Post Reply
Forum rules
The place to ask for help when editing in the UK.

Map Editing Guidelines . Join the UK Discord Server

London UR - thoughts please!

Post by iangpowell
Does anyone have any thoughts on this UR please, as I'm a bit lost as to next steps!

I've not been able to reproduce this issue using Live Map. I have a suspicion that the user may well have started their journey before the 0800 restriction start time, as their report is at 0822. Does Waze take the restriction status of the journey at the time of planning rather than the time you reach the restricted road if there is no route recalculation en route?

I.e. if the reporter planned their route at 0755, then the restriction did not apply, despite the fact that it would apply on them reaching the effected road.

This is my thought, but just looking for an idea as to if I'm along the right lines or not.
iangpowell
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
Posts: 1922
Answers: 5
Answers: 5
Has thanked: 642 times
Been thanked: 451 times

POSTER_ID:17536032

1

Send a message

AM for the Thames Valley, Tees Valley / Tyneside, Greater London & Norfolk, UK
Waze UK Mentor

UK Wazeo | Quick Start Editing Guide | Editing Best Practice | Request a Mentor Here | L1 Mentoring Presentation | Join the UK Discord Channel

Post by firecul
That is a confusing one and I'd like to hear the answer if you find it, it would explain some similar URs near me also.
firecul
Beta tester
Beta tester
Posts: 297
Has thanked: 216 times
Been thanked: 70 times
Send a message

Post by firecul
I have made a bug report to make sure staff are aware of this and linked back here and to the UR in the first post. This is a fail if the app basically can't be used without the mothership at all in my eyes.
firecul
Beta tester
Beta tester
Posts: 297
Has thanked: 216 times
Been thanked: 70 times
Send a message

Post by firecul
So good news and bad news, I did get a reply on this topic but as it was through the beta program I can't share exactly what was said. 
What I can say is that at the moment the offline navigation has certain limitations.

I have taken the liberty of creating a suggestion on UserVoice about this based on the information @Twister-UK found above, hopefully he is ok with that.
If anyone wishes to add move votes to the tally I think it'd be appreciated by anyone that it may effect.

https://waze.uservoice.com/forums/59223 ... provements
firecul
Beta tester
Beta tester
Posts: 297
Has thanked: 216 times
Been thanked: 70 times
Send a message

Post by firecul
Kevintiobraid wrote: Wed Apr 05, 2023 9:25 pm Sorry, might be a dim question, but how do you navigate offline with Waze?  Whenever I don't have a connection, Waze just refuses to give me a route, I just get the rotating circle of doom.
 

 
Turning on airplane mode is all I need to do, it loads up a route fine just with a "No network connection" at the top. I can turn on airplane mode either before or after launching Waze and I get the same results.
firecul
Beta tester
Beta tester
Posts: 297
Has thanked: 216 times
Been thanked: 70 times
Send a message

Post by iangpowell
Thanks Chris, all makes sense and strange routing often gets me thinking no connection and using cached app map data rather than something live. I'll encourage the reporter to refresh their map data and see how this goes.
iangpowell
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
Posts: 1922
Answers: 5
Has thanked: 642 times
Been thanked: 451 times
Send a message

AM for the Thames Valley, Tees Valley / Tyneside, Greater London & Norfolk, UK
Waze UK Mentor

UK Wazeo | Quick Start Editing Guide | Editing Best Practice | Request a Mentor Here | L1 Mentoring Presentation | Join the UK Discord Channel

Post by Kevintiobraid
Could also be something as simple as the user travelling south on Dartmouth Park Hill, using a non TTS voice, getting a turn right instruction for A400 - Fortress Rd but mistaking it for Waze telling them to turn right onto Burghley Rd.
Kevintiobraid
Area Manager
Area Manager
Posts: 1972
Answers: 3
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 554 times
Send a message
Kevin
https://s.waze.tools/s0300.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/c5.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/p1000.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/betc.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/beta.png

AM for South Tipperary, Waterford, South Kilkenny, Derby, Nottingham, Lincoln, Swansea, Cardiff, Bristol, Bath, London
Pixel 7

Post by Kevintiobraid
Sorry, might be a dim question, but how do you navigate offline with Waze?  Whenever I don't have a connection, Waze just refuses to give me a route, I just get the rotating circle of doom.
 
