Report routing timeouts

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby Forensisch » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:15 pm

Trying to get a route from Antwerp (Belgium) to Les Menuires (France) does not find a route. From Les Menuires to Antwerp Waze does find a route?

Where on the map does it go wrong?
Forensisch
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 4:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby ErcDaMerc » Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:27 pm

This happened when trying to navigate across multiple states (in USA). I was in Pittsburgh, PA trying to get to Detroit, MI and Ohio is in between. Navigation worked just fine once I crossed into Ohio... I did submit a report.
ErcDaMerc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:51 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA - USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby epj3 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 3:56 pm

I get routing timeouts (like clockwork) Friday during evening rush hour (between 3-7pm) -- genuinely when I need it the most :( Works fine every other day!
epj3
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 7:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby eichmat » Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:27 pm

Timeouts on two phones (both Moto X on Verizon, 4.4.2)...
Image
eichmat
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:28 am
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby drclaudiopires » Mon Jul 08, 2013 6:51 pm

The WAZE - the better app/ipad, the Best!
drclaudiopires
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby DonnaQi » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:52 pm

Is anyone else having trouble with the GPS function? Since yesterday WAZE keeps telling me there is no GPS signal (even in open road) and stops working? Is it me or the app?

Thanks
DonnaQi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:49 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby dknight212 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:50 pm

I've just come back from a long trip in the UK with me manually repeatedly forcing Waze to recalculate alternative routes and I didn't see any routing server timeouts at all. Much better than the past few months. :D
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby dknight212 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:10 am

aSystemOverload wrote:Yeah, def make it opensource for 12 months. :P Personally I like feedback, whilst it's finding a route, you know like doing something at command prompt. Maybe an option you can edit in the [Preferences] file:

user.wants.feedback = yes
user.wants.feedback.level= plenty

along with

user.wants.allroutes.displayed-whilst-driving-over40 = yes
user.wants.a-decent-favourites-manager = yes


It's annoying, we're fighting to get basic functionality, whilst 'normal' GPS systems know how many lanes multi-lane highways have and other stuff. GET IT SORTED!!! (Please)


user.wants.systemtowork = please
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby dknight212 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:09 am

RallyChris wrote:
foxitrot wrote:
dknight212 wrote:There are some areas not yet well mapped that will timeout easily.

Have you meant that seriously? If I understood you correctly, the routing server should possibly time out because of a hard-to-find route? This would be a manifestation of a really crappy communication protocol :shock:


Correct. Instead of the routing server given an error stating that it hasn't found a route yet, and is giving up... you get a timeout error.

I'm of the same opinion... bad design.


Yep, for debugging it would be so much better to distinguish between the two states.
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

Re: Re: Report routing timeouts

Postby dknight212 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:12 pm

jmmo20 wrote:
petervdveen wrote:Where do you live, what waze version do you use, what phone do you have and what is your OS version? ;)

There where some problems yesterday between 15.00 - 18.30 (UTC +2)



UK, last version for iOS and ive been having continuous problems for two weeks now.
i.e. in two weeks i've only managed to plot a 60mi route ONCE, and it all went to hell when I clicked on "Alternative routes".


Where in UK? There are some areas not yet well mapped that will timeout easily. On the other hand, I've had more timeouts than normal lately.

David, using Tapatalk
dknight212
 
Posts: 4962
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:21 am
Location: London, UK
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 635 times

PreviousNext

Return to Navigation & Routing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users