[Script] WME Place Harmonizer

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:42 pm

The script error report feature is now opening a PM window with no recipient defined. I assume that is due to MoM taking some time off? Without knowing where else to send said reports.....

-------------------

Script version: 2019.10.30.001
Permalink: https://www.waze.com/en-US/editor?env=u ... 17.6992354
Place name:
Country: United States
--------
Describe the error:

Is it still intended behavior to flag alphanumeric RPPs?
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 539 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:35 pm

It's combination of the two conditions that bring the alert. Waze places should of course have a google link, but if one isn't available or wasn't added when it was last edited, this alert is the result of a six month timer to have an editor check it again for validity. Either by finding and adding the google link if one has become available, or "nudging" it to confirm that it is still as correct as possible despite not having a google link. If the latter, it will alert again after another six months.

Sometimes these alerts are inescapable for certain place types that just aren't going to be listed on google, but a gas station should definitely have a google listing available for linking after six months.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 539 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:03 pm

Feature request. As usual, since I'm not a script writer, I don't know if I'm asking for the impossible.

* Add a button to copy the Google Place name into the name field in Waze.

It's quite common to find a place in Waze linked to its GMaps counterpart, but the Waze place name was bungled up by the submitter fumbling on their mobile device, giving only a partial name ("Smith", instead of "Smith Auto Parts"), or using all lower case, or other typos. GMaps nearly always has the correctly-formatted name. Would love to have a one-click way to copy the GMaps name up to the Waze name.

For that matter, if that can be done, would be equally great to have another one-click option to transfer the address up, too.

Another case for this name fix function would be that sometimes a business changes its name, or closes and another reopens at that location, and the GMaps place link remains attached but the Waze name is then totally wrong.

Would need to build it in a way that if multiple GMaps places are linked, to either choose which one, or block the function and require manual intervention.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 970
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 539 times
Been thanked: 348 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby sketch » Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:39 pm

MapOMatic wrote:Glad it's working for you! I think for your suggestion to work, the name would need to be blank and Post Office set as the category (then click the "Run WMEPH" button). Is that what you're thinking?

I would think it easier to type "Post Office - XXX" then hit the button and have WMEPH set the category than to set the category and have WMEPH type in "Post Office - " especially when you have to type in that box anyway.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • beta leader • tier one • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6474
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Nouvelle-Orléans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Has thanked: 2123 times
Been thanked: 2584 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby sketch » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:30 pm

dspille wrote:
steelpanz wrote:There are some attributes, such as "wheelchair accessible," that I suppose I just haven't thought about NOT applying to a place, given the assumption of the ADA and how I'm assuming all places I'm editing comply with that act.

I think there could be older buildings that may not be required to be ADA compliant yet, unless they undergo a significant renovation.

Indeed. So we must be careful. As MOM said, but especially with wheelchair accessibility, not having the icon there will be read as "we don't know", having the icon there as "definitely accessible", and creating this false hope can seriously inconvenience wheelchair users.

Plenty of old buildings around here that aren't ADA compliant because they weren't built before and haven't been renovated since whenever it went effective in the early 1990s.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
assistant regional coordinator • south central region • usa
waze global champ • beta leader • tier one • new orleans
2017 chevrolet ss sedan 6mt • slipstream blue metallic
[ img ] [ img ]
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6474
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Nouvelle-Orléans, Louisiane, États-Unis
Has thanked: 2123 times
Been thanked: 2584 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby steelpanz » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:40 pm

Thanks for the shortcut to add a stop point. I haven't seen that until this morning. Much appreciated.
steelpanz
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK, US
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby steelpanz » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:19 pm

As far as a PLA is concerned, is it possible (or even safe) to assume that a parking lot contains accessible parking? In other words, when running the script, could there be an option to auto-toggle the accessible parking flag to save yet another step?
steelpanz
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK, US
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby steelpanz » Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:43 pm

SuperDave1426 wrote:
steelpanz wrote:As far as a PLA is concerned, is it possible (or even safe) to assume that a parking lot contains accessible parking? In other words, when running the script, could there be an option to auto-toggle the accessible parking flag to save yet another step?

IMO, that wouldn't be a good option to have set. There are too many cases where there aren't handicapped spaces available. It's only a one-button click, how hard is that while clicking the others as you work your way through them? ;)


Truth, but remember that we are at the point where we are in WMEPH because the phrase "it's only a one-button click" was uttered and dreamers dreamed of days where even more buttons wouldn't have to be clicked anymore. :)
steelpanz
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK, US
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby steelpanz » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:47 pm

Looks like some of the PLA space quantities are overlapping in their space

As always, thanks for all the work you do on this. Such an awesome script.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
(12 KiB) Downloaded 1527 times
steelpanz
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK, US
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: [Script] WME Place Harmonizer v1.3

Postby steelpanz » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:05 pm

It appears the street name button does not work with the rollout of 2.0.x.
steelpanz
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:03 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK, US
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 45 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jm6087, Mythdraug