Kevintiobraid
Area Manager
Area Manager
Posts: 1972
Answers: 3
Has thanked: 456 times
Been thanked: 554 times
Send a message
Kevin
https://s.waze.tools/s0300.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/c5.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/p1000.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/betc.pnghttps://s.waze.tools/beta.png

AM for South Tipperary, Waterford, South Kilkenny, Derby, Nottingham, Lincoln, Swansea, Cardiff, Bristol, Bath, London
Pixel 7

Post by Twister-UK
The server-side routing code ought to be looking ahead along the route and, based on the ETAs for each section of the route, take any restrictions into account to either route through or around them as appropriate for the ETA and restriction times.  Obviously the longer the route and the further away from your starting point the restriction is, the less accurate such estimates will be, so that you could well start following a route which you won't be able to follow.

Once en-route, the app should also then be asking the server for regular routing updates, as this allows it to reroute mid-drive based on the dynamic changes to the road network caused by traffic, closures etc.  It also then allows it to more accurately predict the ETAs for the remaining parts of the route and thus adjust its opinion as to whether or not any time-based restrictions will be a factor.

In this case, as the UR was dropped 22 minutes *after* the restriction came into force, this should have been more than enough time for the users app to have asked the servers for at least one such update, which would have allowed it to take the late arrival here into account and route around rather than through the restriction.


However, this may not be the case if the app has lost its tether to the Waze mothership and is falling back on its internal route planning code, as not only does this rely on the user having a sufficiently up to date set of locally cached map tiles for any segment-based restrictions like this to be known to the app, but it also only then applies a subset of the rules used by the server calculation code.  I don't (yet, though I feel another bit of app testing coming on here) know if this subset does or doesn't include taking time-based restrictions into account, but having seen some weird routes offered up when the app isn't connected to the servers, this would be my first guess as to what's going on here.
 
 
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
Posts: 4695
Answers: 2
Has thanked: 743 times
Been thanked: 4735 times
Send a message
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris, or even Tim, Stu, or any of the other champs team...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


https://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/beta.pnghttps://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/s0400.pnghttps://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/c5s.png

Post by Twister-UK
Offline routing is even worse than I thought...  Before I went looking for a timed restriction against which I could test whether offline took ETAs into account, I thought I might just do a quick check against a 24/7 restriction, just to make sure that at least was being handled correctly.

Nope.  Even after making sure I'd refreshed the map data for that area, and checking that in online mode it was indeed being respected, as soon as I switched back to offline mode and asked for the same route, the app completely ignored the restriction and gave me a route that went straight through it like it was just any other regular segment.

So if offline routing is happy to ignore a restriction that it should never, EVER, route through, I feel fairly confident in saying that it would make no difference whether or not it does at least try to work out the en-route ETAs for each junction node reached, because it'd almost certainly then simply ignore any timed restrictions it finds along the route anyway.

The more I learn about offline routing, the more I wonder why Waze bother to keep it enabled - it can't handle realtime closures, it can't handle u-turn prevention (and probably also can't do BDP given that's implemented using similar rules/segment "hacks"), and now it can't handle segment restrictions either...  At least it's aware of turn restrictions and what one-way segments are, so it's not a total disaster area, but given how limited it is I do have to wonder if the benefits it provides in enabling some form of route to be generated even without network coverage are offset by the risks of said route then being completely and utterly wrong due to all the limitations above...
 
 
Twister-UK
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
Posts: 4695
Answers: 2
Has thanked: 743 times
Been thanked: 4735 times
Send a message
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris, or even Tim, Stu, or any of the other champs team...)
AM SE England & Shetland Islands, UK Local Champ, WME Beta Tester & ScriptMangler
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork


https://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/beta.pnghttps://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/s0400.pnghttps://chizzum.com/greasemonkey/images/c5s.png