[Script] Snapshot Mode

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby sorin100 » Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:25 pm

Yes, as a matter of fact it works quite nicely for me on Chrome ...
Sorin
CM - Israel, CM - Thailand
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
sorin100
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 6921
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 11:35 am
Has thanked: 566 times
Been thanked: 704 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby subs5 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:07 pm

Thanks, PM sent to request its restoration. It is useful to see what some junior editors did to Quality Control their early edits. V/r Subs5
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 615 times
Been thanked: 929 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby taco909 » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:01 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Maybe Snapshot mode is broken in WME, but after I add new segments, then enable snapshot mode from the bookmarklet, all I get is the message at the top center of the map window about Snapshot mode enabled, but the map looks exactly the same, with the segments I just added.

Same thing in production here.
-- Rich
taco909
Map Editor - Level 4
Map Editor - Level 4
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 4:05 am
Location: Los Angeles Area
Has thanked: 716 times
Been thanked: 646 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby Timbones » Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:01 am

FYI: this script no longer works in beta since they got rid of the header where the 'Enable Snapshot Mode' link is put.

Maybe inside settings tab would be a suitable alternative? Or maybe Waze will create their own button for it?

Sent from my Wileyfox Swift using Tapatalk
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Closure Monitor
Extensions: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route TesterWME Geometries
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6942
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 1038 times
Been thanked: 2928 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby tonytx05 » Fri Jul 08, 2016 2:34 pm

Restrictions are usually intended to prevent damage to the map. Since you can't edit anything in snapshot mode, you inherently can't cause any map damage so I don't see any reason to restrict it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Area Manager: Andrews | Brazos County | Houston

[ img ][ img ]

If you edit in Texas, please make sure you read the following:
USA South Central Region Info | Best Practices | Edits to Avoid
tonytx05
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:52 pm
Location: Kingwood, TX, USA
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby vince1612 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:28 am

very interesting and useful indeed! Thank you ;)

How does the script know how an area looked before though? I can imagine it would be easy to visually remove recently created segments by comparing the tiles updates date and their latest edits, but for segments that have been deleted, how would it know there was something before?

Do you store a snapshot of the entire WME map somewhere with each new update?

Feeling like I didn't understand the script correctly maybe.. unless this is looking in the past simply by converting how the livemap looks onto WME before an update?

I guess I'm a bit confused :oops: sorry
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8386
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5144 times
Been thanked: 5414 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby vince1612 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:04 am

I see, then that's awesome, thanks ;)

Do they keep just one copy ? It would be great to be able to go back in time a few updates back.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8386
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5144 times
Been thanked: 5414 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby vince1612 » Mon May 30, 2016 12:02 pm

Really miss this too
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8386
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5144 times
Been thanked: 5414 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby vince1612 » Mon Jul 04, 2016 2:36 pm

Staff announced today in the WME beta forums that snapshot mode woud be available again but it was only requested for ranks 4, 5 and 6.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8386
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5144 times
Been thanked: 5414 times

Re: [Script] Snapshot Mode

Postby vince1612 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:51 pm

We just had confirmation from staff that Snapshot mode was activated for R4+ editors in the WME beta changelog.
[ img ]
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D) (FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8386
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: DACH Group (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)
Has thanked: 5144 times
Been thanked: 5414 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dfortney, Doctorblah, jm6087, Mythdraug, n4dog