NA Map display error happening

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderator: Unholy

NA Map display error happening

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:19 pm

Once again, it's Friday and Papyrus and Cartouche are both displaying old road images for the NA server. Cartouche shows the actual location on mouse click, but Papyrus is screwed. Yay. :( I submitted my googledocs form like a good boy.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4556 times

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby HavanaDay » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:22 pm

I was just doing the same thing. Started about 20 minutes ago.
USA Country Manager
AM North Carolina (Primary Focus Charlotte Metro)
HavanaDay
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:08 pm
Location: Midland, NC
Has thanked: 186 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby gettingthere » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:25 pm

I am also noticing this...
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby tjreo » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:40 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Once again, it's Friday and Papyrus and Cartouche are both displaying old road images for the NA server.

I've been editing but have not yet noticed issues in Papyrus. If I may ask, what is the NA server?
Area Manager for Denver, Colorado • Colorado To Do
iPhone 3G • iOS 4.2.1 • AT&T
tjreo
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:03 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:44 pm

tjreo wrote:I've been editing but have not yet noticed issues in Papyrus. If I may ask, what is the NA server?

North America (US, Canada, some of Mexico)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4556 times

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby tjreo » Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:20 pm

Thank you for the explanation, Alan.

I am seeing issues now. Changes from Papyrus and Cartouche both save but those changes do not show up in either editor, even when the editor is refreshed. Subsequent changes error with the "while you were editing, someone else changed it" message.
Area Manager for Denver, Colorado • Colorado To Do
iPhone 3G • iOS 4.2.1 • AT&T
tjreo
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:03 am
Location: Denver, Colorado
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby gettingthere » Fri Nov 18, 2011 10:24 pm

So an update I made 2 hours ago is not showing yet...
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:52 pm

Papyrus isn't responding much at all right now. Reboot in progress? :roll:
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23439
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1080 times
Been thanked: 4556 times

NA Map display error happening

Postby wl02703 » Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:11 am

I wonder if they shut down any processes or scripts that should be left running when they leave for their weekend. Seems to be every Friday there are sync problems.


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
wl02703
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:17 am
Location: Chester, UK
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: NA Map display error happening

Postby gettingthere » Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:17 am

wl02703 wrote:I wonder if they shut down any processes or scripts that should be left running when they leave for their weekend. Seems to be every Friday there are sync problems.


Pure speculation

Seems likely that Waze staff is manually doing something during the week to keep the map editor working. So when they are gone for the weekend, it breaks...
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chuck268