vicenza, Italia)
Has thanked: 743 times
Been thanked: 429 times

Re: Search finds wrong street

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:48 pm

AndreaDFC wrote:
AndyPoms wrote:Unfortunately, there is no way to control when or if Bing actually makes the change.

In fact I do still not understand why Waze does not also use its internal database, but only Bing's database which is often wrong (for example in Italy).


In the US one building can have multiple addresses...

Streets can have alternate names.

The postal address can have a different city/town than the one the building is actually located in.

Some places go by historical/neighborhood names on some addresses.

A business in that building can have a custom zip code just for them, so there's (at least) two zip codes for that one building.

The building could have a physical address and a custom one too (i.e. 123 Main St could also be known as 1 Corporate Center.

If you use 2 possibilities for each of the above that's already 32 potential address (if my math is correct) to keep track of - for ONE building.

Keeping track of all that is a pain in the @$$, Waze would need it's own full POI database as well as specific GPS coordinates for each address and alternate address...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7122
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1296 times


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BahaaBaderMeow, Bing [Bot], FLHappy52, krizecek