[Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:08 pm

SunDevil2213 wrote:I realize some may see value in adding a different color for temporarily closed places, but a suggestion would be to add an option to not highlight temporarily closed places for those of us who don't see the value in it. Due to COVID, a ton of stuff is temporarily closed, so now I'm seeing yellow around everything and my mind thinks there's problems everywhere. Appreciate the work and effort you put in to this, don't get me wrong, but I'd rather be able to turn this new feature off.

Cheers
Ryan

Do you not mark the Waze Places temporarily closed? If you are, how do you know they are temp closed? This should make it far easier to do so.

Something having a highlight doesn't mean there is necessarily a problem, just that something might need your attention.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 2508 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:21 pm

jm6087 wrote:
JustinS83 wrote:Do you not mark the Waze Places temporarily closed? If you are, how do you know they are temp closed? This should make it fair easier to do so.

Something having a highlight doesn't mean there is necessarily a problem, just that something might need your attention.


I wouldn't mark the place as temporarily closed in WME, that just means having to remember which ones are no longer temp closed and changing things back.

BUT

I think the highlight is extremely valuable because when we get a PUR marking a place closed, we can see that it is temporary and not permanent.

Well, I certainly wouldn't mark school as temp closed, but businesses...possibly? It is better to mark something temp closed so a user doesn't route to it to find out it is closed, IMO.

Cleaning them up afterward can be time consuming, but URs stating they are no longer temp closed help with that and so do tools that let you highlight or search for Places with "temporarily closed" in the name. You can actually fairly easily do that with Enhanced Search: /temporarily closed/, or PIE's filter option to show only places with "temporarily closed" (although I do need to update that to clear the displayed names :? ) in the name.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 2508 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:24 pm

SunDevil2213 wrote:I get that there is value - in certain circumstances - to see that highlighting. I just don't want to see places all over the map marked with this new yellow because my mind is thinking it's a duplicated Google place. It would be nice to be able to toggle just this feature on/off so it could be easily used in the case you described (checking a PUR), but it diminishes my experience to always see this highlighting all the time everywhere. Like I said, I know you guys put a lot of work into this stuff and the "nice to have" stuff is probably a lot more complicated to implement. So I'll just disable the link enhancer.


Not saying I won't add it at all, just trying to understand the need for it to justify making the change. I doubt I'll be able to get it done today (have to modify two scripts to do so) but I'll add it to my list.
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 2508 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:55 pm

Update released - 2020.08.17.01

Added option to hide the temporary closed Places highlight from Google Link Enhancer
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 2508 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Mon Sep 07, 2020 3:05 am

Horizon911 wrote:Since approx 2 days ago I've started to experience the problem related to PIE (version 2020.08.17.02):
When "Enable geometry modification options" is enabled, I cannot successfully select area places. After clicking the area place, the geometrical nodes appear for a second and than disappear. The place remains selected, but I cannot modify its shape.


Do you have the resize option enabled? This is the only time this "issue" is seen and the tooltip tells you exactly what is going to happen.

[ img ]
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 2508 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby JustinS83 » Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:31 pm

sh-oded wrote:From today, Hebrew names are displaying LTR and not RTL.
Probably true for other RTL languages.
Probably prod WME was updated, since till today it was only in the Beta WME.

What names are you referring to?
Script Writing Community Coordinator
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
JustinS83
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:33 am
Location: Franklin, OH
Has thanked: 354 times
Been thanked: 2508 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby Kartografer » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:57 pm

Toolbox can change your point place display threshold from Z5 to Z3. Are you using it?
[ img ]
Galaxy S9 running Pie on Mint
SM Ohio, AM New Mexico, South Dakota
Wazeopedia projects
Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.
-John 8:32
Kartografer
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1181
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Has thanked: 548 times
Been thanked: 773 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby Kkervinjones » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:17 am

With the latest production of WME (and beta), with PIE (v2018.04.24.02) enabled, I seem to be having problems adding point places onto the map. Whenever I select a new point place menu option, the mouse cursor remains the same, without the 'point place' hovering with it (the hovering point seems to get stuck just under the menu in the grey bar).

If I click in the grey bar, when trying to add a new Point Place, the place is added, but the following console error shows:
Code: Select all
userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5989 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'id' of undefined
    at createPlace (userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5989)
    at endPlacementMode (userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5928)
    at HTMLDivElement.eval (userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5812)
    at HTMLDivElement.dispatch (vendor-c9d9d1a….js:24)
    at HTMLDivElement.p.handle (vendor-c9d9d1a….js:24)
createPlace   @   userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5989
endPlacementMode   @   userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5928
(anonymous)   @   userscript.html?id=5…2-12aa2e9589de:5812
dispatch   @   vendor-c9d9d1a….js:24
p.handle   @   vendor-c9d9d1a….js:24

If I switch PIE off, and refresh, I can add Point Places as normal.

I'm able to add Area Places ok. So obvious workaround is to add an area place and convert it to a point.

I've switched all other scripts and toolbox off, so there's no interference from anything else.
Keith
UK Country Manager and Local Champ
Area Manager for North West England and the Isle of Man
Google Pixel 5

[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
Kkervinjones
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: Runcorn, UK
Has thanked: 1096 times
Been thanked: 858 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby Kkervinjones » Sat Nov 23, 2019 11:39 pm

Anyone noticed that when you hover over a Gas/Petrol Station brand the external provider distance indicator is showing? I'm sure it didn't do this before.

[ img ]

No harm done, but it did confused me for a minute.
Keith
UK Country Manager and Local Champ
Area Manager for North West England and the Isle of Man
Google Pixel 5

[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
Kkervinjones
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: Runcorn, UK
Has thanked: 1096 times
Been thanked: 858 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Interface Enhancements

Postby Kkervinjones » Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:31 pm

Ok, I think I found out more about the symptoms. It's only showing distances for the first few Gas Station brands, and it only does it after I've done a search for an external provider. The distances given are in the same order that they are in the external providers list, making me think the two are being linked together.

In the below examples, I'm hovering over the second option in the list - Shell Island which is 113mi away. I'm then hovering second option in the Brands list - ASDA, and it shows it's 113mi away.

I've only found this by accident. Not a major issue, but it did confuse me when I was looking at Brands.

[ img ]
[ img ]
Keith
UK Country Manager and Local Champ
Area Manager for North West England and the Isle of Man
Google Pixel 5

[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
Kkervinjones
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: Runcorn, UK
Has thanked: 1096 times
Been thanked: 858 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dfortney, jm6087