Report routing timeouts

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby petervdveen » Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:34 am

Where do you live, what waze version do you use, what phone do you have and what is your OS version? ;)

There where some problems yesterday between 15.00 - 18.30 (UTC +2)
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9930
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 546 times
Been thanked: 1405 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby jmmo20 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:44 am

Is there any official news from Waze?
This is getting beyond ridiculous. For more than 2 weeks I've been unable to get reliable routing at all.

for routes in the range of 1-20 miles, routing works maybe 5 out of 10 times, for routes longer than 40-60 miles, it works 0-10 .. as in IT NEVER WORKS. maybe if I try 20 times i get ONE to work, but that's all about it.

what's worse, when you get out of the designated route (because, for example, the route is bad or you take a wrong turn), then the recalculation takes FOREVER and it FAILS most of the time (8 out of 10).

What's going on, seriously?
I loved to use Waze, even for very small journeys, but now it's a real pain in the behind and drives me nuts. :(
jmmo20
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby aSystemOverload » Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:50 am

Thanks, I've just submitted a report for my issues yesterday.
aSystemOverload
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:15 pm
Location: Basingstoke / Overton
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby markaskew » Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:19 pm

Cannot get routes tonight

Username: markaskew
Date / Time: 9th Mar, 17:00 - present (18:12)
Source - Destination: PE112BB to NG347SY (UK)
Same error received for longer routes
markaskew
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:41 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:38 pm

Nice. I have one daily, as I reported elsewhere, when trying to get alt routes from the initial "are you going to work?" prompt.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23590
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1124 times
Been thanked: 4774 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby CBenson » Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:15 pm

A post that comes right up if I search for routing time out form now. I have no idea what I actually looked for when my routing timed out and I needed the form.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby robin1979 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:10 pm

CBenson wrote:Thank you. I thought I had dreamt the existance of this form as I could find the link to it.


It was a result of the Paris meet:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13690&p=115692#p115692
robin1979
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby CBenson » Wed Dec 21, 2011 3:04 pm

Thank you. I thought I had dreamt the existance of this form as I couldn't find the link to it.
Last edited by CBenson on Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby dknight212 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:09 am

RallyChris wrote:
foxitrot wrote:
dknight212 wrote:There are some areas not yet well mapped that will timeout easily.

Have you meant that seriously? If I understood you correctly, the routing server should possibly time out because of a hard-to-find route? This would be a manifestation of a really crappy communication protocol :shock:


Correct. Instead of the routing server given an error stating that it hasn't found a route yet, and is giving up... you get a timeout error.

I'm of the same opinion... bad design.


Yep, for debugging it would be so much better to distinguish between the two states.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 636 times

Re: Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby RallyChris » Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:58 pm

foxitrot wrote:
dknight212 wrote:There are some areas not yet well mapped that will timeout easily.

Have you meant that seriously? If I understood you correctly, the routing server should possibly time out because of a hard-to-find route? This would be a manifestation of a really crappy communication protocol :shock:


Correct. Instead of the routing server given an error stating that it hasn't found a route yet, and is giving up... you get a timeout error.

I'm of the same opinion... bad design.
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 13 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]