[Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16

The place to get information and ask questions about everything to do with properly and successfully editing the Waze Map.

Use this forum for all general editing questions, and the sub-forums for specific types of Waze Map Editor features.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby gerben » Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:17 pm

OK, changed one German segment so it had the Dutch cityname. The names did not get longer, but I got a double entry in the city list. I guess that would allready happen with earlier versions...
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 195 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby skbun » Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:00 pm

Timbones wrote:My bad. Hold tight while I go find the right code.

...okay, try it again now (same version number).


Yes yes!! Definite progress!

Additional feedback on what I see now, if you'd like it...
* Based on https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=3&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT - The last on the city list is 'Washington, Washington'. Basically, 'If any city is in view, the last on the list is 'State, State', which always has 0 segments.' Conversely, if you are too far away from any city, the pulldown doesn't bring up anything at all. I wonder if this might be restructured somehow so that the last entry either doesn't show up, or actually means 'No city, <STATE>' (or internationally, 'No City, No City'. That could even mean eliminating the gray no city color, since this will do the same job!

I love what this permalink is showing:
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=3&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT
(Also shows a case of 'Michigan, Michigan, United States'. Probably the thing above.)

Is it possible to highlight any such found roads regardless of zoom level? (I have this feeling that WME itself restricts what can be polled based on zoom level, but if not, boy would it identify smeared cities and countries fast)

Loving this sneak peek, Tim!
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby gerben » Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:58 pm

still nothing different...

WME Colour Highlights v1.4.3
Highlight Segments
Locks (Red)
Toll (Dashed)
No Name (Orange)
No City (Gray)
One Way (Blue)
Unknown Direction (Cyan)

Advanced Options
Recently Edited (Green)
days
Filter by Editor (Green)

Filter by City (Yellow)

Highlight a Road Type (Purple)

Unterminated Roads (Lime)
Turn Warnings for Selected Nodes

Highlight Landmarks


Tried this location:

https://descartesw.waze.com/beta/?zoom= ... TTTFTTTTFT
gerben
 
Posts: 4783
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 195 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby Timbones » Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:23 pm

My bad. Hold tight while I go find the right code.

...okay, try it again now (same version number).
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6719
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 981 times
Been thanked: 2644 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby mike-bronner » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:54 pm

I wasn't seeing anything different either. Maybe we got the wrong code? :)
mike-bronner
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby skbun » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:50 pm

Timbones wrote:I have made a beta version that appends the state and/or country when there are more than 1 defined in the model. It works quite will with skbun's example of Federal Way above. I've also tested it on international server.

> WME Colour Highlights Beta - v1.4.3

Let me know if this works for you guys...

PS: I also notice that each state object has a geometry. Any ideas what we can do with it?


Tim,

What should I be seeing in the dropdown?

I see:
Algona
Auburn
Federal Way
Federal Way
Federal Way
Lakeland North
Lakeland South
Washington

...so I don't think that I'm seeing 'the right thing', perhaps? Granted, I'm on the current WME, not the beta, if that matters. :)
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby Timbones » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:33 pm

One question would be: where do the state geometries come from (Tiger?) and are they accurate?

City objects do not have geometry.

via mobile
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6719
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 981 times
Been thanked: 2644 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby mike-bronner » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:22 pm

Timbones wrote:PS: I also notice that each state object has a geometry. Any ideas what we can do with it?


Would there be a way to determine if a segment within said geometry belongs to a different state, or in other words is outside of the geometry of the state it belongs to? If we could check that and highlight for states, and do the same check for countries as well, we could potentially just need a single option to check without any drop-downs which would highlight all errant segments.
We could even take that a step further if the cities have a geometry, and highlight segments that are outside of city boundaries. :shock: :idea:
mike-bronner
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 am
Location: Sheridan, Montana, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby Timbones » Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:36 pm

I have made a beta version that appends the state and/or country when there are more than 1 defined in the model. It works quite will with skbun's example of Federal Way above. I've also tested it on international server.

> WME Colour Highlights Beta - v1.4.3

Let me know if this works for you guys...

PS: I also notice that each state object has a geometry. Any ideas what we can do with it?
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 6719
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 981 times
Been thanked: 2644 times

Re: [Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.4.2 Oc

Postby skbun » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:43 am

mike-bronner wrote:I know .... That's what I find it quite irksome that they don't address this. I have reported this issue since I started editing, probably over a year ago.
I have come up with a patch for Tim's script that will allow highlighting of states, and have been using it this evening quite successfully, so the good news is hat it's definitely doable. I have submitted it to Tim in the hopes that he might include it in the next release. :)


Heh! That's awesome. I was poking around the code a bit myself. That Tim doesn't have a state field where he is explains a behavior we see in North America. (I hacked on the 'get city names' script a little)...

I find myself wishing that the city pulldowns also had the state (if it exists), and Waze's internal ID alongside. One, it makes 'the right city in this area' obvious when there are several with the same name, and two, because I wonder if they could be used somehow to find and identify segments that cause city smudges. (See http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Fixing_%22smudged%22_cities ).

This would -especially- be true if you can set one city as persistent, and be allowed to zoom out and just say 'Is this blah blah city ID anywhere in this range?'

If you consider the permalink https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=3&lat ... TTTFTTTTFT

...and modify the highlights script to dump out City IDs to the console.log, you get something like this:
Auburn 23489
Pacific 23491
Tacoma 23509
Algona 23597
Federal Way 23608
Federal Way 23877
Lakeland South 23878
Federal Way 50088
Federal Way 51273
(NULL?) id:999953
* Washington 100000040

* That last one is the correct state.

Of course, without the IDs, you see four 'Federal Way's, all shown as the same city. This said, I'm pretty sure three of the four have different incorrect states behind them: Alabama, and Oregon. All evidence of a city smudge, but not the ID number that might help trace it. (How to USE said ID I'm not sure yet. Anyone have any ideas?)
Last edited by skbun on Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
skbun
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Seattle/Tacoma WA
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 48 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze Map Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], JimboBaggins1966, Mythdraug, Poncewattle