Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby g0wfv » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:56 pm

fvwazing wrote:Or an indicator, like this? If you get a list of alternatives it is in there too.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg

Do you know, I've never noticed that! I'll get back in my box then :D
g0wfv
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:09 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby harling » Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:59 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Looks like US has the avoidance option now. Yay!

...and there was much rejoicing.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
Help wanted. Drop me a line!
Wiki Resources: Area Manager Wiki | Map Editing | Best Practices | Known Issues List
harling
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby harling » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:47 pm

We have experienced first-hand the down-side of addressing this issue by making toll penalties cumulative: Eventually, the penalty builds up to the point where it is "better" to violate a turn restriction or directionality.

IMO, if you're already on a toll road when you start to navigate, and you have "avoid tolls" set, Waze can leave it to the driver to find a legal way off the toll system. Scenario: user has "avoid tolls" set, but on a particular trip selects an alternate route that includes a toll road. While on the toll road, Waze recalculates for whatever reason. Does the driver want Waze to keep trying to route him off of a toll road that he voluntarily entered?

This is another case where Waze should assume a certain amount of competence on the part of the driver. Exits on toll roads are usually clearly marked.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
Help wanted. Drop me a line!
Wiki Resources: Area Manager Wiki | Map Editing | Best Practices | Known Issues List
harling
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby harling » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:42 pm

foxitrot wrote:If the driver were already on a Toll road, while his preference were "no toll" and the road would consist of an uninterrupted stretch of tolled segments, then the routing engine would have no problem to route him along the Toll road indefinitely long. But he should be navigated away, ASAP...

In my experience, exits from toll roads are usually clearly marked, and there aren't many opportunities to get lost or go off-track (e.g., they usually don't even let you reverse direction). If you're on a toll road and you navigate somewhere with "Avoid Tolls" enabled, I think it's fine if Waze lets you choose with the steering wheel whether to leave the toll road or not. Maybe you took this one toll road for a reason, and don't want Waze telling you to get off at every exit.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
Help wanted. Drop me a line!
Wiki Resources: Area Manager Wiki | Map Editing | Best Practices | Known Issues List
harling
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jasonh300 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:03 am

ottonomy wrote:I would like to see some differentiation in settings based upon whether a toll road is automated-only (no pay booths, but only sensors for on-board chips or transponders, like FastTrak) or a traditional toll road, where one can pay at a booth on a one-time basis. I don't mind paying for toll roads on occasion, when they will save me a great deal of time, so I leave the "avoid toll roads" setting switched to off. The problem is, sometimes Waze will direct me onto a toll road which has no option to pay as I go, and I have to figure out on the fly how to get out of the situation. In some cases, the "toll road" is actually just a toll lane, separated by some kind of barrier from the main road. When I don't enter that lane after Waze has instructed me to, because I have not got the required transponder device in my vehicle, Waze doesn't understand that I am now driving parallel on the main road instead, and as such will fail to give me the correct exit instructions, as the toll lanes sometimes exit to the left, and at different locations from the main road.


The Detour or Road Closed button we've been waiting for, and is in development on the back-end would help with this problem also.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6870
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 629 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:24 pm

They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6870
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 629 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:43 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.

But it isn't quite that simple everywhere. Parking lots have an "exit" penalty. If a Toll Road is made of bits where some are toll and some are not, then this "exit" penalty would apply multiple times.


But that's fine...if you have tolls set to "avoid", it'll still avoid them. If you have it turned off, it would ignore the restriction.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6870
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 629 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jentdrive » Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:13 pm

Is there a dedicated page I can bookmark with a list of countries with toll road support?

Also, I drive a 6.5 hour trip to visit my family but I end up paying about $40 each way over about six tolls. According to the Google Maps "avoid toll roads" option I can eliminate most of these and only add an hour to my trip. Will I be able to tap the "Routes" option and see a toll-free (or toll-minimized) alternative, even if it adds more time and distance to the route?

Thanks!
jentdrive
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby JOHN-LALA » Wed Dec 25, 2013 6:36 pm

Please enable this Option for Germany. We had a similar post already on April 2nd...

... and btw. MERRY CHRISTMAS to all !!!


<< explanation:
Yes, we do have toll roads in Germany... not many, as you can read in earlier posts (and here:https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=197&t=45045 ). But the main advantage would be to be able to plan trips to neighboring countries properly.

Scenario: we spend Christmas in Bavaria, for New Years we'll spend some time in Switzerland. To reach our destination we'll have to cross some short distance on Austrian streets.

I do have the "Vingette" for the Swiss Highway system (it's about € 35,00 for the full year) but I would not like to buy the Austrian 10-day-pass (for € 8,50) which I won't be using on the way back!

So I'm sitting here (near Munich) and I would like to plan my trip at least to the Austrian-Swiss border town of "Sankt Margrethen" with no toll roads. From there on I'd like to re-enable toll roads for our further trip.

But alas... I can't even disable toll roads, can't even see the darn option in my settings. All because I sit in good ol' Germany, where we have no toll roads (not yet!!!)

Image


So again: please, please enable the toll-road-option for Germany -- and make my day!!!

end explanation >>
JOHN
Image
JOHN-LALA
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby JOHN-LALA » Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:14 pm

Now thank you very much for that useful response... Could you please point out to us who the heck our coordinator would be?!!

If he/she doesn't read this thread, he/she might not be interested in this feature, b/c he/she might not be traveling to neighboring countries with toll roads and thus doesn't give a sh*t.

If you, the almighty coordinator, do give a sh*t and read this thread, then please forgive me for my direct manner... but I'd still wonder why you took no action several months' ago...

I say we (all of Germany) need this option enabled and we don't need it in a year, we need it sooner rather than later!

... If you (the humble reader) are with me, please give me a "thank you" for this post and maybe, maybe our sheer numbers will persuade the coordinator to look into this...

sincerely,
JOHN
Image
JOHN-LALA
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]