[Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.2)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby dspille » Sat May 06, 2017 1:06 pm

This is an amazing script. I just used it to draw the polygon for a new park from a county map. Thank you so much for this tool. Very easy to use.
Thanks,
dspille
Country Manager, Multi-State Manager - South Central Region

SCR Wiki
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
dspille
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:05 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 540 times
Been thanked: 151 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.8.3)

Postby dspille » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:49 pm

voludu2 wrote:Unfortunately,since the WME upgrade, I cannot see the WME Image Overlay tab.


Strange. It is still working for me.
Thanks,
dspille
Country Manager, Multi-State Manager - South Central Region

SCR Wiki
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
dspille
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:05 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 540 times
Been thanked: 151 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.0)

Postby dspille » Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:18 pm

bz2012 wrote:For some reason, I find that there is no-longer a way to name and save an overlay.
I still have those I have made earlier, but can't add to the list.

I thought there might be a hidden limit on how many I could have named, but even when I delete several, I can't add a new one.


Strange. Are you not seeing the little edit icon to the right of the name? It seems to be working for me.

[ img ]
Thanks,
dspille
Country Manager, Multi-State Manager - South Central Region

SCR Wiki
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
dspille
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:05 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Has thanked: 540 times
Been thanked: 151 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.1)

Postby GerardterBeke » Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:34 pm

With the last release of WME it seems Image Overlays is broken?
Country Manager Oman & the Netherlands
GerardterBeke
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.2)

Postby GerardterBeke » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:14 pm

This must be a record in Time To Fix. Thanks Tom!
Country Manager Oman & the Netherlands
GerardterBeke
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 37 times

[Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.2)

Postby Glodenox » Mon May 01, 2017 8:04 pm

This userscript allows you to add local images onto the map as background help while editing. This makes it possible to accurately draw roads that aren't available yet on satellite imagery with just a picture or screenshot.

[ img ]

How to use
The script adds a new tab where you can add new images to the map and find the current list of images already on the map. When adding a new image, you can choose a local file or paste an image from your clipboard. Once you've properly aligned the image and pinned it to the map, it will be stored locally on your computer for future use.

It is possible to export an image and all its properties (location on map, rotation, size, ...) with the "Export image" button when you have an image selected. You can import an image with the "Import image" button that is available if there is currently no image being displayed.

Installation instructions
In short: get it from GreasyFork.

Userscripts are snippets of code that are executed after the loading of certain webpages. This script does this after the loading of the Waze Map Editor. In order to run userscripts in your browser, you are adviced to use Firefox or Google Chrome.

You will need to install an add-on that manages userscripts for this to work. There's TamperMonkey for Firefox and Chrome.

These add-ons will be visible in the browser with an additional button that is visible to the right of the address bar. Through this button it will be possible to maintain any userscripts you install.
For WME Image Overlays, you should be able to install the script at Greasy Fork. There will be a big green install button which you will have to press to install the script.

After installing a userscript, you will be able to find it working on the site(s) specified. Do note that if you had the page open before installing the userscript, you will first need to refresh the page.

TamperMonkey will occasionally check for new versions of these scripts. You will get a notification when a new version has been found and installed.

Feedback and suggestions
Any issues found can be reported at the GitHub project page or in this forum thread.
Last edited by Glodenox on Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:05 pm, edited 17 times in total.
Reason: Release of version 1.4.0, which mainly moves the editing controls to the sidebar
Belgium & Luxembourg Coordinator • Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 1358 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Glodenox » Tue May 02, 2017 1:20 pm

I'd still like to improve the controls to add the image, but adding those without fighting with the existing WME controls is a bit difficult. For now those buttons should suffice though :)
Belgium & Luxembourg Coordinator • Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 1358 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Glodenox » Wed May 03, 2017 9:25 pm

iainhouse wrote:Would it be possible to add some buttons for finer adjustments to the image size when aligning it?

The buttons already allow for finer adjustments the more you are zoomed in :) They basically scale with the zoom level of the map. Only the rotation buttons keep working in multiples of 0.5 degrees at all times. I've tried several small and big images and that always worked well enough. It's not always possible to have a 100% match, but it should be good enough to draw roads or add places.

iainhouse wrote:An opacity slider or control during alignment might be useful too. :mrgreen:

An opacity slider already becomes available in the image overlays tab after you've selected an image to align. Perhaps you moved to another tab and didn't notice it that way? I decided to leave the opacity slider and parent map selector there as they were already present there for later adjustments.
Belgium & Luxembourg Coordinator • Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 1358 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Glodenox » Thu May 04, 2017 12:47 pm

The only thing the script currently doesn't allow is stretching images in a horizontal or vertical way only. But I'm not certain whether I should try to add that as such images generally can't be relied on to accurately draw roads on the map.
Belgium & Luxembourg Coordinator • Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 1358 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Glodenox » Fri May 05, 2017 8:03 am

Has the English (GB) identifier changed again then? :( At least it's consistent now. I'll get it fixed later today.

I could provide a sensitivity slider below the controls, though I've always seen those controls as a temporary solution anyway. My current train of thought is to add handles to the image that allow you to resize/rotate/transform it, but make the buttons show up in a corner of the map whenever you've zoomed in on the image so much that you can't use those handles any more to adjust the image. I know that it's possible to implement this and mostly know how to do it. I just need to check how practical it would be to use.

I had thought about adjusting the image after it has been attached, but I couldn't find any often occurring use case that warrants the changes in the work flow that would be needed. Allowing adjustments later on would also make it slightly harder for me to implement an alternative way of aligning the image to the map, but I'd rather not talk about that yet before I've actually tried it out.
Belgium & Luxembourg Coordinator • Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ]
Glodenox
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:04 pm
Location: Belgium
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 1358 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: e-sarge, jm6087, Mapman44, MapOMatic