Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:50 pm

Please, Carlos, excuse me for the rant.
scarlogarcia wrote:Hi, I don't know if I lost that information along the thread but, currently, anyone knows how long is a "long dirty road" from the feature "avoid long ones"?

I'm sure no one knows for sure.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7174
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2518 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:39 am

There is one major design flaw with toll roads and its implementation in the client - why the heck is the option available just when I'm physically (GPS) placed in the country, where toll roads' coverage is being considered "complete" and the functionality being enabled for routing? I could understand why Waze hesitates to enable the routing functionality in a country, where the coverage is not yet considered "complete enough", but why should the switch be kept hidden, when I'm planning a route through a country, where it is live?

(The same problem, when I'm 5 km inside a country, where gas stations are not "switched on". Illogically I'm not allowed to see gas prices in the neighboring country, where GS are completely functional. I've to cross the border, then I'm suddenly allowed to. The prices should be hidden, not the option to see them!!)
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7174
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2518 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:29 am

I understand you all, but have to agree with DIASHI, that "white on gray on a light-blue background" is indeed a too easily overseeable element. (I'd even like to see the corresponding parts of the traffic bar timeline being marked, or dashed, whatever.)

For a similar reason I've been proposing to color the listed [1] [2] [3] Alt. routes with the same color, as they are marked in the parallel Map view - the colors stand out and are being visually identified and matched much faster, than some gray numbers in the boxes.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7174
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2518 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:45 pm

Waze should finally avoid hiding global options according to the current position. Including Toll roads and Gas stations. (And Speeds.)

Sent from a touch display, which took care of perfectly scrambling my thoughts.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7174
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2518 times
Been thanked: 1145 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:54 am

If you have "Avoid toll" on, the first route you will get has no toll. If you ask for alternative routes the 2nd or 3rd route MAY include toll if that gives a substantial advantage. Currently these toll-using routes are not marked as such.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 am

Given that some absolutely want to have an alternative INCLUDING toll and some want alternatives AVOIDING toll the solution can only be to show 1 alternative for each - and indicate which is toll. At least that indication is in the making.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:46 am

olestas wrote:Don't forget about indication of place of toll and amount to pay. It would be super.


Forget the amount to pay. It differs per type of vehicle, time of day, day of week, number of passengers, type of fuel, amount of traffic on other roads.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:12 am

No idea how much that is in my money, but it probably can be avoided. Did you read the wiki-section on Toll? (sorry, don't have the link on my phone)
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:43 pm

I assume that "time and monetary based" means that there are different pricings depending on time of day - that is of no concern in Waze. It routes WITH or WITHOUT toll, price makes no difference. As soon as you have configured 90% of your tollgantries in the map (and have them live) you can ask Waze to enable the toll-switch on the phones.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:18 am

I think xteejx wants to point out that you are posting over a particular road in a thread that is dedicated to the worldwide implications of tollroads.
As there is no specific tollroad-thread for CA you may want to put your remarks here: viewtopic.php?t=22205
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]