Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby turbomkt » Sun May 03, 2020 12:51 am

sebgoulettva wrote:
turbomkt wrote:
sebgoulettva wrote:Some railroad crossings have been added near my house, but they are not road crossings (pedestrian only). Yet, they show up on the map during drives. Who can help me remove them? (they are blanked out when I try to remove them in the editor)


Is this in Canada?


Yes. Boucherville, QC


Thanks. I have pointed your post out to someone who can help.

You can also try posting in one of the forums specific to Canada.
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1279
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 489 times
Been thanked: 351 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby turbomkt » Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:39 am

Shane3020 wrote:How do I turn this ANNOYING feature off???


Here's a little more helpful response. Go into Settings then Alerts & Reports. Tap reports. Tap Railroad Crossing and choose the setting you prefer.
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1279
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 489 times
Been thanked: 351 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby turbomkt » Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:30 pm

Did anything else get changed to trigger a tile update?
turbomkt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1279
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:05 am
Location: San Diego, Ca
Has thanked: 489 times
Been thanked: 351 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby usa_pdwz000d » Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:31 pm

This alert is very annoying and how do you SHUT IT OFF!!!!
usa_pdwz000d
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby Vespucci41 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:57 am

Hi Everyone,

We are happy to announce that Railroad Crossing is now Enabled in WME Production.

Some facts on how the feature works:

  • Railroad crossing alert: When a railroad crossing is mapped as such in WME, users will receive an alert in the app.
  • The component: To make this feature happen, we decided to reuse a component you are already familiar with. The flow in WME is based on the concept of the speed cams, just without the speed field.
  • Adding a crossing: Railroad crossings can be added under Road > Railroad crossing and is displayed on a seperate layer. When adding crossings, you need to place alerts on both sides of the crossing pointing both towards the crossing.
  • Permissions: For the initial launch we’ve asked for a global L4 lock that can later be configured per country & object.
  • Data Imports & verification: To get you started we’ve decided to import data from the Federal Railroad Administration database in the US (database contains 100,000 crossings after we cleaned it up a little bit already).

    We imported data also for France and Canada.

You can find some visuals attached.

Some additional things to be mindful of:

  • For a very brief testing period (yet to be determined), the alerts will appear as dummy cameras to non-beta users. Only beta users will see the railroad crossing alert. So please only add railroad crossings for testing for now, not for mapping large amounts.

    EDIT
  • Currently client testing is limited to beta testers.

FAQ from Beta release notes
delilush wrote:How far away should it be placed from the tracks?
In proximity to the tracks. We'll leave the specific guidance for the local communities and we'll learn more about it during testing.

Does the feature belong to high attention zone feature?
Yes, though the implementation is different in this case than suggested in the original idea for the HAZs. As many mentioned, this is a very common issue we receive across the board from our users and partners (more than some other HAZs) so we went ahead to implement it with our existing infrastructure. This does not mean that other HAZ will be implemented in this way as well. Development on other HAZs has not yet started.

How will the data imports work for other countries?
We are not certain about this yet. Meanwhile if you have open datasources we could use for your countries, you can start adding them to this sheet. I can't promise though that imports will happen for all countries, but we'd love to hear where you see good opportunities.

If we add new crossing alerts, are the next round of imports going to create duplicates?
Yes, if you are in the US and are adding a crossing, eventually a duplicate will be imported. This is why we created the guidance to only map for testing purposes for now.

Is the feature designed for all kind of rail crossing (with or without barriers) or for railroad crossing without barriers only?
We will leave this decision to local guidance. Of course different levels of attention are required by drivers depending on the physical safety precautions taken on a junction.

Since this is based on the camera feature, will we need to make a trigger edit for the crossings to go live on the next tile update?
We need to check on that. For now I encourage the alpha group to test it as well.

What was the advantage of implementing the alert this way? In North America, most every railroad crossing is mapped as a junction with road segments. It seems like it would have been far simpler to program Waze to alert if the driver's route is about to pass through a junction node that includes a segment of Railroad type.
In this case, we determined that a mapping solution, controlled by the community, is a better option.

Best,
Daliah



Best,
Ruben
Attachments
sbV_lZ7VDTPYFpdFOT8mzZw.png
(123.54 KiB) Downloaded 1183 times
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:53 am
Has thanked: 218 times
Been thanked: 3371 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby Vespucci41 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:50 pm

iainhouse wrote:
Vespucci41 wrote:We’re bringing a very cool & highly confidential new feature to beta -

Either this post is in the wrong forum, or that text shouldn't be there. :lol:


Indeed edited the post :)
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:53 am
Has thanked: 218 times
Been thanked: 3371 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby Vespucci41 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 2:30 pm

abc1357 wrote:
Vespucci41 wrote:
Some additional things to be mindful of:

  • For a very brief testing period (yet to be determined), the alerts will appear as dummy cameras to non-beta users. Only beta users will see the railroad crossing alert. So please only add railroad crossings for testing for now, not for mapping large amounts.
  • Currently client testing is limited to a small alpha group. We expect to widen the beta circle next week



This is confusing. Does the alerts show for alpha group only, beta users, or all users?


Sorry for the confusion, edited with the current situation.
The feature is currently available for all beta testers.
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:53 am
Has thanked: 218 times
Been thanked: 3371 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby Vespucci41 » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:55 pm

jm6087 wrote:Ruben,

Can you confirm for us, does a RRC need to be "verified"/"approved" to show in the app? I think we are hearing reports that the imports (even though not "verified"/"approved") are showing in the app?



Even non verified one will appear in the app. It's just an indication for Editor to verify the imports.
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:53 am
Has thanked: 218 times
Been thanked: 3371 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby Vespucci41 » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:56 pm

Sapozhnik wrote:When it will be visible in app?
You anonsed it in public forum, editors start use it but users will see cameras and will send UReports.
As I understand, users US see more 100.000 dummy cameras


Is now open to everyone in the client. :mrgreen:
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:53 am
Has thanked: 218 times
Been thanked: 3371 times

Re: Railroad Crossing now Enabled!

Postby Vespucci41 » Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:46 am

alexnrocha wrote:Hi Ruben,

Could you address to the localization team or check if alert in the app was added to the Transifex resources? Here, we see the alert in English only (string not found in Transifex) :(

Language: Portuguese (Brazil)
[ img ]



Will check on that!
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:53 am
Has thanked: 218 times
Been thanked: 3371 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DrLouiss, SpencerFG