[Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.2)

Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein, Glodenox, JustinS83

Forum rules
Discussion for the unofficial, community-developed addons, extensions and scripts built for the Waze Map Editor.

DO NOT START a new thread unless it is about a new idea. Keep discussion of existing tools within the main thread for that tool.

The official index of these tools is the Community Plugins, Extensions and Tools wiki page.

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.0)

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Thu Aug 08, 2019 5:52 pm

atrophicshiner wrote:
SeveriorumPatrem wrote:...I hadn't realized it did that when I put this together, but was brought to my attention by the great iainhouse, lol. :oops: :lol:


Confess, how much did he pay you :!: :?:


Sorry, that's covered in the standard NDA, so can't comment. :lol:
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 589 times
Been thanked: 407 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.1)

Postby SeveriorumPatrem » Mon Dec 16, 2019 5:07 pm

Horizon911 wrote:Very good script, thanks for it. :)
btw: It would be nice, if user could pick a color (or more colors) and make them (fully) transparent. This would help in cases when user works with pdf leafets and similar materials, resp. their screenshots.)


Strong idea, but that functionality is already supported in other applications, hard to justify the work needed to do it (and maintain it) here. Personally, I usually edit images on Pixlr to accomplish those kinds of changes if they're needed, before bringing them into WME with this script.

http://www.pixlr.com

I also usually convert PDFs into images with CloudConvert, when it's a multi-page PDF, before using them here, too. For cases where just grabbing a screenshot clip for whatever reason isn't practical.

www.cloudconvert.com
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
The Grumpy Dad
The more I learn, the more I discover how much I don't know.
SeveriorumPatrem
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:05 pm
Location: SW Washington State
Has thanked: 589 times
Been thanked: 407 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby steveinark » Fri May 05, 2017 4:35 pm

Great script. Coupled with actual drives using high accuracy GPS and then importing those files ... this script helps with areas we can't get to. Really rounds out new area mapping capability. THANK YOU!
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 167 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.4.0)

Postby steveinark » Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:01 pm

And we could assume file conversion to a supported type image would be much simpler to accomplish for some files.
[ img ]
Arkansas State Mgr (SM)
South Central Region Multi-State Mgr (MSM): AR + Louisiana - Mississippi - Oklahoma - Texas
Steve (Eureka Springs, AR)
steveinark
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Has thanked: 505 times
Been thanked: 167 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.3.0)

Postby SunDevil2213 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:30 pm

Script appears to be broken...Once I import an image and attach it to the map, after a refresh of WME, the Image is no longer there.
SunDevil2213
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:30 pm
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.2.0)

Postby turbomkt » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:33 pm

Does exporting include the scaling, location on WME, etc? So it's simply import and it's automatically back to how it was when you attached to the map in the first place?
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 370 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.2.0)

Postby turbomkt » Sun Jan 06, 2019 4:21 pm

Would still love to get the export functionality... :)
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 370 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.3.1)

Postby turbomkt » Tue May 28, 2019 3:50 am

iainhouse wrote:Since this brought the script to mind, I thought of another suggestion.

I know some people have commented about the fairly large bar the script places across the top of the screen; particularly once you've added the editing controls. Is it worth placing those control buttons in the LH panel?

You already have some controls there. I don't have the biggest of screens, but it looks like there's room there for the array of buttons, leaving more space on the map to see where you're placing your image.

Or a floating panel?
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 370 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (1.3.1)

Postby turbomkt » Thu May 30, 2019 5:27 pm

Justin uses one for RA Utility, right?
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 370 times

Re: [Script] WME Image Overlays (0.7)

Postby Twister-UK » Thu May 04, 2017 12:43 pm

Sounds good - I'll have to give it a try and see how much time it saves compared with my usual workflow of screengrabbing the section of WME I'm about to edit, pasting this and the site plan image into GIMP, scaling/rotating/aligning the latter to fit the former, then aligning the GIMP window with the browser window and finally alt-TABbing between the two like an old-school animator flicking between two frames to check one against the other as I start adding in the new roads...

...I suspect the answer will be "quite a lot"!
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


[ img ][ img ][ img ]
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 3612 times

PreviousNext

Return to Addons, Extensions, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Doctorblah