[App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

[App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby Vinkoy » Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:10 am

Hi Wazers,

I created the android application Waze SLB (Waze Speed Limit Button) for sending speed limit reports (similar to existing web script). The main idea is to imitate tap on the speedometer icon to display Speed Limit form.

You can find the app on the following link: http://vinkoy.github.io/wslb/

Waze SLB automatically starts and closes with Waze (on Android 4.1+ it is neseccary to enable Waze SLB service in phone settings for this feature).

After the first run you need to enter your real Waze nickname, password and valid email.
Show button - display the Waze SLB button over the speedometer icon or make it invisible.
Autostart with Waze - enable or disable autostart.

Disclaimer: Application doesn't collect or send your password anywhere, but to Waze livemap authorization server.

[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ]

Features:
- app autostarts with Waze (can be disabled in settings) and closes automatically if Waze is closed or another app is on top. For autostart on Android 4.1+ please make sure that the Waze SLB service in enabled in phone settings (Accessibility service);
- app won't send URs if valid Name/Email is not filled or if coordinates weren't received;
- coordinates are saved when tapping the speedometer icon, then you can choose the speed when it's convenient;
- configuration form appears at the first start and can be called from the notification;
- user-defined speed limit values;
- on the config form: tap on version - check the updates, long tap - open WSLB home page;
- if the version number is red - new version is available;
- different sign style for Europe and USA;
- long tap on sign value to set opposite direction - REV (reverse) will be added near arrow:
[WSLM] Nickname End of SL [accuracy:2m direction:90° (→)REV];
- user-defined comments on [...] button. Examples:
tap on black button (default text):
[WSLM] Nickname End of SL [accuracy:2m direction:90° (→)]
tap on black button (predefined text):
@@@Nickname: user predefined comment [accuracy:2m direction:90° (→)]
long tap with text:
@@@Nickname: entered text [accuracy:2m direction:90° (→)]
long tap without text (only nickname, accuracy and direction)
@@@Nickname [accuracy:2m direction:90° (→)]
- voice input for user-defined comments on [...] button (long tap). For this feature the Google Search app may need to be installed;
- position of the red button can be changed in config form. Long tap on the Position button in Config sets defaults;
- color of button can be changed in config form. The color should be in hex: #AARRGGBB, where AA - alpha channel (transparency), RR - red, GG - green, BB - blue (Example: #55777777 - transparent gray). Long tap on the Position button in Config switches between default red and transparent gray.

Known issues:
- Application is not working in background. Application uses overlay and running in backgroud, so your device should allow overlay for Waze SLB and shouldn't limit background activity. Check your device for any system settings or security applications and add Waze SLB to exclusion list.
- since it uses overlapping button over the speedometer icon (red circle) the corresponding region is not available for tapping in Waze, keyboard etc. Workaround: long tap on the button hides it for 10 seconds, this will allow you to tap under the button.

Your feedback is appreciated.
Last edited by Vinkoy on Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:31 am, edited 10 times in total.
Vinkoy
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 188 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby foxitrot » Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:22 am

On full HD, the configuration dialog is toooo small. Its size is probably specified in pixels?

Sent from a touch display, which took care of perfectly scrambling my thoughts.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7243
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2646 times
Been thanked: 1165 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby Vinkoy » Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:26 am

foxitrot, yes I know this issue, will be fixed in following versions.
Vinkoy
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 188 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby bures » Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:34 am

Vinkoy wrote:...you need to enter your valid email.

Your feedback is appreciated.


Why is the e-mail address neccessary?
[ img ][ img ]
Jirka Bureš
bures
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 931
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:38 pm
Location: Holešov
Has thanked: 587 times
Been thanked: 417 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby Olestas » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:09 am

Because it is the way to report from Livemap. Try going to livemap and make a report (without login).
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]

GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Country manager (Full coverage): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia/Ukraine
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6220
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3367 times
Been thanked: 2310 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby Arnoniem » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:24 am

Looks pretty good. Also like the access frim notification bar.
Would be Great when the resolution is adjusted ;)
Would it be possible to create country specific speeds/buttons?

For NL i would change 20 into 15 and 40 into 130 for example.

send from my SGS4, using Tapatalk
Global Champ BeNeLux Champs UAE Champs Android Beta Coordinator Middle East
CM:The Netherlands CM:U.A.E. CM:Oman CM:Thailand
[ img ]
Arnoniem
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2265
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:21 am
Location: The Netherlands, UAE, Oman
Has thanked: 337 times
Been thanked: 608 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby foxitrot » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:45 am

For all such applications, users are wishing an user-adjustable contents, with a good default preset.

It is an additional setup dialog, but you can beat the others and show the way to go ;)

Sent from a touch display, which took care of perfectly scrambling my thoughts.
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7243
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2646 times
Been thanked: 1165 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby Vinkoy » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:54 am

Configuration of speed values is also in my todo, will be available in the future.
Vinkoy
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 188 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby Olestas » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:57 am

Just don't say soon : }
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]

GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia
Country manager (Full coverage): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia/Ukraine
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6220
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 3367 times
Been thanked: 2310 times

Re: [App] Waze Speed Limit Button

Postby d2-mac » Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:26 am

Vinkoy wrote:foxitrot, yes I know this issue, will be fixed in following versions.

Thank you for the useful program. Just for information, as WSLB now looks at Quad HD display (LG G3). But everything is functional :)

Screenshot_2016-04-08-12-25-31.png
(134.27 KiB) Downloaded 16409 times

Screenshot_2016-04-08-12-33-13.png
(89.5 KiB) Downloaded 16409 times
d2-mac
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:14 am
Has thanked: 648 times
Been thanked: 245 times

Next

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: b0b2, Google Feedfetcher