The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Post Reply

New Editor version 2.86-2 & 2.86-3

Post by Vespucci41
Hi,

Hope you're all doing well.

A new WME version has been released with many exciting updates and much expected bug fixes!

We are trying this new format this time for better organization and visibility.

Let us know what you think about it and if you prefer the previous format (release notes directly in the forum post) or this one (embed doc)





This is the link to the release notes file in case you wanna read it directly in docs.


Thanks!


Ruben on behalf of the WME team
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Vespucci41
Waze Team
Waze Team
Posts: 908
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 1316 times

Post by Trystanv86
 
Hi Trystanv86,

Were you able to log in? If not, could you please share a screen recording of the issue?

Have you tried logging in with your username and with your email as well?

Thanks!
 
 
Yes into the Waze main page, then when selecting the map editor from the dropdown under my profile on the top right the page would load but it just stays stuck on the loading page with the blue circle just spinning around indefinitely
 
Edit : added screenshot


 
Trystanv86
Posts: 67
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Last edited by Trystanv86 on Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post by Trystanv86
maiapas wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:16 pm
Trystanv86 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 11:36 am


Hi Trystanv86,

Were you able to log in? If not, could you please share a screen recording of the issue?

Have you tried logging in with your username and with your email as well?

Thanks!
 
 
Yes into the Waze main page, then when selecting the map editor from the dropdown under my profile on the top right the page would load but it just stays stuck on the loading page with the blue circle just spinning around indefinitely
 


 
Please try to access using waze.com/editor and let me know how it goes :) 
 

 
Same result as before, just the never ending spinning circle
 
Trystanv86
Posts: 67
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by Trystanv86
LostInMyMaps wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 3:49 am
Same result as before, just the never ending spinning circle
Try clearing your cookies.

 
Did that already with no success, also tried different browsers
Trystanv86
Posts: 67
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by turbomkt
linguasaltitante wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 2:42 pm
jm6087 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 11:54 am
linguasaltitante wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 7:49 am
Personally I do not see any advantage to leave it on screen, but see the GIF: the blue/gray toggle shouldn't change according to "snapshot" on/off?  :roll:

 
The reason it was requested is because there are many editors who want the ability to quickly switch between live and snapshot mode while researching issues.

The toggle button allows the quick switch 

 
But we already have that ability to quickly switch between live and snapshot mode :? 

We just need to click on that small smartphone icon :arrow: see GIF https://ibb.co/x3ZYx5z

You may say that it is not very intuitive that way, but the ability is there.

But despite having it always on or not ... you can see on my other GIF image that the blue/gray toggle is not changing color according to live/snapshot mode
 

 
We may have different ideas of "quickly".  As John demonstrated, it's possible to toggle between the two maps without moving the mouse.  Using what's in production, when you toggle snapshot off the toggle goes away.  Then you have to mouse over to the icon again to go back to snapshot mode.  

I often toggle back and forth between views when I'm trying to evaluate the changes of junior editors.

I would argue it's less effort to click the X to clear the toggle, than it is to go back to snapshot mode after the toggle disappears.
turbomkt
Coordinators
Coordinators
Posts: 1684
Answers: 2
Has thanked: 396 times
Been thanked: 374 times
--Mike
ARC for Southwest Region

Post by Twister-UK
scottrm20 wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 4:11 am Display issue.png
 When selecting a segment (the specific one below) you get a blue/teal painting over the map.  

PL: https://www.waze.com/en-US/editor?env=u ... s=56106080

Happens in Prod, Practice Mode, incognito.  Reproducible 

Image attached


I did accidently update part of the segment which seems to have resolved this bug, however you can look at the previous tile build to see it still 
 
 

 
I've been seeing a similar rendering problem in scriptless WME with the green GPS traces on some URs.  Can't find an example to link to right now, but based on how often I've seen it since this WME release landed, I'd say it's probably affecting around 2-3% of all URs which have trace data attached.
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
Posts: 3894
Has thanked: 546 times
Been thanked: 3237 times
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


https://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/beta.pnghttps://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/s0300.pnghttps://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/c5s.png

Post by vince1612
About wrong MP's

Staff have come back from their Friday-Saturday weekend and while they didn't post here yet, GCs, who also alerted them through another channel got confirmation from them around 4-5h ago that they opened a ticket internally and begun investigating the issue.

So they're aware and checking, let's wait for more information from them.
 
vince1612
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
Posts: 9030
Has thanked: 2147 times
Been thanked: 2857 times
https://i.ibb.co/ZNbYyt5/RIPIain.png R.I.P. Iainhouse - Oct 21st 2021

https://storage.googleapis.com/wazeoped ... v18.10.png
Wiki & Forum: Wiki CH (D)(FR) | Forum CH (D) (FR) (I)
Website: waze-switzerland.ch | Facebook: Waze Switzerland
1+1=3 - The result of bringing talents together goes beyond simply adding them up.

Post by turbomkt
Sorry but I'm not understanding: you can click as much times you want on the "smartphone" icon without moving the mouse and you toggle between snapshot mode images/smilies/icon_exclaim.gif

images/smilies/icon_arrow.gif see GIF https://i.ibb.co/Lr0xWzL/Animation.gif
 Thanks for sharing that.  It's not intuitive when they provide a different element on screen to turn it off.
turbomkt
Coordinators
Coordinators
Posts: 1684
Answers: 2
Has thanked: 396 times
Been thanked: 374 times
--Mike
ARC for Southwest Region

Post by Trystanv86
Any update on the issue of it not loading at all? Ever since this last update it has not loaded for me at all....
Trystanv86
Posts: 67
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Post by Trystanv86
Yep doesn't load at all, I can login into the main site but when I go to the editor, all I get is the blank page with the little blue circle turning indefinitely and this only started with this latest update... also tried erasing cookies and clearing cache, different browsers and same result on all
Trystanv86
Posts: 67
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 3 times