[Script] WME Validator v2020.11.1 (PLACES BETA)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.4.7 (BETA) / 14.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:02 pm

I've been running into that, too. It seems that if you refresh the page (click on permalink probably works, and that will bring you right back where you were editing) then the warning about the city name being wrong seems to go away. (This has been happening when I've added a city name to a street that didn't have one.) Odd....
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:52 pm

berestovskyy wrote:- NO MORE TWINKLING: new highlighting system (please report bugs/suggestions)


I read that, and thought, "Hmm, ok, let's see what he did." So I went to Chrome settings and forced a extension update. Went back to the map editor tab, refreshed the screen....

First words out of my mouth: "Good GOD!" :lol: Well, you certainly can't miss those markings. :mrgreen:

I like it. :D BIG improvement over the strobe/twinkle. Thanks for that!
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:02 pm

Possible bug: Any reason why this segment isn't being flagged as having an unnecessary junction node? Everything is exactly the same on both sides of the node, yet I'm not seeing it flagging it with highlights.

Other things seem to be showing up fine so far.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:50 pm

sketch wrote:
berestovskyy wrote:12.01.2014 v0.4.6:
- updated "Unneeded node A/B" checks
Now it checks if the total length of the adjacent segments is less than 1km

Probably the limit should be adjusted, any suggestions?

Should be 10 km at the minimum. Rural and even suburban freeway segments can be much, much longer than 1 km.


Ok, so color me confused here. Why is length a factor? If there are two segments connected by a junction node (with no other roads coming into that node) and they're exactly the same on both sides, why would you want to leave the node there?

I've always been told that you should get rid of extraneous extra unneeded junction nodes since they can complicate the navigation features. Why should it matter how long the segments are as to whether or not they get highlighted? :?:

I'm failing to see why you would want an unneeded junction node in a road, let alone a bunch of them making short segments out of a longer stretch of road....

edit: By the way, the two-way default was not added to the beta editor. Validator and the Beta updated around the same time, so a few beta users thought it was the beta that did it, not Validator.

To that end: the two-way drawing preference should be disabled by default.


You're talking about having it disabled in the beta editor only, right? (Just want to be sure I understand what you're advocating :) ).
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:32 pm

sketch wrote:What I mean is that the box should be unchecked by default in both editors. Otherwise, users who are not aware of the change when Validator auto-updates may inadvertently start drawing 2-way segments where 1-ways are needed.


I see what you're saying in the rest of the message; however, given the ratio of two-way to one-way streets (and the fact that WME runs opposite of that, requiring you to have to remember to go change the direction after you draw a road), I'm not sure that's a problem.

Someone who's used to it will click on it, see the direction is already two-way, and move on after wondering about it for a minute or two.

I admit that I certainly don't know about where you live, but here on the west coast the vast majority of roads are two-way, not one-way. It seems to me to make a lot more sense to have the editor default to "two-way." (I'm constantly having to deal with roads that should have been two-way, but the person who created them didn't bother to change the direction from the default "one-way" setting.) Failing that, having it be a feature of an extension is nice.

People have their preferences, though. I wouldn't mind it being a clickable option, so long as it's one of the options that will "stick" so that you don't have to keep going back to change it to what you want, if you happen to want the opposite of the default setting.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:37 pm

berestovskyy wrote:
sketch wrote:Should be 10 km at the minimum. Rural and even suburban freeway segments can be much, much longer than 1 km.

There is a minor technical issue with long segments: if a node is out of the screen, WME does not load it. So Validator does not even trigger the group of checks which analyze both end nodes (for instance, "No inward connectivity" and 'Same endpoints')

If no complains on that - I'll increase the length limit.


Can I put in a request for a clickable option, then, that says something along the lines of "show unneeded junction nodes regardless of segment length?" :D

A lot of the stuff I edit is less than 1K in length and I want to get unneeded junction nodes off the road whenever possible. Having this tool call attention to them has been a big help. I'd really hate to lose that.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.0 (BETA) / 20.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:00 am

sketch wrote:It would be nice to have the extension give a pop-up warning when a new version resets all your settings, btw.


That would be nice, yes. :D
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.1 (BETA) / 21.01.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:31 pm

berestovskyy wrote:
ituajr wrote:Can roundabouts be excluded from the "same endpoint" test, please?

It was discussed here: page 7 and we decided to leave them. Let me know if I shall exclude roundabouts for you country.


I was involved in that conversation, and with all due respect to the others who commented on it, I remain unconvinced that currently there's any real probability of someone being routed down the wrong way in a raoundabout that only has two roads going to it (which is the only thing that triggers this particular alert in the Validator). CBenson gaven an example during that discussion of a toll road where toll was one way but not the other (on two one-way roads) and so people with "avoid toll" set would be routed down the wrong way street because it had the lower penalty. Since I've never seen a roundabout where it was toll in only one segment, I fail to see how the segment going the wrong way, which has a higher penalty than going the segment the correct way, is going to be the route that the navigator selects. Maybe there was a problem with it at one time, but I haven't seen anybody cite anything current where someone has been routed the wrong direction on a roundabout.

The "add roundabout" function in WME doesn't create an extra, third empty junction node and the Toolbox "redo roundabout" function doesn't do it, either.

Adding a third node by way of the usual trick (connect a blank road and delete it) results in a roundabout which no longer has sequential segment ID numbers, and that has been demonstrated to cause routing problems occasionally. Fixing that with the Toolbox "Redo Roundabout" tool properly removes the extraneous extra node because, well, there ain't no road there. :-)

I really think that this decision to have a two-road roundabout flagged with that "same segment" warning needs to be rethought. As it stands, I feel this same-segment warning on two-road roundabouts is going to encourage editors using the validator to create more problems on roundabouts than the alert is trying to solve.
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.9 (BETA) / 02.02.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:25 pm

berestovskyy wrote:
kentsmith9 wrote:I could have missed the discussion on this one, but how does this determine it is unnecessary?

If this one-way Ramp has a turn enabled to another one-way Ramp. Here is an example: permalink


I fail to see why that is an "unneeded name," given the length of the ramp. I've seen lots of named segments of that nature out here, and have been doing it that way all along, since it helps to provide guidance to drivers making their way to the freeway.

Sorry, maybe the condition is not sufficient for US, so please let me know if I shall disable the check for US or add more ifs.


I'd vote for that. :-) I'm still not sure it's applicable for anywhere else, though. Is there something in the Wiki that I've missed regarding freeway onramps?
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

Re: [Script] WME Validator 0.5.9 (BETA) / 02.02.2014

Postby SuperDave1426 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:32 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:Otherwise we have to add a node in the middle of one of the two segments on the roundabout. That seems like unnecessary work.


Not to mention that the minute you do that, you create a roundabout with non-sequential segment IDs, and I've read that can cause problems with navigation through a roundabout. The Toolbox will specifically flag such a roundabout as one which could cause potential problems (and if you use the "redo roundabout" tool, it will (quite properly, IMO) remove the extra node you just added because there's not actually a road attached to it).
SuperDave1426
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:27 pm
Location: Nevada, USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 284 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dfortney, oYOSOYMIKEo, umopapisdn