More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:51 pm

Despite Waze employees repeatedly assuring us that Map Problems algorithms use the latest GPS data which we cannot even see on the GPS layer, here's more proof that this is a load of crap.

https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

The three new map problems here are totally bogus. The T-intersection was replaced by a roundabout as shown in the editor three weeks ago. I have drives proving this to be true. Yet the Map Problems, which just appeared today (I cleaned all problems around this area yesterday), show old GPS traces where there simply is no road any longer. It's been removed. No one has driven along these "latest drives" in over three weeks. Why did these just appear now?

Here's a screenshot of a drive I took back on June 12 through the new roundabout as more "proof" for Waze to fix the damn Map Problems algorithms:

Screen Shot 2012-06-27 at 9.48.10 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-06-27 at 9.48.10 AM.png (421.35 KiB) Viewed 1335 times


And compare to the "Latest Drives" garbage:

Screen Shot 2012-06-27 at 9.50.10 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-06-27 at 9.50.10 AM.png (377.45 KiB) Viewed 1335 times


I sent a pissed-off message to support.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:02 pm

:x I didn't realize that there was any question at this point that the GPS data used to generate map problems is old. The last I had heard the explanation was they needed to use old GPS data to make sure they generated all the relevant map problems. I will attest that examples like you posted happen quite frequently.

It is also a problem that the GPS layer is not updating. When you are trying to keep up with road changes in a construction zone it would be so much easier if you had up to date GPS tracks to rely on.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1065 times
Been thanked: 2340 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby mapcat » Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:06 pm

9 out of 10 map problems are bogus. Just get rid of the damn thing!
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby CBenson » Wed Jun 27, 2012 5:11 pm

I'm not up to 9 out 10. The map problems still identify many erroneous turn restrictions around here. But the majority are either bogus or irrelevant.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1065 times
Been thanked: 2340 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:11 pm

I've seen evidence of current GPS tracks, but if we're seeing GPS tracks from the past 6 months, they're no good in a situation like Alan's. I ran into a similar problem with a bridge that's being "improved", resulting in shifts in lanes every few weeks. The IGN editors kept putting the roads back where they used to be based on the old GPS tracks.

The old GPS tracks should go away when they're 14 or 21 days older than the newest tracks.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7571
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 402 times
Been thanked: 970 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby gettingthere » Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:50 pm

mapcat wrote:9 out of 10 map problems are bogus. Just get rid of the damn thing!


Let me clarify:

Get rid of the missing road map problems. 9 our of 10 are bogus.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby gettingthere » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:01 pm

Below is the announcement that AlanOfTheBerg is referring to - posted on March 18, 2012. I agree that the GPS Point Layer updating IS NOT WORKING. Recently I have seen Map Problems generated from GPS tracks data that were from April 2012.

So we need to let Shirli know that we are encountering issues! But surely they will say this is due to the influx of Waze 3.2 users even though we know that this HAS NEVER BEEN WORKING PROPERLY since WME was released.

Also, I am also wondering why we need data from the last 6 months. I agree with jasonh300 that there should be a few weeks old data at most. And if the missing road map problems must stay (please get rid of them!) they should only be considering the most recent GPS point data.

http://status.waze.com/gps-points-layer ... tor-both-n

"GPS POINTS LAYER IN THE NEW MAP EDITOR (BOTH NA AND INTL)

Some good news -

The GPS layer is now updating on a regular basis on both INTL and NA map editors.

The layer is updating every few days (usually cycles of 1 week or less).

The GPS layer is supposed to include GPS points from the last 6 months.

PLEASE NOTE that in some areas we filter the GPS points and we do not necessarily display all of them. It happens mostly in busy areas.

Please let us know if you encounter any issues.

Thanks!

Shirli"
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby gettingthere » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:08 pm

To complete AlanOfTheBerg's screen shots of his example, proof that the GPS points layer is showing old data (in addition to the Map Problem Layer).

How in the heck can we update the Waze map, while only reference data that is in available in WME (vs. other sources of more up to date aerials), when we cannot rely on the GPS Points layer?

GPSPoints.JPG
GPSPoints.JPG (43.86 KiB) Viewed 1300 times
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby CBenson » Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:43 am

gettingthere wrote:
mapcat wrote:9 out of 10 map problems are bogus. Just get rid of the damn thing!


Let me clarify:

Get rid of the missing road map problems. 9 our of 10 are bogus.

Alright. That's hard to argue against.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10306
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1065 times
Been thanked: 2340 times

Re: More evidence Map Problems use OLD GPS DATA

Postby floppyrod84 » Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:41 am

Yeah I have that here near Manston Airport. There were building changes resulting in a new road layout. Still no gps tracks and it's been built for oohh about 5 months or so. I have driven through the new roads myself several times, like months ago, so this affects us too.
I rarely see map problems these days but would like to keep it as is, we're quite a bit behind map wise.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Next

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users