Finding objects tied to a city

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby jondrush » Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:28 pm

So Papyrus may download a bunch more roads than are displayed, and the plugin just lists whatever Papyrus decided to download?
Keeping the Waze maps tidy since 2009
jondrush User Page
Image
jondrush
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 2659
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 531 times

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby jondrush » Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:14 pm

I'm using the plugin. Can anyone explain how the plugin determines the bounds of the list? It seems to be related to, but not bounded by the current zoom level.
Keeping the Waze maps tidy since 2009
jondrush User Page
Image
jondrush
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 2659
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:20 pm
Location: South Eastern Pennsylvania, USA
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 531 times

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby gettingthere » Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:58 pm

jondrush wrote:So Papyrus may download a bunch more roads than are displayed...


Likely this is to improve performance. Likely Waze is downloading more than just the current view to improve performance as you scroll around the map. This is likely why if you scroll around in the editor the road layer updated immediately vs. having to wait a moment if you scroll further away from where you are editing.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
gettingthere
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 211 times

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby dmcconachie » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:29 pm

The city will display until the livemap tiles are updated, a process that is currently on hold but can normally take a week.

It used to be that these city names would only update once a month but it appears to be more inline with the normal tile rebuild process now!

But yes there is a community created tool for doing what you're trying to do. Search the forum for "Plugin pour papyrus" and learn French (or use Google Translate) ;)
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ

UK WikiUK FB PageCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6119
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 302 times

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:59 pm

gettingthere wrote:
jondrush wrote:So Papyrus may download a bunch more roads than are displayed...


Likely this is to improve performance.

My thoughts precisely.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4826 times

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:22 pm

jondrush wrote:I'm using the plugin. Can anyone explain how the plugin determines the bounds of the list? It seems to be related to, but not bounded by the current zoom level.

The extension loads all the roads downloaded from the server. This is a larger data set than the window shows. I'm not sure we could figure out how to shorten the dataset based on the map view...
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4826 times

Re: Finding objects tied to a city

Postby AggieJM » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:47 pm

Thanks!

I'll have to check out that tool (and brush up on my French in the process).
AT&T iPhone 6s iOS 9.3.2
AggieJM
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Celina, Texas, USA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Finding objects tied to a city

Postby AggieJM » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:04 pm

There is a section of the map in my managed area that shows the following city name (remove the leading asterisk):

*http://emarket.ua/objavlenie/sapogi-botforty-IDppiF.html

I've updated all of the streets in the area with a correct city name, but this city name is still showing up as an overlay on the map. Is there a way to identify if there are any other objects tied to this city that would cause it to still display on the map?

I've tried searching for it, but it drops the pin right on a top of one of the streets where I have already updated the city.

Thanks!
AT&T iPhone 6s iOS 9.3.2
AggieJM
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:15 pm
Location: Celina, Texas, USA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times


Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: julian_villamil, sodhy007